We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i loved it!”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“i loved it!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

i really loved the hostel
i went alone and the people working there helped me a lot when deciding where to go and looking for information of places i was interested in visiting, they even went with me to have a look at the city during the night.
the rooms were excellent, as well as the other parts of the hostel.
i recomend it to everyone, if you go alone or in groups.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaroSanchezPanizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    43
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
113
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The most luxurious hostel I´ve been to! Very friendly and helpful staff, brand new and super clean facilities, located in a quiet street! Just great!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnikaPleov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Looks: The hostel is decorated amazingly. You walk into what looks like a trendy art gallery. The rooms are big, windows are large, and the place is spotless.
Management: The guys running this place are first class. They helped us make the most of our time, took us all for drinks, and cooked unbelievable dinners for equally unbelievable prices. As professional as it gets.
Ambiance: At full capacity this hotel is popping at night full of people streaming in and out. It will never be a crazy party, but its not meant to be either. It has a karaoke room, projection screen, bar, kitchen, and lounge area for some good fun.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rdrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The hostel was suggested by a friend of mine and it is totally worth it! The staff is really nice nd the place is just magic! I loved the family-run business and every room seems to have a soul. The location is perfect, in the bohemian side of Porto, close to the really small cheap local restaurants and bars. I will come back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungle_ila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights in a double room in the Gallery Hostel.
What should I say: It's been perfect, really.
It is right in the center of Porto. The room was a treat. The staff were friendly.
I would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luftschiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Located In the heart of the downtown, friendly and helpful people!
Brand new hostel with very good taste.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goncalo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Great place! Every room has its own bathroom. Everything looks great and beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArvisA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
967 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#40 of 106 in Porto
741 reviews
1.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Property: Gallery Hostel
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing