We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B and B”
Review of Almada Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almada Guesthouse
Ranked #48 of 170 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here (5 friends) in October. Beautiful old house, comfy seating area upstairs where you can relax with a bottle of wine, good breakfast with help yourself arrangement. B and B is close to centre, a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Almada guesthouse at the end of October. We stayed in an en suite room, ( no 3.3).
The guesthouse was easy to find from the metro, and as it says a 5 minute walk. We were greeted by Ricardo who showed us to our room, and then gave us some excellent recommendations of where to visit, eat and get around Porto, along with a helpful map.
Our room, and in deed the house certainly has the ' wow' factor! Our room was at the back of the house with a small balcony, a large double bed, which was very comfortable. The room was very large, and had a wonderful walk in shower along with a separate toilet in the corner of the room. Big, white fluffy towels and a hair dryer supplied.
Breakfast was served in a communial kitchen / dinning room on the 1st floor. You also could store food in the fridge if you wanted to add to your breakfast or indeed cook in the kitchen if you wanted to.
There is a lovely lounge area and terrace on the 4th floor, with great views over the city. A great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine before going out in the evening!
We met Antonio on our 2nd morning, who again gave us some helpful tips for our stay in Porto. We were also very fortunate to be shown around the house,which is a lovely,beautifully restored house.
Staying at Almada was a real treat, I cannot recommend it highly enough and am sorry we were not able to spend more time there. I would certainly stay there again, and would encourage anyone considering visiting Porto to stay at Almada.

Room Tip: Room 3.3 is large and spacious and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank syates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband and I stayed in Room 2.1 in October, 2012. It was an average stay, neither amazing nor horrible.

Pros:
-Friendly owners/employees
-Great recommendations
-Central location
-Decor house
-Free wifi

Cons:
-We waited about an hour to be greeted by someone at the guest house. Luckily, one of the guests let us in (no front desk) and we waited in the lobby to be checked in. Otherwise, we would have been stuck waiting outside in the rain.
-Loud. We made the mistake of opting for a big room with a balcony which faced onto the street. Unfortunately, it was too loud at night, especially on what seemed to be karaoke night nearby. Rooms do not seem to be much of a sound barrier.
-Decor of the room and bathroom was beautiful but perhaps not the best use of the space.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Almada guest house is modern, functional and beautiful.
Antonio and Ricardo are great and really took care of me. I will come back for sure and very soon.
The breakfast is well organized, simple and good. I even saw a black cat one morning on the roof next to my room. I'm sure it's a good sign looking at the good vibes in this house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudelondon972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This guesthouse has really seen some effort and creativity from its owners. Stayed 3 nights and was impressed with the quirky redesign of this previously derelict building near the centre of the old town. Antonio and crew really offered great insights into getting around and restaurant recommendations.

Close to the nightspots and art area of the old town.

Great value and definitely worth considering over a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: 2.2 or 2.1 for spacious en-suite doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This guesthouse is the perfect place to stay: very kind and sympathetic owners, beautiful bedrooms (I had a wonderful one: number 3.3), collective kitchen for the breakfast and to cook if you wish to, and good location next to the city centre. I would certainly very warmly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We had a large room which was perfect for our family. The staff is super friendly and the building has been renovated with great style. It was nice to have access to a kitchen and outside patio and a tv room. The only downside is the loud music and partying that went on until 5 am or so in a neighboring bar.

Room Tip: probably those not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defender1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 109 in Porto
1,429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Three Houses Apartments
Three Houses Apartments
#35 of 170 in Porto
69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#9 of 170 in Porto
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Almada
Almada
#93 of 261 in Porto
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercador Guest House
Mercador Guest House
#23 of 170 in Porto
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oporto City Hostel
Oporto City Hostel
#41 of 261 in Porto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almada Guesthouse

Address: Rua do Almada 353, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Almada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing