We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprising and amazing”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

It is a very nice and cosy hostel. You really feel like home. The staff is very friendly. I really enjoyed the time there. The accomodation price is simply unvelievable

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becapa79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Amazing time spent here, wonderful rooms and it's very quite and near the centre. Suitable both for couple and groups. Very firendly staff and good price per night!!!
I'm going to come back for sure ;D

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissAlexis1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I've been in a few hostels around the world, most of them excellent, but the Gallery Hostel is even better.
Located in the city center, only a few minutes walking to Palácio de Cristal, or Avenida dos Aliados....
The place itself is beautiful, clean, cozy, charming, ...
People working there are amazingly helpful and take really good care of guests, and I mean all of them, from reception, to the bar, to the kitchen... By the way breakfast is very good too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

So, I've written my review on FB but decided to write another one on tripadvisor to tell the world about one of the BEST hostels in the world!!

Love this hostel so much!!! Stayed here for 2 days in July and i didnt want to leave! The hostel was sooo homy and the owners and people working there were soo lovely! Louis, Kiko, Nuno, etc.

The rooms? all very nicely and artistically designed! A great artsy touch!! Kudos to the architect and I think one of the owners mom who helped with the design of the hotel.

Rooms were very clean and modern. Bed was so comfortable and toilet and shower, so clean too. I stayed in a 6-bed girls room with a friend of mine. We had the toilet and shower inside the room (2 toilets and 2 showers).

I really felt at home when staying there! Also because the owners and staff there were so friendly!! As i said, i didnt want to leave!

The location is also very good. Within walking distance to all the major sightseeing areas of Porto. Grocery store just a stone throw away and you can cook at the hostel too. If ur too lazy, there's plenty of nearby cafes and restaurants - one nice cafe was "Favorite" also there's a nice tea house along the road.

Would totally stay here again when visiting Porto and definitely recommend to others! Stay here and experience it yourself!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank de_lavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

i really loved the hostel
i went alone and the people working there helped me a lot when deciding where to go and looking for information of places i was interested in visiting, they even went with me to have a look at the city during the night.
the rooms were excellent, as well as the other parts of the hostel.
i recomend it to everyone, if you go alone or in groups.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroSanchezPanizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The most luxurious hostel I´ve been to! Very friendly and helpful staff, brand new and super clean facilities, located in a quiet street! Just great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnikaPleov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Looks: The hostel is decorated amazingly. You walk into what looks like a trendy art gallery. The rooms are big, windows are large, and the place is spotless.
Management: The guys running this place are first class. They helped us make the most of our time, took us all for drinks, and cooked unbelievable dinners for equally unbelievable prices. As professional as it gets.
Ambiance: At full capacity this hotel is popping at night full of people streaming in and out. It will never be a crazy party, but its not meant to be either. It has a karaoke room, projection screen, bar, kitchen, and lounge area for some good fun.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rdrunner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,090 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 108 in Porto
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 253 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: £17 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. RNAL:30843/AL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing