We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice for Porto”
Review of A Casa Formosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Casa Formosa
Ranked #77 of 168 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Unbeatable location, immaculately clean apartment, super friendly hosts, and very professionally run. We only had one night in Porto but the host was wonderfully accommodating, greeting us on arrival and giving us a great overview of how to get the most from less than 24 hours in the city. I would absolutely recommend this apartment to anyone visiting Porto.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EmilyJ716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for A Casa Formosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here in May 2011. The directions given from the airport were spot on and we had someone waiting for us at the apartment to greet us. The location is amazing and the rooms very spacious and clean. We would 110% stay here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I traveled in 2011.

I loved the apartment , loved the decor (retro vibe) very clean and fully equipped.
The location is excellent - right in the heart of everything.
My room: very clean and spacious with a balcony which was great as this brought in the natural light.
The host was very hospitable & very helpful - such a great person to deal with!
If I ever do go back to beautiful Oporto I will definitely stay at A Casa Formosa!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brownwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We stayed in the top floor apartment for a couple of nights in October last year. I was reluctant to write a review as it is one of those places that you want to keep a secret ;) The apartment was absolutely immaculate with everything we could possibly need. The view from the balcony across the perfectly kept garden was wonderful and the location was great. I really cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmaElizabethDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

although a casa formosa is in the midst of a busy and bustling part of town, the apartment is calm, cool and soothing. we only stayed a couple of nights, but would be back in a second and would wholeheartedly recommend this place.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank polishchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

special place
special people
thank you for my amazing New Year stay
so cozy and charming
feeling at home best location and neighborhood

room is exactly as pictured
full of light, very large and comfortable
the bed exceptionally comfortable - very nice to sleep in
the house which was nicely decorated in retro style, is kept very clean every day

hearts and hugs go to Joao and Sara

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We had a real mess finding this place as there are 3 Casa Formosa's listed on Google. It was a non residing owner and the place had a very unlived in feeling. There were no pictures on the walls and altho the beds were comfortable it seemed rather odd to be staying there without a host. Real coffee would be a good thing to have on hand, not instant. We did like the owner tho, he did his best to make our stay pleasant. A huge downside tho is that it cost us 24 Euros to park for a day and a half as there was no parking on the street.

Room Tip: The single bed is fabulous.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champion51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACasaFormosa, Owner at A Casa Formosa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Dear Rita,
sorry for the fact that you didnt have the proper address and waist so much time to find the house.
Although i dont live in the house, i try to make guests stay the more confortable and pleasant possible. Unfortunately, i was not in the city on your stay, and i regret it, because your stay it was not the best.
If you ever come back again, i will make sure you have an unforgettable stay.
Thank you once again.
João

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 108 in Porto
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#44 of 108 in Porto
954 reviews
0.6 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 108 in Porto
785 reviews
0.0 mi away
StayIN Oporto Apartments
StayIN Oporto Apartments
#93 of 244 in Porto
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
In Porto Gallery Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Casa Formosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Formosa

Address: Rua Formosa 433 2 Andar, Porto 4000-253, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £70 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa Formosa. Big, sunny rooms right in the middle of the heart of Oporto waiting for you to enjoy. Fully furnished kitchen for you to feel at home. Two bathrooms in the house, both with shower to shared use. Sunny wide interior terrace. On your doorstep you will find plenty of shops, restaurants, cafes, and some of the best bakeries in town within walking distance. Feel home, here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Casa Formosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing