We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I stayed at the hotel for two nights and was very satisfied. Hotel is a little bit old, probably from the 1980s, but very well maintained and the design is still modern. My room on 11th floor had a great view over whole city of Porto, which was nice, especially at night.
I have to say that their breakfast choice is one of the biggest I have ever come across at a hotel. I can only recommend this hotel to anyone staying at a beautiful city of Porto.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalvolioBlanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

I stayed here with my daughter who was attending a conference. The location and surroundings are not very nice but the hotel is excellent value for money and if you dont mind walking (or using the nearby metro) it is a good base. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. There are quite a lot of coach tours who use this hotel so it feels very lively and occasionally we had to wait for a lift but it wasnt often . The breakfast was excellent one of the best I have had and also the organisation was amazing. Even with all the many guests using it during the busy time there was always a clear table (this cannot be said for some hotels who have buffet breakfasts). The bar was very welcoming and the two bar staff were very friendly. The live music rounded our evenings off in a very good way. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Vila Gale Night and Day cocktail!
If I had to make a negative comment I dont like having to pay to use a hotel pool (10euros + 2 for a cap!).
ANother tip about Porto generally the taxis are cheap (usually around4 - 5 euros for most of the city journeys. 20 euros from the airport.
I took the train to Braga (a stunning town full of historic churches and buildings with lovely pedestrianised shopping streets) which only cost 4.5 euros return and took about an hour. But beware there seems to be two sorts of train and the ticket seller didnt tell me so I caught the 'posh' Alpha train and was asked to leave at the next stop by the miserable ticket collector who didnt even offer to let me pay the difference. However the ordinary suburb train was fine after I got over the embarrassment.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twojays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was extremely positive and so well detailed. I already shared with my team and we will continued to work to exceed the Client expectations.
Best Regards
The Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The room was nice and clean. There was lots of nice soft pillows. Location is convenient for public transportation. There were a few bakeries and shops within walking distance. Even though the hotel is very close to the busy streets, I did not hear any noise in the room. The buffet breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyaltyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feed back and we are very pleased with your comments about the location, the rooms, the confort and the breakfast.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

we really liked this hotel. very clean. The rooms are rather small, but not too much so.

the only thing we didn't like about this place was all the extras... parking was extra (7,5 euros day), safe was extra (2 euros a day), wi-fi internet was extra (5 euros for 60 minute, 1 time use... once you start, you have 60 minutes use then it stops...)

If it weren't for that , we would have rated this hotel with 4 stars...

Still a nice place to go, close to everything, and right across the street is a nice restaurant called triumphante II... cheap and very good, even if the looks are very average.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedhebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your contribution. We really are glad that your overall experience was positive.
Best regards
The Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Hotel is not in the very center of the city, but close to a metro station. It is a very tall tower.
Rooms are rather small, air conditioning doesn't really make air cooler.
Shower is OK.
There is noise from other rooms and outside air conditioning.
Breakfast is rather poor in quality and variety.
This hotel is a favourite place for large tourist groups from Spain who come in buses, so if you are unlucky, you might end up waiting long at check-in or in front of the lift.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wander5r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your contribution. We are very pleased with your comments about the location, the shower. The breakfast is always a positive feeback and so we regret about your breakfast experience.
Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I spent 2 nights in this hotel.
this is an old hotel, smelling cigarette. the reception staff could be more symphatetic - all of them are rude.
the rooms need to be refurbished. the air-conditioning is very noise.
breakfast reastaurant was crowded. on sunday morning we took more than 15 minutes to be able to enter in the lift with the luggage.
the internet in my room was not working.
the parking is always full at night and the guests to park some blocks away.
to use the swimming pool and the gym you have to pay 10 euros a day.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This is a very big hotel with many floors. We stayed on a higher room that gave us a good view of the city. The room has good furniture and it’s clean and spacious. The breakfast it’s also very good, with many options and quantity. As the hotel is very big, the breakfast room is a little confuse with many people, but nothing that could stress you. Although the location of the hotel is not in the city centre, with a 20 minutes walk you can reach the city main spots and at the same time you can feel the city life. The hotel has a paid parking but you can park you car freely on the near streets as you have some free options (they are not many but at night it was not very difficult to find a place).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#20 of 111 in Porto
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.6 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Address: Avenida de Fernao de Magalhaes 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#10 Spa Hotel in Porto
#34 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £65 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing