We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Gale Porto
Nearby Hotels
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$495
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$534
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveller rating
305
601
228
63
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
601
228
63
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbig hotelmetro stationtallest buildingtour groups stayingbuffet breakfast was very goodswimming poolwalk into townthe riverrecommend this hotel to anyonetour busestop floorweekend breakcomfortable hoteldouble bedport tastinglovely citybreakfast room
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

THis is a lovely hotel with extremely helpful staff. The rooms are big nice and clean; the bathroom is excellent with heating and shower, hot water..etc. Room service was perfect, they even organise your clothes books for you.. very nice... The food including buffet-breakfast was one of the best hotel food I have had. Only issues were the internet in the rooms were not free but cheap to purchase however it did not work properly; its alternative, the internet in the lobby was very fast and free. There are no iron and coffee maker in the rooms. If you need these while your visit i highly suggest this hotel. The people work there are very welcoming and make you feel comfortable. I especially want to thank you the gentleman who helped me on my last day. Because of my panic i forgot to ask his name but i am sure he will remember me. He safely put me in the taxi while I was so panicky about catching my flight on a rainy Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our VG Hotel. We try on a daily bases to exceed expectations.

best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This is a lovely big hotel located within walking distance of the main tourist area. Very close to metro if required . It is good value for money though you will pay extra for things like your safe. The room was big, clean and the bathroom very modern, well equipped and with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast buffet is very good and the room is large with lots of seating. Their evening buffet was adequate though a little expensive. Staff was very helpful. I’d certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. Our location is a must and our staff is always to serve and to please the customer. Our price/quallity is one of the best in Porto!

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After reading other reviews I had some concerns but now that my stay at this hotel is over, I really don't understand some of the issues. For starters, the 4 elevators work perfectly, don' t understand the complaints about waiting a long time for them. Cleanliness: spotless, both in the room and public areas. Anyway, the best thing about this hotel is the exceptional service provided either at the reception, restaurant or bar. Great staff: courteous, friendly, efficient and polite. Note to the management: take good care of them. They're a great asset to your hotel.
Area of improvement : free internet in the rooms.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Joao F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. It is true that is true that our employees are our diamond and that´s why we have a team very stable and very efficient.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 days, not a 4 star hotel. Rather a 3 star. Nice looking modern building but interior starting to show wear. Location not so charming, would not stray out at night in the Neigbourhood. Breakfast buffet was very good.Staff charming

Room Tip: A good averah=ge hotel except for location
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest.,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve. We are very pleased with your comments about the rooms, the breakfast and Staff.
We inform you that we are undertaking a major overhaul of the rooms and we will renovated most of them by end of the year.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

absolutely livelt clean spacious hotel. Has pleanty of light, calm serene atmosphere. Staff very friendly especially Katerina in the restaurant. Food is delicious. Tuna steak and seabass was yumm. The spa facilities were brilliant and good value for the service offered. The jacuzzi is big and spacious, pool clean. Loads to eat in terms of snacks. Only 7 mins to old town where all the bars and restaurants are. Would highly recomment Meet bar (say hello to great bar men Frankie Ricardo and Ricardo) and Bank (brilliant dancers). Clubs open at 4am in the new town. As we went 1 week out of season we didnt venture out there as we were advised it would be very quiet. However; Old town was buzzing. Overall had an amazing stay and holiday. Felt safe. Left rooms open no issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayKhanom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was very positive and that Porto is a brilliant city!!!

He hope to see you soon...

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews