We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
497
59
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
59
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree walking tourcinema roommeet other guestsbed dormfemale dormdeluxe suitedouro valleycleaned dailycommon areasroof terracewould definitely stay here againgreat facilitiesstayed longervisiting portodecent breakfastbeautiful buildinggreat recommendations
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a fantastic hostel! It is clean, welcoming, well-located and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Remember to join them for dinner at night. I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your time on writing your feedback about your stay.

Those kind words are really important to us. We all hope to see you again soon !
Stay well.

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a private room in March. The staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Without restaurant tips, our food experience could've very well been a bust! The decoration of the hostel was really cool. Breakfast was very nice, with a selection of cakes, toast, and eggs. They also offer dinner for €10, which I found pretty mediocre. Unfortunately the bed was like sleeping on a rock and I had neck pain for days. Also, the room hadn't been cleaned and I was constantly sneezing from the dustiness. I really wanted to give more stars because of how friendly and helpful they were, but the cleanliness and bed comfort level were really unacceptable.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank palypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Maria,

Thank you for your time on writing your feedback about your stay at the Gallery Hostel.
We are all very pleased on knowing that us staff were up to your genuine satisfaction standards. Such positive review is what drives us to constantly improve and exceed each guest’s expectations. Little details in the decoration and on the breakfast service can make the difference, but the service provided by the staff is what distinguishes us.

Let us express how disappointed we are to know we missed to recommend you to local and traditional restaurants. This is something that troubles us and we do apologize for that since it shouldn't have happened because it is part of our welcoming to EVERY guest… it comes along with introducing you to Porto. We are making sure to reinforce that.

We are honestly sorry that you were disappointed with the dinners… in fact you are the very first guest with such review. Our dinners are claimed to be one of the best meals people had, and the proof is the GREAT reviews about them all over the internet!!! Plus, I can guarantee you that for the price you paid, you will not find such heartily and complete meal, with a variety of starters, main course and dessert followed by good wine!

Last but not least, I am very concerned about the cleanliness in your room… if there is anything we are always on top is the maintenance and cleanliness of not only the bedrooms but also the common areas. If you only had told us about your concerns, we would definitely follow up and make sure everything was in a 200% cleaning condition. Added to that, when you mention the comfort of the mattresses, unfortunately we cannot please everyone: the mattresses were carefully chosen with properties to meet the average people’s comfort level, hygiene and allergies.

Again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. All your observations and claims were of great importance and we remain most apologetic for what you felt not being right.

We all hope to welcome you back and show you our commitment to exceptional quality and service.
Best regards,

Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

this hostel was amazing, at arrival you get a tour of the hostel and every bit of the hotel is just astonishing. The bar is perfect, the lounge, the lodge, the library, the dinner room with really good breakfast (I didn't try the dinner, but there is also a possibility to eat there), the rooms are very clean, and the stuff is really helpful, even in the middle of the night they came to our room and fixed our heating which was not working properly. The 1 hour city tour organised by the hotel was really informative and a perfect first overview over the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Manager at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Camyturtle,

Thank you very much for your kind words.It is with great pleasure we all read your nice comments about your experience at the Gallery Hostel.

We hope to welcome you back whenever you return to Porto.
Regards,

Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have not expected very much honestly, but this is such a lovely hotel, very friendly and familiar atmosphere. The common dinners for the hotel guests are amazing, sitting around
a big table, all ages, open minded travellers enjoying good food together, a very nice concept
of the owners. We will come again for sure if we visit Porto again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Oliver,

We want to thank you for your time on sharing your experience at the Gallery Hostel.
It is with great satisfaction we get to know that you have had a great time with us… it helps us on continuing to offer such experiences.

We will be delighted to welcoming you again during your next trip to Porto.

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Absolutely loved this hostel! Right from the start the staff were super friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The free walking yours of Porto and the art district were also fabulous. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and cool, even with 6 beds it was not crowded at all. The place was also very clean. Common areas were great too, it is always fine to just have a chill out down there and the staff are always up for a chat. Would really recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Porto!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chjb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Chjb123,

Thank you so much for your great review about your whole experience at the Gallery Hostel.
It is a pleasure to read such review. It helps us to keep the good work :)!

Please come again soon and experience Porto by Summer!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews