We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dom Henrique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dom Henrique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed here in a business trip and liked it very much. Good rooms, with lots of space. Very comfortable.
The breakfast was very nice and served until 11am witch let me have some more time of sleep. Very central. I recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    361
    140
    33
    16
See reviews for
147
310
44
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Good room, great view from the bar (17th floor), warm staff.

The hotel's handicap is that there's nothing to do nearby and it is still 1km away from the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

I stayed here for four nights and really, enjoyed my stay. In response to some of the earlier comments, I would like to say... the quality of room was excellent, very clean, a really comfortable bed and the shower and A/C worked well. The staff were all very friendly and the bellboys were always around and helpful. I ate in the hotel restaurant most nights and found the quality of the food and service to be very good. There was a good range of food for breakfast and everything was kept topped up.

It's not in the most central location but it is really only five minutes walk to Avenida dos Aliados and Trindade Metro station - which is useful as it connects with all the Metro lines, including the new north/south line to get downtown (two stops). It is also very easy to get to and from the airport. It's a pleasant 15 minute walk to the main restaurant area.

The only thing to improve in the hotel is the WiFi, as the charges by the provider (swisscom), of 8 Euros for an hour / 11 Euros for 24 hours, are very expensive for 2011. There is publically provided free WiFi in various locations around Porto though.

Would I stay there again? Most definitely , yes.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

First impressions of the hotel are not great, it's a slightly tired looking tower that dominates the otherwise historical architecture of Central Porto. The awning on the front of the hotel was very dirty too (thick with bird droppings).
Inside, however, the hotel is bright and clean. My room was on the 14th floor, the view was stunning. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished and the water pressure in the bathroom was great.
The breakfast was ample, a self-service buffet offering a mixture of breads, pastries, eggs and bacon.
The bar on the top floor is perfect for evening drinks, it has the ambiance of a 1970s cruise ship (which I loved). There is an outside terrace which surely has the best view of the entire city.
A great base for a holiday in Porto, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FitzroyW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

We paid the most for this hotel during our trip to Portugal, and the other hotels were just much more superior in cleanliness and service. One elevator (of two) was broken, and the other had been broken the day before. I kept finding black hairs on my sheets, and the hotel was a bit dated, though that didn't bother me as much.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borough Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

This is a good enough hotel for a short business trip, but fell short of what I would expect in a 4-star establishment. The room was spacious and had all the basic facilities, but the carpet was very grubby and the furniture worn and scratched. Public areas have obviously been refurbished more recently and were smart enough, but the rooms definitely need a makeover. There were also a number of minor niggles - noisy air-conditioning, water that never got colder than lukewarm and very mean sachets of shower-gel (I needed 2 to get soaped all over and I'm not that big...).

It is reasonably close to the centre, but in a slightly tatty commercial area - the view from my room was of a multi-story carpark and a drab apartment block.

Breakfast was awful! The "fruit juice" was watery and over-sweetened, bacon tasteless and scrambled eggs cold. It's better to stick to the croissants and jam, which were OK. The area is also quite cramped so at busy times the breakfast buffet felt like a rugby scrum. Service in the restaurant was also poor - they kept running out of things and not refilling unless asked. In contrast the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

On the plus side there is a great view from the top-floor bar.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Although a rather old business hotel, we stayed here for a long weekend to visit Porto and found it quite pleasant. I had a few room issues, shower only worked if you used cold water, and AC in room not cooling properly, however the staff addressed both issues promptly and both were fixed before I returned back to my room.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suehandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Premium Porto Downtown
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Trindade
Hotel Porto Trindade
#22 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.5 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Henrique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Henrique Hotel

Property: Dom Henrique Hotel
Address: Rua Guedes de Azevedo 179, Porto 4000-273, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Henrique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dom Henrique-Downtown, located in the traditional centre of Porto, 300 metters from the Metro station TRINDADE with direct connection to the Airport and Campanha train station, is the point of departure for the discovery of the city, its inhabitants and architecture. Steps away from Rua Santa Catarina, the main shopping zone of the city, the Hotel is at the proximity of the Theatres, several monuments including the ancient City area recognised by UNESCO as World Heritage, the Douro River Cruises boarding quay and 5 minutes away from the lively bars area of Rua da Galeria de Paris. The city view from the "17º RESTAURANT & BAR", on the top floors, is unique and a must to all visitors of the Hotel. You can also appreciate the tilled wall, created by Julio Resende, a renowned artist, in Restaurant "ALEM-MAR", on tIn the city center one can lose track of time, and want to linger on... In high quality accommodation, where all your needs are catered for. We offer you a calm, friendly environment, where you can relax in comfort and ease in a setting of contemporary design. Our intermediate and upper floors enjoy unrivalled views over the city, including rooms and suites with a balcony. Whatever choice you make, you will find yourselves in a world in which the accommodation and service on offer will make your stay an experience you will want to repeat. Room service available from 07:00 to 02:00. The Hotel offers 111 Confort and Standard rooms in a variety of sizes and styles, allowing us to adapt our offer to the needs of each client. All rooms include: - Door with double safety lock and an electronic key-card system - Modern bathroom (with audio speakers) - Air conditioning - Television (25 satellite channels) - Free Wi-Fi - Mini-bar - Safe - Hair dryer - Telephone (with a direct outside line and an automatic alarm clock service) The products with which we pamper our clients are in ecological packages, allowing us to look for the environmenthe ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays and Agoda so you can book your Dom Henrique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Henrique
Dom Henrique Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing