We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average guest house”
Review of Almada Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Almada Guesthouse
Ranked #48 of 169 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room 2.1 in October, 2012. It was an average stay, neither amazing nor horrible.

Pros:
-Friendly owners/employees
-Great recommendations
-Central location
-Decor house
-Free wifi

Cons:
-We waited about an hour to be greeted by someone at the guest house. Luckily, one of the guests let us in (no front desk) and we waited in the lobby to be checked in. Otherwise, we would have been stuck waiting outside in the rain.
-Loud. We made the mistake of opting for a big room with a balcony which faced onto the street. Unfortunately, it was too loud at night, especially on what seemed to be karaoke night nearby. Rooms do not seem to be much of a sound barrier.
-Decor of the room and bathroom was beautiful but perhaps not the best use of the space.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Almada guest house is modern, functional and beautiful.
Antonio and Ricardo are great and really took care of me. I will come back for sure and very soon.
The breakfast is well organized, simple and good. I even saw a black cat one morning on the roof next to my room. I'm sure it's a good sign looking at the good vibes in this house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudelondon972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This guesthouse has really seen some effort and creativity from its owners. Stayed 3 nights and was impressed with the quirky redesign of this previously derelict building near the centre of the old town. Antonio and crew really offered great insights into getting around and restaurant recommendations.

Close to the nightspots and art area of the old town.

Great value and definitely worth considering over a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: 2.2 or 2.1 for spacious en-suite doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This guesthouse is the perfect place to stay: very kind and sympathetic owners, beautiful bedrooms (I had a wonderful one: number 3.3), collective kitchen for the breakfast and to cook if you wish to, and good location next to the city centre. I would certainly very warmly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had a large room which was perfect for our family. The staff is super friendly and the building has been renovated with great style. It was nice to have access to a kitchen and outside patio and a tv room. The only downside is the loud music and partying that went on until 5 am or so in a neighboring bar.

Room Tip: probably those not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defender1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I am so glad we stayed here. It was in a great location - central to everything and easy to get to from airport. We had a fantastic room (2.2), and the people that work there are SUPER helpful. Sat down with us, went over maps, made recommendations, answered questions and even gave us a contact number in the evening for them just in case we needed help - not just at the guest house! I really like the way the house was run as well - you have 24 hour access to the big cummunal kitchen, and they encourage you to feel at home. You have a 1/2 shelf in the fridge if you want to have your own snacks (or wine!), and you are welcome to cook your own meals if you like. Breakfast is not a set time, which is great for us, as we are not early risers. Someone is around in the morning, and if you want eggs or something - just ask. Always bread, jam, juice, butter and big bowl of fruit available. They have a lovely courtyard (complete with turtle) and there is an upper deck and lounge area as well. Everything was immaculate and well cared for. One of the nicest and best run guest houses I have ever stayed in. Highly recommend, and would not hesitate to stay here again. Wish I was still there now......

Room Tip: We had room 2.2, which was large and had it's own little kitchen. They have pictures of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flamedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This newly renovated building is very welcoming on first arrival. The staff are very friendly and helpful and speak perfect English. The common kitchen and television areas are great for getting to know your new neighbours. The bed is comfortable and the bathroom/shower very nice. There are hardwood floors throughout that are beautiful but noisy. Unfortunately, however, the guesthouse is on a street that has a number of late night/early morning bars outside which loud and drunk smokers congregate and shout at each other, and the sound echoes and carries up the four and five-story buildings and makes for nights of broken sleep.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and very noisy; perhaps the rooms to the rear are less so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.0 mi away
Charming House Marques
Charming House Marques
#29 of 169 in Porto
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Almada
Almada
#91 of 253 in Porto
29 reviews
0.0 mi away
BO - Almada 340
BO - Almada 340
#27 of 253 in Porto
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B The Guest
B The Guest
#10 of 169 in Porto
365 reviews
0.5 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#9 of 169 in Porto
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vivacity Porto
Vivacity Porto
#30 of 169 in Porto
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almada Guesthouse

Address: Rua do Almada 353, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £55 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing