We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of Hotwire representing this as an unnamed four-star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solar Residencial S. Gabriel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Solar Residencial S. Gabriel
Ranked #83 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
“Beware of Hotwire representing this as an unnamed four-star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have nothing against this hotel or its staff. It is a two-star hotel at a two star price. It was probably quite a nice hotel in the 1960's but very little seems to have been done to maintain it in at least a decade.

That being said, staying in this hotel almost ruined a romantic get-away for my girlfriend and I because we booked it through Hotwire. If Hotwire had listed the name of the hotel instead of representing it as a four-star hotel with a deep discount based on an inflated base rate, we would at least have known what we were getting for our money. Unfortunately, we thought we were getting a four star hotel and we got a two-star hotel. What’s even more disgusting is that Hotwire continued to do this weeks after our complaints should have brought it to their attention.

The staff were helpful and friendly, pointing out the best places to shop nearby and that the area was safe...but that we should be careful of the prostitutes who come out at night just one street below the hotel...and that we'd be ok "just don't touch." It was a cute conversation. :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Deanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    21
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
11
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Simple hotel with great location, free parking, good breakfast, free wifi, clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Of course it is not brand new but for the price we paid we thought it was very good value. We would definitely stay again in this hotel when we come back to Porto!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philibert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is an old building in a very old town! and the rooms are smallish cause they were buildt that way 100 years ago! BUT! our room was clean and very SECURE ! the facilities WORKED well for us! the staff were HELPFUL! the breakfast was INCLUDED and filling ! the parking was INCLUDED and SAFE ! the elevator worked ! the bed and linen were CLEAN ! we had a street view of a busy area but it was comfortably QUITE !
AND it's LOCATION is GREAT!!! 1-10 minute walk to sights, sounds, food, shopping, and ALL city transports! my wife and i spend our time out seeing things not in the room. >> WIFI good.>>Internet Available>>TV w/english channels>>English spoken
heating and cooling worked and quite

Room Tip: has been renovated alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RUSTIC-AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

How Expedia could class this hovel as 4 star is beyond us Prisoners at Wormwood Scrubs would riot at the conditions The toilet system was the like I've never seen which wouldn't have been so bad had it worked I spent 30mins one night making sure it was clear The rooms are dark, dank and dusty with the doors & walls coming apart as shown in photos No wonder Expedia used it as a secret destination 2 customers now lost Also the shame was that it tainted our visit to Porto a vibrant & lovely city

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is an old building, which has seen better time in the past. The location is good, but rooms are small and not so much comfortable (our room smell of cigarette). We spent for a double room 42 euros per night.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukasF1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just come back from a couple of days in Porto and stayed here – what a mess the so called hotel is in the only way that this was a 4 start was when it was built probably 30 odd years ago.
The room were disgusting. Dirty carpet, the ceiling starting to come down and large chips all over the bath and tiles and bathroom door big parts missing.
Booked it via HOTWIRE as a special 4 start deal – yep right in their dreams be warned.
Only thing on the plus side was that the staffs were nice and friendly and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moviestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#65 of 103 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
0.7 mi away
Residencial Rex
Residencial Rex
#77 of 103 in Porto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#84 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#90 of 103 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albergaria Residencia do Vice-Rei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Residencial S. Gabriel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Residencial S. Gabriel

Property: Solar Residencial S. Gabriel
Address: Rua da Alegria 98, Porto 4000-033, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Solar Residencial S. Gabriel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Solar Residencial S. Gabriel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing