We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, and great breakfast”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #42 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We have been two nights in this hotel, and everything o.k., good beds and great breakfast. We need to pay to park the car, but 6 euros day is a normal price.
Even with kids, we walked to the center (10 minutes) and then came by metro (stop very close to the hotel). Vila Galé is a good choice, and just in front one of the best restaurant in Porto - Triunfante 2 -, with tipical cuisine portuguese in a good price.
Next time, Vila galé!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisBaptista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2009

Really enjoyed my 4 night stay at this hotel. The hotel is in a good location for access to the Metro system, but it is worth bearing mind that you can only reach the hotel from the front......you can not walk around it if you are approaching from behind the hotel. As other people have said, the restaurant opposite the hotel was very good indeed, and amazing value.....ate there 3 times. There is a bar around the corner full of locals which was also cheap and friendly.
I would definitely stay at this hotel again.....clean, friendly, and very well appointed

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nagsSuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Breakfast was good with fair selctoin.
overall Cleanliness of hotel good. Maid aims to please
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Hotel distance a bit out of center but ok. HOtel is a little dated in decor .

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itay38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Vila Gale hotel is a clean modern hotel and i would stay there again.
When we arrived we were a little daunted as it seemed like quite an unpleasant area and far from the town centre but we discovered that we were only a 10 minute walk from the center and while the area wasn't beautiful, it was ok.
The rooms were standard 4 star hotel rooms - clean and spacious.
The breakfast buffet was excellent, catering to all nationalities.
The staff were really attentive and helpful.
Ther was a spa on the top floor of the hotel with a pool and gym. It cost 7 Euros a day to use it and an extra 2.50 to buy a swimming cap. I had a vichy massage an a facial which were quite expensive and not really worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I've never had such a lovely stay before, this hotel is excellent. At arrival three of the staff members were already waiting too greet us and even though we were far more early than the official check-in time, our room was already ready. We stayed at the eight floor and had a beautiful view over the city, churches and the far off ocean.

The only negative point about the hotel and our room were the beds: they were too hard for our likings and the pillows (which we had 4!!!! each) were too soft.

About the good points: It's really clean, spacious rooms, good location, television, airco, minibar/cooler, many pillows, lots of storage room, toilet + bidet, shower + bad, badroom is large enough for two people at the same time, water was clean and clear, two chairs and a table, and a writing desk. The breakfast was... magnificent. Never had such a good breakfast before.

I've read some reviews about the breakfast room being too crowded, but that wasn't the case during my stay. Also, the staff is fast stocking new fruits or or other things when they run out, so you can eat whatever you want.

A few tips:
- The nearest metro is only 200m away (about 2min walk), it's the Campo 24 de Agosto. I advise you to take this metro from Oporto airport, it only costs €1.94 and is a 25min trip.
- The most easy way to travel in Porto is definitely the Metro, so if you stay for 3 days I would advise to buy an Andante Card (11 euro's for 3 days), which allows unlimited travelling by bus, metro or train (and funicular!).
- St. Catarine (main shopping area) is only a 10min walk (really it is, it's not 30min like some people here claim it to be!). Be sure to check out the 4th floor in the St. Catarine mall, there is lots of delicious food there.
- Just 20min from the hotel is the Mercado do Ballhão, a market. Be sure to check that one out, it's great to see the elderly people selling their stuff on an old market. (the market is every weekday between 10 and 18 hours.)
- The fastest way to the beach is to take the metro to Casa de Musica and to take a busline from there (line 202). It's a 20min trip and takes you to a boulevard + beach.
- When buying local stuff, or going on a tour in Porto, keep in mind that there is A LOT of rivalery between servicecompanies. If you see a tour operator; look further because there is always someone offering the same service for a lesser price.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Passerby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Nice place to stay in a wonderful city. Big rooms friendly staff, nice breakfast (included).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simbaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights at end of May. Really loved Porto and travelled around a lot because the public transport...Metro, buses and Tram are all first class, very clean, safe and well organised. Make sure you visit beach by tram or Metro as they are lovely and nice to get out of town.

Hotel is nice, as mentioned it is a long walk from main area of Porto but very easy to reach by Metro or bus. However after a few days this does get a bit wearing as you do end up travelling quite a bit. It's a very nice 4 star hotel with fab breakfasts only negatives are -

Some staff are pretty miserable and don't smile especially bar and restaurant staff. Reception staff are friendly and helpful though.

No tea or coffee facilities in room....why??

Only other thing I would add is......If you are staying for 3 or more days.....When landing at airport go straight to tourist info office and get a 3 day travel card (Valid all Porto areas for metro/bus/tram/trains) only 11 euro each and saved us a fortune because of hotel location.

Enjoy

Glyn & Jules

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bingobalss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
2.2 mi away
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
AC Hotel Porto
AC Hotel Porto
#39 of 108 in Porto
629 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#9 Spa Hotel in Porto
#33 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £55 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing