We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome <3”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 9 October 2013

absolutely livelt clean spacious hotel. Has pleanty of light, calm serene atmosphere. Staff very friendly especially Katerina in the restaurant. Food is delicious. Tuna steak and seabass was yumm. The spa facilities were brilliant and good value for the service offered. The jacuzzi is big and spacious, pool clean. Loads to eat in terms of snacks. Only 7 mins to old town where all the bars and restaurants are. Would highly recomment Meet bar (say hello to great bar men Frankie Ricardo and Ricardo) and Bank (brilliant dancers). Clubs open at 4am in the new town. As we went 1 week out of season we didnt venture out there as we were advised it would be very quiet. However; Old town was buzzing. Overall had an amazing stay and holiday. Felt safe. Left rooms open no issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayKhanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was very positive and that Porto is a brilliant city!!!

He hope to see you soon...

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

The rooms are clean and sufficiently large. The bathroom is well equipped with shower and bathtub.
The restaurant is only serving a buffet dinner: but this is quite good and the choice of wine is fine.
Only problem is the capacity of the lifts. When we left, it took us 20 minutes to get from 7th. floor to the lobby with our luggage.
The distance to the city center is greater than ideal; but not excessive.

Room Tip: If you have to leave during the rush hours (8-9), try to get a room at one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussiogjacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel.
It is true that our hotel can get quite busy when clients decided to quit all at once. This can happens only during certain periods.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

Located nearby a metro station it was easy for us to walk around the city and the receptionists were all kind and helpfull indicating tours and giving directions. We got a room on a higher floor and the view was great!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. We try hard!

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We booked a triple room expecting maybe a slightly larger than average room but it ended up being a standard room with a cot setup. This lead to very cramped quarters for the 3 people staying in the room.

Beyond that it was fine. Didn't stand out in anyway though.

It's not too far from the main attractions of the city if you don't mind a little walk. You'll definitely want to walk too as there is nothing to do or eat near the hotel.

I'd only stay again if looking for a lower cost option, otherwise I'd pay a little extra to be in an area with more nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest,

We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay in our Hotel because the room was not big enough. In fact, we dont have triple rooms and we dont sell as rooms for 3 adults. The best solution is a junior suit .

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel as part of an 8 day fly and drive holiday in Portugal. In many ways it was like the hotel from the same chain we stayed at in Coimbra. The room was nice (but no balcony) and bathroom was fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is pretty good for visiting Porto (if, like us, you don't mind a bit of a walk).
As some other reviewers have remarked they really try their best at this hotel and it is partly because of this effort that I chose for "very good" as an overall rating, rather than "good". Still there is still some way to go. I was a bit miffed, for example, at having to pay for the use of the indoor pool (admittedly with a fairly spectacular view from the 19th floor). Breakfast was good and we also ate dinner here once. Service was good, but the quality of the restaurant barely reached 4-star hotel level.
On the whole it was a positive experience. I don't know if there are better choices available in Porto.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jozef O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. The indoor pool and the other facilities are outsourced; that's why clients should pay the entrance. Most of the clients says that the quality of this area is hight standard. 19th floor - top of the building...

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights back in June. We selected this hotel as a 4 star upgrade to our Portugal city hopping tour.
If we would have been blindfolded upon arrival, I would have given it a better rating.
The entrance to the hotel is a little laneway off a fairly busy road, which leads to a very run-down plaza area.
This view is not the most appealing thing to have in front of a 4 star hotel...there are dirt skylights on the ground that look into broken concrete one level down below.
We also counted a dozen dead birds scattered across the plaza area, who evidently can't tell the difference between the all green glass buildings and the sky.
Once inside, you'll see a very lovely lobby, bar and wifi / sitting area.
The staff were very polite, spoke english fluently and were quite helpful with directions and dining tips.
The rooms were nice, the beds a little on the firm side (very firm) though the view was somewhat lacking.
The breakfast buffet had a good variety of hot and cold foods, but they really need to find a better replacement for their sausages. (canned mini franks must be a European thing...they were served in each hotel we stayed)
The hotel is only a 15 minute walk over to Rua Santa Caterina, the beautiful shopping district the runs though Porto. it is a must see on any trip to Porto.
The hotel is located close to the Campo 24 Metro stop...it's less than a block away. You can then travel in any direction on a very clean, safe subway line.
Would we stay there again?...hmmm, yes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. We regret that you felt not confortable with the surroundings.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel obviously is trying very hard to give off a 4 star image. However it is really let down by the following, I will mention the things we didn't like.
1) we went to the hotel restaurant for dinner one night and although there were signs in the lift saying they offer a buffet, we were told they didn't offer buffet that night or the next and not for a while apparently. We still stayed and were disappointed with the dinner. My vegetable soup was luke warm and bland. We also ordered what the menu described as "bread basket with a selection of butters and olive oil" well our bread basket didn't come and when we asked about it, they brought us each one small dinner roll which was stale and a plate with about 5gm butter and 5gm olive oil. Very disappointing food.
2) I ordered a fruit salad thru room service, paid 5euro and arrived about two tablespoons of diced apples and oranges!
3) the hotel is a little far from the main attractions, probably too far to walk but you could catch metro.
4) room decor is dated, ie dated carpets and chair upholstery, also sheets are very dry and itchy!
The positives are
1) large modern bathrooms
2) breakfast buffet is quite good, has a lot of range, big contrast to their dinner service
3) reception staff are friendly especially the young boy who gave us restaurant suggestions nearby.
4) rooms are quiet
If they improve their dinner service and actually provide a decent fruit salad , then I think it would have made a difference to our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear guest,

We regret that you were not completly satisfied with your stay in our Hotel. We admit that, although we always try our best, there is certainly always room for improvement and during very busy periods, we might have less attention to details than usual and, apparently, this has been the situation. Our standard is quite different from situations that mentions.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
2.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#39 of 108 in Porto
629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing