We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”
Review of Toscano

Toscano
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Toscano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #511 of 1,678 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This little restaurant is tucked away in a street near Rotunda da Boavista. Looks like it was one of the first Italian restaurants in Porto. I went with two friends to lunch. They have two menus: One is presented in a vinyl LP format with the Italian menu and another in a paper with a daily menu with Portuguese food. We all chosen pasta, that without dazzle, was good. To drink, we choose a very good red wine from the Douro (Noval). The service is professional and diligent. We will return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOSPIR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    38
    11
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diekirch, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Insider tip worth to be better known”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Without the help of an inhabitant of porto or Gaia, impossible to find this small Italian restaurant. Menue and beverages on 2 vinyl disks are the beginning of a gastronomic travel. Starting with a very old Port wine, the waiter came with 6 or 7 bottles of red wine which could fit to our main course. He explained us the different tastes and finally we choosed a wine from the Douro valley from 2008. Excellent choice, I must say. Finally with aperitif, starter,main course, dessert and a bottle of wine and espressi, we had for 30 € per person, which is a very good price/quality rate. To find this restaurant you will need fried from there or a good GPS, otherwise it would be difficult to find it. Finally, the restaurant was flexible, the kitchen adapted their tempo to ours, and that deserves the 5th bullet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LexGrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Small restaurant with lots of antique elements. Menus were printed in vinyl. Friendly and helpful staff. Great starters and main courses (also to the ones that don't enjoy Italian dishes ). It deserves a second visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuno V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good italian food”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 via mobile

Good italian food! Only place in Porto to eat the spetacular italian paella! Recomend! Service is nice and super friendly . Very small restaurante but with good fresh food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro_de_Sousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant! Toscano it's Italy...”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I always enjoyed Pasta. Who doesn't?
Following the advice from a friend I booked a table on the restaurant for my 26th birthday.

The food was excellent. Fresh pasta, my fience and I ate Spaghetti moda mio!! never tasted something like that.

The place is cousy, full of traditional and antique elements.

Certainly a place to visit more often.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Artur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toscano also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing