We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but not great”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent, but not great”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Close to center (30 minutes walking), big room, nice furniture, windows don't provide enough soundproofing even when you stay on a higher floor. The air conditioning is quite noisy.

Breafast room is big and breakfast is ok.

Parking is 7.5 EUR/day which is ok. There are 5 free parking places in front of the hotel but chances to get them available are reduced.

The spa (including indoor pool) entrance is 11 EUR (plus 3 EUR the robe and 1 EUR shower cap, both mandatory), which is quite much.

Ok if you stay here just for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room, there is a lot of traffic around the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neamtu2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    533
    210
    53
    18
See reviews for
303
372
47
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The hotel is alright, not great but good enough if you are staying in Porto for a couple of days. We had taken a twin bed room in the fifth floor. No complaints about the room. Strangely there was no kettle, tea/coffee bags in the room and no water was provided either. The bathroom was clean and well maintained, so no complaints. Our package did not include complimentary breakfast but we did try the breakfast there. Costs 10 euros but the spread is very good. We are vegetarians and luckily we found quite some options as well. The bar is good and the service was quite impressive. The restaurant closes pretty early - around 10ish and there are not many restaurants around as well. So its wise not to plan for a late dinner at the hotel. And as few members have mentioned the lack of wifi in the room was a pain.

Location wise it was alright. I guess we were lucky as we did not meet any weirdos while returning late in the night. The area is not well lit and you have to walk through a park to get to the hotel. As I mentioned we were lucky as some members have mentioned the area to be un-safe. There is a metro station very close to the hotel and you can get to the Airport and major train stations very quickly.

Overall would rate the hotel good.. A 3.5 out of 5.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank archana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

staff is great, and location too. very close to metro station and city center. rooms are big and clean, almost a 5* value. Bathroom is big and clean. breakfeast have a big variety of choice. Will deffinetly stay again. Its a good budget if you pay till 50 or 60 €.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLOTRAVELER32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 10 days. We found the hotel to be just what we needed. A clean, air con room with a big, bright washroom. The lobby had free wifi which was very handy (although, slow at times). The staff at the reception desk were incredibly friendly and helpful. They provided us with many recommendations for restaurants and activities. In addition, the buffet breakfast was perfect. There were many different options and it was always fully stocked. There are a lot of hard working people at this hotel and their efforts really make the world of difference. Note, however, that the hotel is not downtown and it would take us about 20 min to walk down each morning (we were slightly thrown off by this).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessDiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This hotel is rated as four-stars but I find that a bit of a stretch.

Positives:
1. Close to the train station and easy access by taxi.
2. Very close to the metro station and the metro is an excellent system.
3. Lobby is new and seems refurbished. Bar area was nice and made good Sangria
4. Breakfast (included in our room rate) was EXCELLENT in a very stylish dining room.

Negatives:
1. No in-room free wi-fi. Free wi-fi was only available in the lobby which was very inconvieniant especially as I wanted to make a skype call. I don't know why you wouldn't provide through out the hotel.
2. Room was boiling hot on entry and took awhile to cool.
3. Room seemed to be "tired"

The above said, it is an "okay" hotel. The rooms are old but comfortable enough. The rooms were clean and spacious.

Compared to other recent hotel stays, the four star for this hotel is a bit generous. I'd rate it at a three-star.

Room Tip: Go early to breakfast! Ask for a higher floor as you may have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanC-in-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve. We are very pleased with your comments about the positive and negative points. We inform you that in short time the WIFi in the room will be free. Now, at reception and public areas the WIFi is free.
Regardins the rooms, we will continue to renew and maintain our high standards of confort.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just back from a holiday in Porto and a week stay at the Vila Gale.

The positives: Very easy access from the airport. Just take the purple line directly and exit at Campo 24 Agosto station. The hotel is a very short walk around the corner. Much more reasonable than a cab. It goes without saying then, that metro travel is easy from the hotel.

Rooms are spacious and clean and well appointed. A/C is efficient. Hot and cold water in plentiful supply with good pressure. The décor is a bit tired, but that isn’t a tremendous concern. I’ve also come to expect some pretty luxurious mattresses, pillows and bedding at hotels. Vila Gale Porto’s offerings are acceptable, but fairly standard. It would be nice to have a working safe in the room (there is a strong box but the locking mechanism has been removed (?)) There is a bar fridge, and while we didn’t avail ourselves of the mini bar products, it was really handy to have. There is a grocery store across the street (Pingo Doce) and we got wine, beer, soft drinks, cold meats cheeses, crackers and fruit… Between the breakfast and these supplements in the room, we only ate out once per day, if that.

Staff is pleasant with a stand-out being Mario, the doorman, and the dining room staff. Very accommodating and friendly. We always try to make an effort to speak the language, but my Portuguese is very rudimentary and bad at that. English was widely spoken (well) and when staff didn’t speak English, I found that they often spoke French or Spanish so could switch over to either of those - it was very easy to communicate well.

The food was good. Breakfast was really all you could ask for with a wide variety of foods and drink. It was kept well stocked and hot. We did eat in the dining room one evening: the food was very good and the wait staff very attentive; but it was expensive compared to any number of very reasonable restaurants in Porto. Still the convenience after a long day made it a good choice and it wasn’t horrendously priced.

The "not so positives": There really isn’t a lot of charm in the immediate neighbourhood, but it isn’t terribly placed. There are a couple of restaurant choices nearby and the walk to Rua Caterina (10 minutes) or Sao Bento or the Ribiera District (20 minutes) is safe and not arduous. (Cabs are cheap if you want one).

No complimentary wifi. I don’t know why this isn’t offered as standardly as hot and cold water – especially for a hotel that does the amount of business accommodation as the Vila Gale Porto. We ended up paying €35 for the convenience to have it in room for the week (we were skyping a young daughter who was studying in Italy for the summer and communicating back home, so really essential for us to have this access) There are two computers down in the lobby for guest use/access.

The biggest annoyance was the charge for the recreation facilities, which we would have used, but didn’t. Admittedly, we got plenty of exercise walking up and down Porto’s beautiful streets and not inconsiderable hills, but a swim or relaxing in the hot tub would have been welcomed after a long day… And the fees weren’t cheap. I mean, if it was a flat fee for the stay or even up to €5 per use, it would have been one thing, but €11 per person per use? C’mon! We knew about it going in having read reviews carefully but that alone sort of soured our view of the hotel and was so incongruous to the other high levels in service and friendliness.

Would we go back or recommend the hotel to others? A solid “yes”. Management should, however, carefully consider the access to amenities such as recreation facilities and wifi. It would make the difference between Vila Gale Porto being an acceptable hotel and a great hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer lovely views of the City. No conditioner offered in complimentary toiletries. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7Cees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations.

The detail information you wrote, is very important to make the right decisions on our business.

Regarding the health club, the space is leased so there is this input value. The WIFI, is free in the lobby and in short time will be free in the rooms,

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Vacation time, so let´s use the vouchers we earned at Vila Gale. It´s time to know better Oporto so let´s go. The hotel is OK with a huge lobby that for a while made me think that the hotel was renewed. Unfortunately the room we got was a little old and shabby. Large enough for 2 adults and 1 child but the furniture and all decoration needs to be replaced. The bed is not that confortable and only the pillows have a positive note. Bathroom is functional but also old. Breakfast is quite good and the restaurant area is nice. Also the bar is a nice place to chill and watch a football game. The hotel is walking distance from Rua de Santa Catarina (shopping and Majestic Cafe), Avenida dos Aliados, Torre dos Clérigos and the old Oporto neighbours. Oporto has a lot more to see but from Vila Gale you´ll need a car (check Casa da Música, Serralves Museum & Gardens, Foz, Vila Nova de Gaia, Port Wine Cellars, etc). For the price (bar and restaurant overpriced and they charge to use the gym as it´s into the spa area!!!) and considering the room we got I would not reccomend this hotel (unless you find a very - I mean very - good deadl) as you can find better. This time the vouchers spoke louder!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMCJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was positive, but regrettably, not all our facilities met your expectations. We have initiated some improvements in the Lobby, Restaurant and Bar. Regarding rooms we already started and will continued to renovate and maintain high quality standards,

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 106 in Porto
890 reviews
2.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#44 of 106 in Porto
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Property: Vila Gale Porto
Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing