We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better”

Yellow Bus Tours Oporto
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.71*
and up
Porto Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Optional River Cruise and Wine Tasting
Ranked #36 of 150 Tours in Porto
Type: Bus Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let Yellow Bus Tours be your guide to the best that Porto has to offer. Travel to all of the most interesting tourist sights by open-top bus and discover the city at your speed with our 2-day or 3-day passes. All tours are hop-on, hop-off which means you can take any bus you want whenever you want for the duration of your ticket.
Minsk
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

HopON/HopOFF buses are a good option to see the city when you have not so much time. I had 1 day in Porto, so I've decided to tak the yellow bus to see the city. On the first bus I've taken the roof was not open, Also the driver didn't wait me to go out so I've almost fell of from the stairs, On the othe bus, the roof was open and thebranches were smashing in to the face=)) Narration isn't so interesting. The castle rout isn't so intersting, I've expected more, not seeing the castles from 200 meters destinaTION, For the good points: discount for the tours in other Portugal citys, and possibility to travel by public transport buses for free. As for me Bus Turistica in Barcelona seems mor profesional in comparison with Yellow Bus Porto.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vanoleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swcarristur, Marketing Assistant at Yellow Bus Tours Oporto, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear costumer,

Thank you very much for your review and preference for Yellow Bus Tours.

We are sorry that the service provided did not meet your expectations. However your opinion will be used for further improvements. Costumers satisfaction is our top priority.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    219
    123
    77
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Flexible way of seeing Porto and the attractions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a 48 hour pass which included a port wine tasting and a six bridges river cruise all for 22€ per person - great value.

We did the tasting on the first day and the river cruise on the second. As with other city tours we have been on headphones were provided to give you information on the sights as you pass by (in several languages). Our only criticism was that no announcements were made indicating you were approaching one of the many stops on route. In other city we have been to an advance warning announcement has been made so you can prepare to get off if you choose.

Still a great way to see the sights - there are other operators Red & Blue buses offering similar tours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Porto, bus tours”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

June 2014 - Do NOT take any open top - bus tours of Porto - yellow, blue and red buses compete on similar routes. All you need to visit is in walking distance of the historic centre and the Port tasting houses.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LuggageWithWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swcarristur, marketing assistant at Yellow Bus Tours Oporto, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review and oppinion.
We hope that despite the tours did not meet your expectations, you had a nice time in Oporto.
Thank you
Best regards,
Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

There are 3 different colour buses offering differing routes around Oporto, red, blue and of course the best one - Yellow.
Offering 2 different routes it is the only way to see the amazing Atlantic coast crashing onto the rocks and lovely beaches and getting up into where the serious fishing is done, jumping off and eating the freshest fish on what we called 'fish street' where the bus passes between the port and right by numerous charcoal BBQ topped with the ubiquitous sardines, squid, sea bass and all manner of delights from the sea. Simply served, as fish this fresh should be, it was a wonderful experience.
The other route takes you around the city, and is very informative. The drivers are friendly and welcoming and the buses clean and prompt, all you could wish for and at the cheapest price we have experienced in any other city around the world.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nickinooFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
211 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A great way to get acquainted with the city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Yellow Bus operates two different tours in Porto, one focused on the castles exclusively, and another that focuses on the ancient landmarks and significant squares and buildings. I found the tours to be a great way to acquaint myself with all that the city has to offer, and then decide for myself what I wanted to explore further. Their pre-recorded tours are easily understandable, and the audio quality is not bad. Unfortunately, they have only licensed three different Portuguses Fado songs to use as background and filler music, so be prepared to hear them over and over again. That part was admittedly mind-numbing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellow Bus Tours Oporto also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Yellow Bus Tours Oporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing