We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”
Review of Casa Guedes

Casa Guedes
Ranked #39 of 1,655 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: An excelent to eat in between locals and as a local in Porto. It has one of the most amazing sandwiches in town. All in all an excelent place to discover portuguese typical products, ham, chorizo, portuguese cheese, wine, etc.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

In middle of city a simple and nice place, where there are very good sandwich!
A wonderful price for an amazing food quality!
Very polite people turns this place much better!
Turn again for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EuniceNery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    428
    102
    30
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanremo, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“the most succulent porc-sandwich you could dream about”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

a simple place where it is all about food …. once you try the porc sandwich it is difficult not to go back every day … our favorite is the porc-sandwich with soft mountain cheese …. the porc is exaptional good and a great value for your money … as we were living close by we would not go when we see people lining up …so we always managed to have a little corner table or a place at the bar … service is friendly and fast even when they get very busy you should try and we will be soon back … a must when you are in town

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
91 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overrated ”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

The sandwich its good and you should give it a try but a I find all the hype about this place to much. The waiting lines are big,if you go on weekends.

Helpful?
Thank Frederico_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Trading on past reputation?”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

2.75 for a pulled pork roll in my opinion is poor value in Portugal. However, the taste was good. Soup 'Calde Verde' was cold and I mean cold. Service from the chap with the dread locks was very good. Very good atmosphere, even though it was cold and wet. Wine was also dear for what it was. Though completely different in locations it had a similar feel to the place in the market in Florence, which If I remember was called Nabonne. You can see this place has been good, but maybe trading on its reputation. The roll should have been more than it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QualityFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty and cheap”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

It's a simple and cheap restaurant that surprisingly offers food of a great quality. We took legume soup, pork with rice, salads, and everything tasted like a home-made Portuguese dishes. The pork was really exceptional, the best we tried in Portugal.
The service was friendly and fast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abre_a_felicidade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Guedes also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Casa Guedes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing