We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best apartment EVER!!”
Review of Casa dos Guindais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa dos Guindais
Ranked #15 of 171 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

What a great spot, very traditional design and close to everything. Alvaro was great and spent 1/2 hour telling us about all the best local spots. I'm gogin back next with my wife it was so nice.
The rooms had a little balcony and the shower was located in the old 'long drop' toilet which was fun. Porto now my favourite city in Portugal.

Room Tip: Crystal is great with friends as you can open a door and share as 2 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013

This past October we stayed at the Casa dos Guindais for four nights having made our reservation based on Trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed and loved our stay.

Alvaro, the owner of this property has done a tremendous job of refurbishing a 200 year old structure and making it into a beautiful accommodation. He was also extremely helpful in all regards and made us feel at home. The welcome carafe of Port on the small dining table was a pleasant surprise.

We stayed in the Cristal room which is on the main floor. The room was excellent, including the bed. It was nice to have the studio kitchen even if we only used it only for the refrigerator and to make coffee (provided). The bathroom and separate shower were clean and modern. There is a small, standing room only, balcony overlooking the garden. We were quite comfortable and had no complaints.

The location is excellent - in walking distance to the Praca da Bataltia, shopping, the Se’ and pastry shops. A bit further, but still within walking distance is the Metro and the Sao Bento Train Station. We walked from the train station pulling a couple of large suitcases and did not have a problem except for the cobblestones for the last 100 yards or so.

If you want to walk down to the river from the Casa, you just turn left after going out the door. We were told it was about 1,200 steps up and down, so we chose to take the Funicular which is about a block away. This is a nice, inexpensive way to and from the river and the view is excellent.

There is no sign for the Casa, so you just have to look for the number on the door. We missed this in our instructions, but figured out our error quickly.

We will definitely try to stay here again when we return to Porto.

Room Tip: The Cristal Room is on the main floor with just one or two steps, while the other rooms are on the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

A beautifully centennial home superbly renovated, with great taste and feel for tradition, with all the modern comforts. The room (Douro) was superb, imaculate and cosy.

Within walking distance to all the must see places, including Ribeira, the port wine cellars just accross the bridge and the subway, we left the car parked most of the time allowing for an awsome three days close-in visit to Porto.

Álvaro was impecable and always available, making us feel at home from the get go. We look forward to come again, and most definitely will stay here next time.

Room Tip: We stayed at Douro, and loved it. Good view of the garden and opposite river bank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed in an apartment in Porto a few days ago, at Casa dos Guindais, a very old building which has been beautifully renovated. It is also very comfortable and close to all the places of interest for tourists, with a great view and handy to a Metro station and tourist info.
We had an apartment which could be divided into two rooms, so that two or three people could share and have some privacy. There is also a bathroom and kitchenette. (Regarding the review about the smell: we certainly did not notice any bad smell in the building. In fact, we thought it had a very pleasant smell as you walk in the door.)


Alvaro was very welcoming and gave us a list with a map which he used to mark where there were good restaurants. We went to several of these and found them to be excellent. As we were staying for 5 days, someone came in on the third day and cleaned; so nice to come back to an apartment that's been perfectly cleaned and restored to order.
Alvaro very kindly organised an early morning taxi on the day we were leaving as we weren't sure how to order one by phone.
I would definitely recommend this accommodation and give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: The room we had at the top is perfect for travellers who want a bit of privacy because of the abilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiegypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Probably the best place in Porto. Very nice rooms, excellent fornitures, very clean and well managed. The owner is very helpfull with usefull advices, and kind. A very good spot for kids too, the kitchen allow some independence and there is everything you need. it is also in a very good location for visiting the city and the Porto cellars on the other side of the river. You will not regret it, on contrary you will remember and keep it into your heart

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms upstairs for a better view or for the Pateo room for your own pateo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 415Manuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were excited to stay at this property after reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, however our stay in the ‘Pateo’ room did not live up to expectations and it is with regret I can only give 3 out of 5 for this stay.

I want to leave a fair review without focusing on just the negatives. Therefore I will start with the positives first:

PROS

Location – superb. In a residential street with bags of character, superb view from the front and right outside the old city walls. 5 minute walk to the river, cathedral and Metro station.

Welcome - There is no sign at the door, it is simple No.72 and knock. The owner greeted us warmly and was so helpful providing us with maps, leaflets and a list of recommended restaurants. Fantastic.

The property overall is great, nice garden, old meets new, coffee, port, olive oil and vinegar, washing up liquid, tea towels, port and bathroom amenities all provided for free.

CONS

We stayed in the Pateo room, and immediately on entering we noticed a fairly bad smell but thought it just hadn’t been opened up for a while so we aired it, then went out. On return the smell was awful. We thought it was a damp issue and contacted the owner. He assured us it was down to new silicone sealant being applied recently. However after a few nights we knew it couldn’t just be that. The bathroom , despite having an extractor fan (which we left on all the time), never dried out after a shower and smells musty. The fan is nowhere near powerful enough to remove the moist air. The pillows on the bed are actually damp to the touch where they have been against the wall and there is green moss on the bottom of the wall next to the bed. This is not good given it isn’t even winter yet. The wall needs to be damp proofed or sealed properly.

Noise. There is no sound proofing between the floors, just floorboards. Therefore when upstairs are in, you know about it. We didn’t have particularly noisy neighbours but you hear every footstep, toilet flush, pin drop on the floor and this disturbed our sleep. The owner did tell us we may hear upstairs when we arrived. Wish I knew that sooner as I am a light sleeper.

I would stay here, but not in the Pateo room unless it is improved. The top floor however would no doubt not have any of the issues we experienced so maybe that is the one to go for? I appreciate it is an old building but I think they should have traded some of the period features for making sure the room is properly ventilated, dry and insulated against sound.

Room Tip: Top floor looks the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guindais, Owner at Casa dos Guindais, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for the good points,we really work hard to provide a top service to our guests. It is the first time someone remarked the silicon odor ,but we took some action to solve the problem.It is the only studio we used this technique.The wheather in Porto can be very humid at times,being close to the coast,and when these days occur it not uncommon for any bathroom not to dry ,if you keep wet towels inside.Perhaps we will provide a hot towel rail ..
In an effort to continuing to serve our guests ,we remind that our house is all non smoking space,due to a number of reasons,but specially a very dangerous fire hazard when you have wood floors and ceilings,in fact ,the material used and approved in World heritage UNESCO protected old town centers as the location of our BB.
Sicerely
Álvaro Aguiar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed back in June for 3 night's and couldn't have picked a better place for our base in Porto during our trip. The owner, Álvaro, was an incredible host and went the extra mile to ensure we had a pleasant stay. The rooms are very well designed and have everything you need. Cosy, stylish and functional. We'll definitely be back if we are ever in Porto again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 109 in Porto
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 109 in Porto
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#8 of 171 in Porto
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
1872 River House
1872 River House
#5 of 171 in Porto
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
6Only Guest House
6Only Guest House
#10 of 171 in Porto
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Guindais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Guindais

Address: Rua Arnaldo Gama 72, Porto 4000-094, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £64 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa dos Guindais is a XVIII century house, located in the historic center of Oporto, world heritage protected by Unesco near by the Ferdinand Wall, the Cathedral and funicular elevator. The materials used are noble and respect the rules of conservation of historic buildings in the city - Wood, Glass, Iron and Granite. It is composed of 5 independent studio apartments equipped with everything that is essential to make guests feel at home. Details like extra thick doors and windows guarantee both comfort and safety. The rooms have two twin beds, bathroom, kitchenette and access to a romantic garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing