We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms good breakfast”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Cascais, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice rooms good breakfast”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is quite large with 18 floors, the rooms are quite pleasant good areas, relatively new
The only small problem of this hotel is the rush hours, with so many floors, even with 4 elevators, sometimes you might have to wait a bit…
The breakfast is very nice with lots of offers and different options, nice buffet style

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was positive; the rooms, Staff, breakfast. But regrettably, rush hours was the inconvinience. when customers move all at once, it can happen some disturbance. We regret it.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    532
    210
    53
    18
See reviews for
302
372
47
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here 9th June for four nights. Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable ..needs a little maintenance but nothing to detract from a pleasant stay. The breakfast was good and filling with a good choice. The Guys and Girls on reception are superb, they are knowledgeable, helpful and very cheerful to deal with...you get the impression that nothing is too much trouble.


Location is great for the tourist...about a minutes walk to the Metro which takes you straight to the centre...not worth walking...

The area is clean and regrettably suffers from the economic downturn.... surrounding the hotel complex are empty shop units, which are part of the hotel complex, ...when these are let ...the area will be vibrant and very self contained. The little park, which is clean and tidy, opposite the hotel is pleasant enough as a cut through to the Metro.

Yes we would recommend this hotel and if returning to Porto would stay here again.

Bring your own travel kettle if, as we Brits do, like our early morning cup of tea/coffee.

Room Tip: Get a high floor they have a nice view and of course they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FREDANDWILMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guests Fred and Wilma,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations.

We are very pleased with your comments about the rooms, Staff, confort, location and breakfast.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

Apart from its nice location, we expected the hotel to be more modern. The room was old style requiring improvements. Average breakfast and nice parking place.
Overal good for a short business stay or for enjoying the city, not the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margarida_Costa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear guest Margarida Costa,

We regret that your stay was not as enjoyable as you, and we, would have expected it to be. We thank you for your constructive feedback. Your comments will be analysed carefully and we assure you that, if necessary, we will take measures to improve some of the points mentioned by you.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I travelled to Porto with my father in October 2012 to watch a football match between Portugal and Northern Ireland (Northern Ireland pulled off a miraculous 1-1 draw). We picked this hotel mainly because of its location as it was close to the football stadium. We also wanted a hotel that had a swimming pool to keep us occupied during the day, Overall i was satisfied with the hotel. The design was quite cool and modern and the hotel was set out differently to others i have been to. Usually in hotels the bar etc are all on the bottom floor but with Villa Gale there where different things on different floors. For example the spa was on the top floor and the breakfast room (i think) was on the 2nd or 3rd floor and the bar was on the 8th floor or something. As i was only staying for 2 nights i wasn't too concerned with what the hotel had to offer, however the things i looked for in the hotel where great. The rooms where very spacious and the beds where very comfy. The TV was full of Portuguese channels but had the odd american and british channel. In actual fact one night i ended up watching some american drama series which was pretty good. The view we had from the room wasn't too bad. The bathroom wasn't all that special but it was clean enough The people who worked there where very friendly and helpful. I ordered room service one of the nights i was there and this lovely waiter brought me up my food and gave me a free pen.

The thing i loved most about the hotel was the spa. In it was a pool (you had to wear a swim cap, which is good because it shows how seriously they took hygiene), a jacuzzi, a steam room and a sauna. As it was on the top floor the view was excellent. The sun loungers where positioned so that you could look out over the city of Porto. We spent a good amount of time in the spa because we loved it so much. The bar was nice as well, it had a pool table and a good lot of comfy seats. It also served some nice food until late at night.

The only things i would say about the hotel is the location isn't great unless your intending to go to a football match in the local stadium. I wouldn't really have liked to stay longer than i did because apart from the spa i wouldn't have had much to do but i suppose thats more to do with the city rather than the hotel. The breakfast wasn't too special either but i find that many european places have less than satisfactory breakfasts for us British people. If you are intending to stay for a few days i would highly recommend it but more than that i think it would be a bit boring unless your in to culture and heritage (which the city has plenty of). Definitely not for families though, more so for someone going on a business trip or a short stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaronTag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
dg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

For 75 euros a night, we were supposed to get a "superior" room with a queen bed. The room was dated and drab with TWO twin beds pushed together... not very romantic (and impossible to cuddle). Luckily, the staff in the hotel are very nice and on the second night they made the bed as a "French bed" with one set of sheets instead of two so we could feel like we were sleeping on one mattress. I can't complain at all about the staff... they try and are helpful for sure.

Other complaints about the room are a) the beds - they are hard with springs popping through a bit... they should upgrade to a pillow top or at least newer mattresses b) there's no plug in the bathroom so I had to flat iron my hair in the bedroom under very low lighting and c) the television in the room is extremely small and kept kicking me off the channel and going to some weird movie selection screen. I had to call the front desk to fix it.

Other complaints for the hotel itself were a) no valet parking b) it cost extra to use the pool and hot tub c) it's in the middle of nowhere... at least 15 minute walk to anything worthwhile

Good things: good price, free parking garage, nice and helpful staff, decent buffet breakfast for a good price (7-10 euros), free bottle of water and clementines left on the first night we arrived and when my boyfriend dropped his credit card in the parking garage they located it and called us.

I think this hotel would be worth the value if they fixed a few things that are - overall - easy to fix. The only complaint then would be the location... but for the right price, that's no big deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinswanson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear guest,

We regret that your stay was not as enjoyable as you, and we, would have expected it to be. We thank you for your constructive feedback. Your comments will be analysed carefully and we assure you that, if necessary, we will take measures to improve some of the points mentioned by you.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
dg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Came to Oporto with my partner for two days and stayed at this hotel. The hotel is nice and fancy and the facilities are very good. Wonderful view.

The value for the money they ask (100 euro per night) does not make it a perfect stay when you have to pay for everything you use (gym, pool, towels, Internet). I am a very well traveled person and I have stayed in places from 2 stars to 6 stars and I have never paid for such basic services. I was impressed to hear from the reception and from a 4-star hotel, that the Internet is 6 euro per day in the room. Thats was already ok but when we went to the pool ready for a swim they told us that we have to pay 11 euro for using the pool and another extra charge for using the gym! Really??? I don't even know if we have to pay the bf tomorrow (I won't be surprise bcse it is a modern way to lower expenses) but I would understand when you stay in cheaper or low cost hotels but from one where you pay 100 euro per night, somehow it's unacceptable.

I am really disappointed and I won't recommend this hotel to anyone. The feeling is that you stay in a place where pretends to be great but it has a cheap way to get customer's money out of their pockets!

Ohhhh! The last one.... Just called twice to the reception and no one picked up the phone... Few minutes ago there were three receptionist at the front desk!

Better stay in honest places where everything they offered is cleared!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALESSANDROSANDERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The Vila Galé in Porto is in a convenient location, with beautiful views from the room. It was probably a 15 minute walk down to the river. The beds and room were clean and comfortable. We stayed here for a conference, and our venue was very adequate and well-staffed with coffee, water, and snacks. The breakfast buffet was a feast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackhillssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 106 in Porto
890 reviews
2.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#44 of 106 in Porto
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Property: Vila Gale Porto
Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing