We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a FANTASTIC FIND”
Review of Cosme Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cosme Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 171 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Walking distance to everywhere, Very Friendly very helpful. Clean Comfortable and great buffet. The welcome glass of Port was a nice touch. The owner was very helpful and Porto is a walking city, they are very Central and a 10 block walk from the train station. We arrived early and they accommodated us, without a problem. If you are looking a clean quiet comfortable place to stay in Porto that is not a HUGE CHAIN HOTEL then this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13KevinS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our visit was as promised and more. Staff were so friendly, service was excellent and guesthouse was really nice, and in a great location. We would normally stay in a hotel while on holiday, but because of the great reviews Cosme had received decided to stay here - we were not disappointed in any aspect and are delighted to pass on our recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandCruisers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here the last four nights in June. So many of the things I could mention have been repeated often on this site. From the first greeting (we arrived early and our room wasn't ready), we were treated like family (or better). Tiago offered us glasses of Port and cookies, gave us a map and answered endless questions until we could go to our room. We were tired after the long flights from Chicago, so he recommended a restaurant four blocks away that specialized in very affordable Portuguese fare. It was excellent! In fact, we returned there on our fourth and last night in Porto. Cosme is located an easy walk to the Duoro riverfront (especially via the funicular), and is close to public transportation and taxi rides. Our room overlooked a funky garden and an orange tree, and seagulls serenaded us (pleasantly so) 24/7. The air condidtioning was welcome at the end of hot Porto afternoon, but we were able to turn it off and let the Duoro breezes lull us to sleep each night. No bugs or mosquitoes! The best thing about Cosme, however, is the staff. Hat's off to Tiago, Sandra and Andre. You three should run a school for how hospitality is done right!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwebster2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and 7 year old sprog. We had the Miro apartment which had a small kitchenette.
It's a lovely guesthouse and the staff (especially Sandra) are incredibly friendly and helpful, guiding us to local restaurants and sights, ordering taxis etc. We also got a welcome drink of port.
The room was clean and bright. The bed was firm but comfy. It was quiet at night as well.
Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrightonShredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Staff is very, very kind and you can feel like at home! As soon as we arrived, Andre (member of staff) served a glass of port wine and cookies :) He gave us a map of the city and told us about nice places to visit. Moreover, he gave us small map where he marked good restaurants in the neighborhood.
The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and quiet. Breakfast is plenty and tasty. They even made us espresso coffee!The location is very good too - everything is within walking distance.
I would like to come back and I recommend place to everybody!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanjica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I chose this guest house because of the reviews and we were not disappointed. I agree with most of the previous reviews so will not repeat but must just add that we were very pleased to find air conditioning in the bed room. It reached the mid 30's while we were in Porto and it was good to be able to cool the room down in the evening before sleeping. Free wifi was much appreciated and when we asked about olive oil tasting a little research, a telephone call and we were given directions to a shop where they were most helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The stay at cosme guesthouse was really a very pleasent one. Upon arrival,
André (one of the staff people) gave us a very warm welcome.
He immediately served a glass of port wine and told us about
nice places to visit. Especially the tips for good restaurants in
the vincinity of the guest house were really appreciated.
The room was very nice, clean and quiet. Definitely a recommendation
to stay there. Just don't be afraid about how the guesthouse looks
from outside - it's been completely refurbished inside and has a very modern look.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hexmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
Oporto City Hostel
Oporto City Hostel
#41 of 260 in Porto
146 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 260 in Porto
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#65 of 109 in Porto
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosme Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosme Guesthouse

Address: Rua Barao de Sao Cosme no 67, Porto 4000-502, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £51 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosme Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of our house is based on three main characteristics offered to our guests: Port Wine tasting, permanent exhibitions of Portuguese artists,and a little library with some books related to the Portuguese culture. The house is located in an old part of the town, where the rich bourgeoisie was installed in the beginning of the 20th century. It's 10 minutes away from the City Centre and 5 minutes from the subway station, on foot. It's got a car park nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cosme Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing