We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful airy place in center of Porto”
Review of Almada Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almada Guesthouse
Ranked #34 of 153 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hove, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful airy place in center of Porto”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a beautiful family room in this guesthouse. There were 4 beds and we still had enough room to dance around, this room was really huge. Nice and crispy white, big beds, comfortable bathroom and little balcony.
The staff was also really warm and friendly.
I would like to come here again !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    47
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
79
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely guesthouse in a very cool old stone building, beautifully decorated. All the staff we spoke to were universally polite and helpful, giving good advice on what to see/do in Porto. We didn't get a chance to use the kitchen but it was very well equipped and clean - this would be a good choice if you were staying a little longer in Porto and didn't want to eat out all the time. The guesthouse also has a good living room, garden (inc. Hercules the tortoise) and roof terrace.

Some of the bedrooms have separate bathrooms - not a problem for us, but one to double check if this would bother you.

All in all, a great guesthouse, couldn't recommend more highly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Due to a mix-up with another reservation, we unexpectedly ended up for one night in a third-floor bedroom at Almada Guest House. The building is located in Porto's central/downtown business district - about five minutes to Sao Bento train station and convenient to anything you would want to see in central Porto, and about fifteen minutes' walk to the riverfront/Riberia district. The street is sort of quiet at night and it can be easy to miss the front door if you aren't paying careful attention. We ( a couple ) felt safe, but please note that this area of Porto seemed a bit more desolate than locations closer to the train or river, particularly on weeknights. That quietness was good from a sleep perspective, but could make less experienced or solo travelers a bit nervous.

The building is a very old apartment building that has been stripped down and converted into rooms for guests. It's very simply decorated and retains much of its traditional Portugeuse character.

Our room had a nice balcony facing the back courtyard. Toilet and shower are in separate rooms; the toilet was a bit cramped relatively speaking but the spacious shower area and nice rain shower made up for it. Comfortable bed with good quality sheets. No elevator - if mobility/stairs are a major issue for you, you might be best served at a more traditional hotel. Also, no TVs in the rooms, so far as I can tell - but there is Wifi.

The spacious communal kitchen which opens on to the back courtyard/garden area (home of a large turtle who lives in a tub near the back). Breakfast is served in the kitchen; a basic but nice typically European spread of breads, jams, olives, yogurts, cereal, etc. There is a stove and a refrigerator with assigned bins/areas for each unit, which is a nice touch. Also, there is a common sunroom/deck on the top level, which has a large flat-screen TV.

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hui (not sure on the spelling) helped us orient ourselves within the building and within Porto generally. Gave us a great tip about getting seafood in the Matoshinos (sic) area, which is just north of the Foz / oceanfront and the SeaLife aquarium. He also seemed to be a really nice guy who was eager to help make our stay successful.

There was only one annoyance - the people in another unit made an unbelievable amount of noise when they left in the morning, which really carried well through the old walls, which are not sound-proofed. I don't think there's much that can be done about inconsiderate guests, which can happen any where.

Overall, we thought it was good value in a unique space with a friendly vibe. It would be good for a longer term stay if you could negotiate a good rate and could be particularly good for families or groups traveling together.

Room Tip: High floor might help avoid noise from people in the corridors. The neighborhood itself is very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MightOnTheHeights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were only able to stay here one night but we would have loved to stay longer. Such a beautiful big old house, wooden floors, overall lovely accommodation. Big, clean rooms. Perfect location, close to everything... Metro, main city district, eating area, river etc. The staff members were very accommodating. There were a number of clean and spacious common areas including a balcony which added to the great atmosphere.

Room Tip: One room has a shared bathroom but it's the only one so you still have it to yourself. All other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrahamsejf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We only stayed one night, but were very impressed with how fabulous this guesthouse was. They have managed to give it a modern vibe but at the same time keeping the original charm of the house. We had a huge room (room 2.2), with high ceilings, big bathroom, super-comfy bed and a little balcony looking out onto a cute courtyard. The staff were impeccable, taking a long time to show us the must-sees on the map and giving us tips. Breakfast was good and in a large, airy kitchen. We felt totally at home, not at all like being in a trad hotel. Definitely going back!

J & M

Room Tip: If you need to spread out and like being at the back of the house (no traffic), we can't fault r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBudgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed two nights in the room 4.2. It was clean and spacious with a nice big bed and a compact but good bathroom. Shower was very good. Outside the room was a sitting area with balcony. The breakfast was good with all the usual bits and pieces. The staff were brilliant with great advice on the must see sights and restaurants etc. and really toolk lots of time to help us. The location is top and we spent one and a half days walking all over the place as the weather was top. Would definately recommend the Almada to my friends and family.

Room Tip: The rooms 4.1 and 4.2 are at the back of the house and away from the street. Our room was nice and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Kitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Spacious room, good breakfast. Terrific location! Staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended a guided walking tour for us which we really enjoyed. In fact, staff (particularly Mavi) went above and beyond the call of duty to assist us with various things. Main suggestion for improvement - a large enough advertising sign above the guesthouse would help in locating it on this street. Plus an indication of where the bell is.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the higher floors - less noisy. And ask for a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 mi away
Alvares Cabral Guest House
0.6 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#10 of 153 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.0 mi away
O'Porto Seven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BO - Almada 340
BO - Almada 340
#28 of 219 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#5 of 153 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#33 of 153 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almada Guesthouse

Property: Almada Guesthouse
Address: Rua do Almada 353, Porto 4050-038, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Almada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing