We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, quiet and charming”
Review of Cosme Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cosme Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 150 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Stylish, quiet and charming”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Cosme is in an ideal location on a quiet street within walking distance of all the main attractions. Jorge and his staff are sincere in their hospitality and made us feel very welcome. The traditional building has been sympathetically restored and the contemporary design of the interior is light, bright and very comfortable. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    39
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
95
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East coast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

First let me say, this is a positive review, but the location is a bit off-putting when you arrive at the guest house. It is located in the heart of a neighborhood that feels a bit urban gritty. My Sig Other went inside to check it out while I waited in the car. He came back with glowing comments, and once I went in and saw our room I became a fan. Walking across the threshold you leave the urban grittiness behind and enter a calming and modern facility. The staff welcome and orientation were warm and informative. The guest house is located in a neighborhood and not in the center of the commercial center, however it is close enough to walk there in 5-7 minutes.

We stayed in the Klee unit, and although it was just the 2 of us, the living room futon and other bedroom could have accommodated 2-3 more people. We prefer a double bed and put the twin beds together to make it one. The next day housekeeping remade the bed to our taste. It would help if there was more insulation between rooms; we could hear the crying of a child from the room above and noise as other guests departed early morning. The rooms are very clean and staff is very helpful and accommodating. Americans will find the 2x2 shower small, and, if you are heavier/bigger than average, it will not accommodate you.

The staff and owners are very focused on being on fulfilling guest needs. On our final day of our stay, as we were checking out I asked where I could get a manicure, the owner mentioned two places and went across the street to ask the salon owner if she had time to take care of me. That’s the kind of treatment one wants when you stay in a guest house or a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wideeyedandtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in Porto at the Cosme guesthouse. The hotel was a good 25 minute drive from the airport, the hotel has a metro stop very close by but its a good 20 minute walk from the tourist spots in the city. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable but the hotel itself is a bit of the course from all the major attractions. The room itself was nice and clean, but the TV in the room is the size of an ipad, the bathroom is extremely small and the shower can barely accommodate one person. The breakfast in the morning is a very nice touch. I would give it a 3 star because of the location and the accommodation, but due to great customer service and breakfast I would rated at 3.5, maybe a 4.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tasyed786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in Cosme Guesthouse for three nights. At our arrival (11pm), we were heartily welcomed by Sandra, one of the hosts, and were offered wine and pastries. She gave us a map and highlighted all interesting sights and restaurants. The whole service team is very friendly and always open to help or to answer questions. The rooms are modern, bright and very clean (the cleaning ladies even folded our clothes). We were accommodated in room Zaha and had a nice little terrace to relax. Breakfast is very tasty and versatile (bread, cheese, salami, ham, yoghurt, fruits, cake, pastries, etc.). The city centre can be reached within walking distance (10-15 minutes). All in all, we heavily enjoyed our stay at Cosme Guesthouse and warmly recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here late in February / early March and the climate was unexpectedly mild. Making it a good time to visit Porto. As soon as we arrived in Cosme Guesthouse's neighborhood we praised our choice. It's a calm area and once we had been briefed about its location on site we found ourselves within walking distance from the centre. The Cosme Guesthouse is run by a truly friendly bunch of people and we enjoyed our entire time there. Our room was bright and quiet; perhaps only the bed could have been a bit larger.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the end of December 2013 and it was GREAT!: beautiful place, big rooms, great breakfast and very nice staff. Glass of Porto wine as welcome drink and champagne in New Year's Eve. I hope to stay there every other time I come to Oporto.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Areteu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed two nights in November, at Cosme Guesthouse, (Miro Room) and loved it. Greeted with a glass of port upon arrival and then given a map and a lot of explanation about the city and what to see. Lovely view, on quiet street, of beautiful tiled houses across street. Very clean and comfortable. Small bathroom, tiny shower, but filled with nice body wash and plenty of hot water in the shower, with good water pressure. Nice table and chairs in room, fridge, sink, microwave, dishes and glasses. Good reading lights by bed. The hosts were amazing. Just could not do enough for me. Offered to assist, or give me port, tea or whatever, each time I entered the guesthouse. Their suggestions for affordable, neighborhood restaurants were wonderful. Had the best meals at those places.
Very convenient location. Easy walking distance to everything. Nice grocery store near the guesthouse. Really nice neighborhood. Anything you need, you will have at this Guesthouse. The breakfast was huge and delicious. Really good. I would stay here again, without any hesitation and would not look for any other hotel or B & B. Check it out, it is GREAT. Fabulous staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baker3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Fine Arts Guesthouse
Fine Arts Guesthouse
#21 of 150 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Charming House Marques
Charming House Marques
#23 of 150 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#5 of 150 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#11 of 150 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercador Guest House
Mercador Guest House
#25 of 150 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Malmerendas Boutique Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosme Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosme Guesthouse

Property: Cosme Guesthouse
Address: Rua Barao de Sao Cosme no 67, Porto 4000-502, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosme Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The concept of our house is based on three main characteristics offered to our guests: Port Wine tasting, permanent exhibitions of Portuguese artists,and a little library with some books related to the Portuguese culture. The house is located in an old part of the town, where the rich bourgeoisie was installed in the beginning of the 20th century. It's 10 minutes away from the City Centre and 5 minutes from the subway station, on foot. It's got a car park nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cosme Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing