We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I have ever visited!”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“The best hostel I have ever visited!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel was amazing. On arrival we were given an extensive tour of the hostel and surrounding area. Our room (six bed mixed dorm) was spacious and comfortable with amazing attention to detail. The hostel has everything you could possibly need and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Definitely make time to do the hostels free walking tour of the city and their walking tour of the local art district, we really enjoyed these.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emily r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Emily R,

Thank you for time on writing your kind review.

We believe that every guest should feel home when they first walk in the Gallery Hostel. This is why we take everyone on a tour of the property and make our best to explain each guest about Porto.

We all hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    43
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
114
144
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Gallery Hostel at Porto is a beautiful and extremely comfortable place to stay. The staff are really friendly and helpful, and the location is quite convenient. I absolutely loved it, highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiciousA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear DelhiciousA,

Thank you very much for your precious time on writing this great review.
We are all very glad to hear you felt welcomed and taken care of by us staff.

Don't hesitate to come back soon :)!

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettingen, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Everything was really excellent. Big and clean rooms, but the most amazed was the common rooms. All of them were cozy and stylish. I have stayed in hotels that can not even reach the quality of this hostel. Staff was really friendly and nice, especially Luis, who was always there from our after-midnight return from the bars of Porto serving us the last drink always with smile. I enjoyed Porto, but while I was leaving, I was thinking that I'll definitely coming back, only just because of the hostel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnastasiaSk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Anastasia,

It is with great pleasure I read your genuine review. Everyone from staff feels honored by your great compliments.

You can be assured that we will keep up with the good work so next time you come, you'll feel the same way :)!

Best regards,
Adriano Mineiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

This hostel is by far the best I have ever stayed in! From the get go the staff are so welcoming and make you feel at home. The location is perfect in the funky art district of porto! The rooms are modern with excellent facilities. The common rooms are great to chill out in. Breakfast is exceptional! The dinners at the hostel are well worth joining in on. I was there for the monthly Fado night, a great night of music met some awesome people! Overall... Porto was the best city I visited during my European travels, and this was by far the best place to stay! Thank you everyone at gallery hostel, I will be back definitely!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Ashton,

I want to thank you very much for your kind words and time on writing your review.
We are all very proud to hear you had such a great experience and also that you take Porto in your heart :)!

It is a pleasure to have contributed on highlighting your journey in Europe.
We will be around when you come back to Porto.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice place! Felt just like home. The staff is very good! The place is clean and cosy. The tourist guides are very friendly, specially Pepe! Should take a trip to the Douro river!! And spend some time drinking Porto Wine in the hostel, listening to some good music! Nice play list they have.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The staff, location, building, rooms, bathrooms, service, atmosphere, meals, the list of things that make this place great could go on and on. I would dare to say this is one of the best hostels that I have stayed in. A wonderful city, country and people top off the whole experience. The only thing you will regret is not making a reservation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My favourite hostel in the world, Gallery Hostel is a must for those staying in Porto. Staff, location, FOOD, atmosphere... nothing disappointed me about this hostel. Would probably go back to Porto just to revisit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyJamesH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
968 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#40 of 106 in Porto
743 reviews
1.6 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 106 in Porto
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Property: Gallery Hostel
Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing