We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and lovely!”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I loved this hostel!! It was amazing. The staff remembered my name and would introduce new hostel goers to me as they showed them around the hostel. The staff helped me put many times and were extremely helpful with lots of tips!

The Hostel is extremely clean. The amenities are awesome! I worked my way through there port list at the bar but they don't mind you drinking your own wine (which I did more then once in the movie room).

The other hostel goers were friendly, respectful and quiet. Met many people over breakfast in the morning which had scrambled eggs and fruit salad.

All in all one of the best hostels I have been too. It's also an art gallery and amazing inside. Great location too!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sparklylouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Sparklylouise,

It was a pleasure to read your review about the overall experience at the Gallery Hostel… it made us all very happy to know you felt welcomed here!

Our location is indeed very special… in the Art District, a “corner” away from the Historical Centre and on a quiet street.

Please let us know if you’re thinking of coming again to Porto… We will be delighted to welcome you again in a near future!

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Gallery Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The interiors were beautiful, they had a lounge, a big screen movie room, a library/working space, a cozy kitchen and some outdoor areas.
They had a common 3 course dinner every night, at a very cheap price. Unfortunately we only stayed for three nights and didn't get the time to try it.
I stayed in an 8-bed dorm, but it felt luxurious even still. It was spacious and classy, with a big bathroom with two toilets and two showers, and there were big lockable cabinets for our stuff.
But the best part were the common areas, I absolutely loved them. Wish I could stay for longer!

Room Tip: 8-bed dorms are fine too! Spacious and wasn't fully occupied.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for such detailed review about our facilities and services :).

We are also glad to know you enjoy the great space on your 6-bed dorm (we don’t have 8-beds yet) and that the common areas were up to your satisfaction.

We will be waiting for your return.
Stay well!

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a fantastic hostel! It is clean, welcoming, well-located and the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Remember to join them for dinner at night. I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Karen,

Thank you for your time on writing your feedback about your stay.

Those kind words are really important to us. We all hope to see you again soon !
Stay well.

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a private room in March. The staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Without restaurant tips, our food experience could've very well been a bust! The decoration of the hostel was really cool. Breakfast was very nice, with a selection of cakes, toast, and eggs. They also offer dinner for €10, which I found pretty mediocre. Unfortunately the bed was like sleeping on a rock and I had neck pain for days. Also, the room hadn't been cleaned and I was constantly sneezing from the dustiness. I really wanted to give more stars because of how friendly and helpful they were, but the cleanliness and bed comfort level were really unacceptable.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank palypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Maria,

Thank you for your time on writing your feedback about your stay at the Gallery Hostel.
We are all very pleased on knowing that us staff were up to your genuine satisfaction standards. Such positive review is what drives us to constantly improve and exceed each guest’s expectations. Little details in the decoration and on the breakfast service can make the difference, but the service provided by the staff is what distinguishes us.

Let us express how disappointed we are to know we missed to recommend you to local and traditional restaurants. This is something that troubles us and we do apologize for that since it shouldn't have happened because it is part of our welcoming to EVERY guest… it comes along with introducing you to Porto. We are making sure to reinforce that.

We are honestly sorry that you were disappointed with the dinners… in fact you are the very first guest with such review. Our dinners are claimed to be one of the best meals people had, and the proof is the GREAT reviews about them all over the internet!!! Plus, I can guarantee you that for the price you paid, you will not find such heartily and complete meal, with a variety of starters, main course and dessert followed by good wine!

Last but not least, I am very concerned about the cleanliness in your room… if there is anything we are always on top is the maintenance and cleanliness of not only the bedrooms but also the common areas. If you only had told us about your concerns, we would definitely follow up and make sure everything was in a 200% cleaning condition. Added to that, when you mention the comfort of the mattresses, unfortunately we cannot please everyone: the mattresses were carefully chosen with properties to meet the average people’s comfort level, hygiene and allergies.

Again, thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. All your observations and claims were of great importance and we remain most apologetic for what you felt not being right.

We all hope to welcome you back and show you our commitment to exceptional quality and service.
Best regards,

Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

this hostel was amazing, at arrival you get a tour of the hostel and every bit of the hotel is just astonishing. The bar is perfect, the lounge, the lodge, the library, the dinner room with really good breakfast (I didn't try the dinner, but there is also a possibility to eat there), the rooms are very clean, and the stuff is really helpful, even in the middle of the night they came to our room and fixed our heating which was not working properly. The 1 hour city tour organised by the hotel was really informative and a perfect first overview over the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camyturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Manager at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Camyturtle,

Thank you very much for your kind words.It is with great pleasure we all read your nice comments about your experience at the Gallery Hostel.

We hope to welcome you back whenever you return to Porto.
Regards,

Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have not expected very much honestly, but this is such a lovely hotel, very friendly and familiar atmosphere. The common dinners for the hotel guests are amazing, sitting around
a big table, all ages, open minded travellers enjoying good food together, a very nice concept
of the owners. We will come again for sure if we visit Porto again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Oliver,

We want to thank you for your time on sharing your experience at the Gallery Hostel.
It is with great satisfaction we get to know that you have had a great time with us… it helps us on continuing to offer such experiences.

We will be delighted to welcoming you again during your next trip to Porto.

Regards,
Adriano Mineiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Absolutely loved this hostel! Right from the start the staff were super friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The free walking yours of Porto and the art district were also fabulous. The rooms were beautiful, spacious and cool, even with 6 beds it was not crowded at all. The place was also very clean. Common areas were great too, it is always fine to just have a chill out down there and the staff are always up for a chat. Would really recommend this hostel to anyone visiting Porto!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chjb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NunoGH, Gerente at Gallery Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Chjb123,

Thank you so much for your great review about your whole experience at the Gallery Hostel.
It is a pleasure to read such review. It helps us to keep the good work :)!

Please come again soon and experience Porto by Summer!
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.7 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 108 in Porto
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 244 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: £29 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. RNAL:30843/AL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing