We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 21 July 2010

The hotel has a nice location, close to Casa da Música, the bedroom is confortable. But that´s all. TV has only a few channels available. The staff seemed to be tired. We arrived and they said we had to wait for the extra bed. We waited, waited... nothing. We called the reception asking for the bed and they said we had to wait a little more (!?!?!). I was feeling sick (7 months pregnant) so my husband left the bedroom and went downstairs to, once again, request the extra bed.
The breakfast was sooooooo weak! At home I have better! 2 or 2 types of bread, and one or 2 other things. Expresso coffee is paid (?!?!). The ladies who work in the hotel didn´t stop looking at us, like they were counting what we were eating. Very strange.
The bedroom is very confortable, but the owner of the hotel should teach the employees to behave and be more polite.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajandoporai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn Portus Cale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2010

We were on a business trip and ended up here after our hotel had a booking error. The staff were great and very accomdating and the two bonuses were the chocolate bar next door and the easy access for taxis or clients to pick us up or drop us off.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

This is a small hotel situated on a road with a few restaurants and bars. There were 43 people in our tour party and the breakfast room seated about 30 so there was a lot of chaos as we all had to depart at the same time. The porter was late and although we paid for porterage we had to bring our own cases downstairs. The rooms were adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeanutDotJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Very nice hotel with large clean rooms . The beds were clean and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful. I was put into a smoking room which actually didnt smell much, but as soon as I mentioned this to the staff they changed my room instantly even though a coach full of tourist arrived whilst I was talking to them. The hotel wasn't very central but I didnt feel this was an issue as there are buses and a metro quite close. Some of the other participants who had rooms at the front of the hotel did say it was noisy but as I had a room at the back it wasnt an issue. The breakfast selection was just right. All in all a very nice place to stay. One downside (which could just have been my room).
I arrived back after middnight and there wasnt any hot water - but this happened on just one of the four nights I was staying there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

Clean, secure, well-located, with a good breakfast and in a great city. The crew is also good. Don´t expect so much about the size of the elevators. Good opções to eat around.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tamboril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

We book a room for 4 nights stay. They give us a suite with balcony on the top level floor for the same price. Room was spacious I rarely find such spacious room in Europe. The suite was comfortable and clean. Breakfast buffet is good and offer a good variety. Area is fine you could find a modern grocery only 5 minutes walk, few restaurant near. Practical underground private parking. I would highly recommend this place for a stay in Porto.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Paul_D_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2006

Nice hotel. Modern rooms, cleaned, well decorated, confortable and quiet. Good breakfast. Good location, near subway and Casa da Música. The parking has a good value.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Filipoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.5 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#17 of 108 in Porto
681 reviews
0.5 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
916 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#46 of 108 in Porto
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#39 of 108 in Porto
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#36 of 108 in Porto
633 reviews
2.8 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Portus Cale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Portus Cale

Address: Avenida da Boavista 1060, Porto 4100-113, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £53 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Inn Portus Cale 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn Portus Cale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Portus Cale Hotel Porto
Quality Inn Porto
Porto Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing