We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencial Faria Guimaraes
Ranked #122 of 167 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Small, double room, single use. The room has everything one might need for a comfortable stay: Double bed, good mattress-pillows, small flat-screen tv, fan, fast internet connection and everything is clean. The shower and toilet might be odd but are clean and more than enough for a budget hotel. This room is located on the 2nd floor and the property informs about its size when booking. They also show pictures of this room in different web pages (do not show just the best-looking rooms). Has a small window overlooking the backyard, not a beautiful view but let fresh air in, which is great in August¡ Good location, you can walk to the centre or take the underground nearby.
And more for a budget hotel (not featured): Coffee machine and fridge for free¡ I payed 25.65€ for 1 night in August and booking just 1 day in advance. It was fully booked and I had to move to another hotel for the rest of my stay in Oporto. Miss Céu (Reception) is very helpful and I was greeted with a bottle of Porto wine.

Room Tip: The road is not very busy. The only noise I suffered was from the guests next door.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAngeles1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Residencial Faria Guimaraes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Good location - not far from the metro station and the city centre (available on foot). The hotel staff nice though at first might give the impression of unkind. The rooms spacious and tidy with comfortable bed, desk, chair, TV set, fridge, kettle (coffe and tea bags for free). Bathroom with shower separate from the toilet in each room which is a good option. At the end of our stay we were gifted a small bottle of Porto wine by the hotel keeper. There is a shop just nearby and a traditional Portuguese restaurant just next door (good but quite greasy food is offerred there)The only inconveniance was that each time we came back we had to ring the bell and wait for the receptionist to open the door (uncomfortable especially at night).

Room Tip: All rooms have the same standard.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

For the price it is ok, confortable and clean,
The room was too small, but the worse was the toilet... really really small, and I am a tiny girl.
I did not like the staff, noisy and not nice.
I couldn't rest as much as I wanted but ... It was just for one night...

Room Tip: Try to avoid the small ones
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The hotel is just 1 minute from Faria Guimaraes metro station, 3-4 stations from the old city centre (Ribeira). It's not easy to find, as the building are numbered randomly (it seems so). Just go uphill from the Faria Guimaraes station and you'll find it on your left-hand side.

The room was clean and well-equipped (en-suite bathroom with toiletries, double bed, TV, A/C). Staff was very friendly and helpful, we were even offered free bottle of delicious Porto wine. Given very reasonable price and great location, I wouldn't think twice before staying again in that hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

The price and location is perfect. Subway really close by. Presence of the staff was very poor. Everytime we came to the hotel we had to ring a bell and had to wait until somebody would come from another house in the street. Small rooms, but clean. Shower was ok. No breakfast included.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This is a small hotel, with charming rooms. The rooms are colorful and cheerful. The manager was a lively cheerful woman, great fun. Breakfast is nice. The location is good, near a metro stop, and only about twenty minutes walk to town center. The only negative is that rooms in the front are noisy during the day from traffic but quiet at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: não conheci
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana Stela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Residencial Porto Rico
Residencial Porto Rico
#120 of 167 in Porto
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residencial Sol da Nave
Residencial Sol da Nave
#67 of 167 in Porto
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dear Porto Guest House
Dear Porto Guest House
#49 of 167 in Porto
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Porto Alive Hostel
Porto Alive Hostel
#84 of 244 in Porto
70 reviews
1.0 mi away
Magnolia Porto Hostel
Magnolia Porto Hostel
#67 of 244 in Porto
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
CoolHostel
CoolHostel
#100 of 244 in Porto
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Faria Guimaraes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Faria Guimaraes

Address: Rua de Faria Guimaraes No. 179 | Santo Ildefonse, Porto 4000-206, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £34 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Faria Guimaraes 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residencial Faria Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing