We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business and travel hotel.”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #44 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Lisbon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good business and travel hotel.”
Reviewed 23 March 2009

It is a rather straightforward hotel, with a fantastic, friendly staff and more than decent, confortable rooms (great pillows) and in a central location, within walking distance to the city centre and the FC Porto Dragão stadium. It has a supermarket in front, plenty bus stations around and a subway station mere 150 meters from the hotel, which is set inwards in a patio - could be tricky to find at first.
It is a big hotel, and sometimes you might find that the hard way during breakfast, but they do replenish the trays fast enough. Breakfast has a good variety but it is nothing remarkable, exception being maybe the miniature custard pies (pastéis de nata) and apple turnover (folhado de maçã). Amazing is that, even in the breakfast room, if you have a telephone call they'll try to locate you. Very impressive.
Rooms are confortable, if a bit dated but not too much, adding perhaps a classical touch. Matresses very confortable, and the variety of pillows available (3) make finding the right one a breeze. The bathroom is ok, and very clean. The elevators are remarkaby fast.

I would recommend this hotel for tourists looking for a quality, yet affordable hotel, for business people, and for (mature and quiet) football fans looking for a place to stay near the FC Porto stadium (some 20 minutes walk).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WingDrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    523
    203
    53
    19
See reviews for
298
363
46
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Just back from a lovely weekend in Porto having stayed at the Vila Gale Hotel. Like the reports I had read before we left, I chose the hotel based on location and price and it scored well on both counts. The twin room was airy and lovely and the staff were polite and helpful. The bar is currently being renovated so they are using a temporary room which we decided not to frequent. The breakfast was fine - again nothing over the top just pastries, juices and toast primarily. Nothing to complain about. The location is the best thing about the hotel. Two mins from the tube, close to a supermarket and a taxi is never anymore than 8 euros to the nightlife. Porto is a lovely city and would happily stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The 80's decor
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Craiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2008

Not an amazing 4* hotel,but no doubt a confortable one with all the facilities a 4* should have.
Clean and confortable rooms,good buffet breakfast,friendly staff,good location.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula_agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

The hotel was fairly easy to find, a metro station being a couple of minutes away. My first impression was that it looked liked an unfinished Barbican Centre, situated in a dilapidated concrete jungle. Once you entered the reception area, the outside surroundings were forgotten. I agree with previous reviews, this is not a typical 4 * hotel, more a tourist group hotel. The reception staff were very friendly. The room had seen better days (although we were told by the reception staff that they were renovating the rooms on the higher floors during this quiet period), but was adequate. The buffet breakfast was a basic fayre, but again there was something for all tastes. The restaurant staff were again friendly. I chose this hotel for the swimming pool and fitness centre, but unfortunately didn't use either. I was told there was a charge per day of EUR7.50 for use of these facilities. I wouldn't stop at this hotel again, purely because of the location.

Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank N6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2008

I booked three nights in October at the Vila Gale in Oporto, as they had the cheapest rate compared to similar hotels during this time-frame.

I fully agree with some other reviews that this hotel is not a 4-star.

Summary:

- the rooms definitely need an update. Furniture is old, the bathrooms were nice approx. 5-10 years ago. A/C/TV/Fridge worked well. Surprisingly, I slept very well in the beds although I did not feel really comfortable in the room

- the common areas are OK and well maintained

- breakfast area was crowded.Buffet breakfast (incl. in room price) was quite good.

- Bar was nice with good live-music

- Reception staff was neither professional nor really friendly. All other employees I had contact with were friendly.

- Location is OK. Walking distance to shopping area (10min), direct metro link to airport, taxi rank 100m away. Grocery store opposite of the hotel.

- Two PCs in the lobby with internet access (for a fee). It was a little bit complicated to get connected

Overall, for the price the hotel was OK. If they updated the rooms this hotel could be an interesting choice. But as I am picky regarding the rooms, I would not return. I would recommend this place only to people who want to have a competitive rate. Do not expect anything special.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JHH_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

This is not a 4 star hotel. It is clean and acceptable but do not be fooled, if you have ever stayed in a 4 star hotel before this is absolutely no luxury experience. We stayed in much nicer less expensive hotels in portugal (for example the sofitel in Lisbon is beautiful). Although this hotel is clean and acceptable there are no extras (i.e. no down bedding, standard bathroom, you have to ask the front desk to have an in room safe, etc.) It is more like a nice clean Ramada or Holiday Inn. I wouldn't say it was terrible, it just wasn't the luxury we were expecting. It is easy to get to by either car or metro but a bit difficult to navigate when walking. I would suggest staying closer to the water.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank melaniealison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

Picked the Vila Gale because it seemed a good price for a 4 Star, near the centre and was highly rated by visiters. I can see why people like the place. Firstly it was very easy to find - from the airport you take the metro to Campo 24 Agoso which takes about half an hour at most. Once out of the metro look around and close by is a very tall building - thats it!

The hotel lived up to its 4 Star billing. Its a big place so the public areas were relatively large. Large and comfortable bar with live music regularly - a bit loud if too close to the performers. Barman when we were there was the spitting image of Al Pacino!

Breakfast was included and of reasonable quality. Not too crowded when we were there, but I think this depends on how many coach parties they have in there. Room was a reasonable size. Not really much else to say about the place. It did the job and there were no significant problems.

  • Liked — Good location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pentangle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
2.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#45 of 106 in Porto
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Property: Vila Gale Porto
Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing