We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa dos Guindais
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
233
62
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
62
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend casasimple mealelegant designmodern kitchenettegreat restaurants and cafescommunal gardenstone wallsthe riverhelpful ownermain bridgecomplimentary portcharming buildingtrain journeywalking routesuseful tipsdom luiswarm hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed two nights in this beautiful apartment which is located centrally in Porto very close to the Cathedral. The warm welcome we received from Alvaro on arrival particularly made this trip to Porto very memorable. The room was warm, clean and spacious and the port taster was particularly welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairef087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We located this property by Internet & TripAdvsor for our 6 night stay & were not disappointed. The descriptions & photographs on line are accurate, the location could not be better. Host Alvaro is delightful, helpful & discrete. His restaurant & activity suggestions were excellent, especially BLUE bus not yellow, Ramos Pinto for the port tasting (take your own bread & cheese), the gardens @ Palacio de Cristal, & dinner at 17 bar & restaurant, Hotel Dom Henrique (see my review on Trip Advisor). And the Hot Five Jazz & Blues Club is 50m away - fab. We selected the Duoro apartment on the upper level, which is fabulous but the balcony is small - perhaps a ground floor unit with private courtyard & direct garden access would have been better. The twin king singles are spacious, but perhaps a little firm. A little extra shelf & hanging space would be good for a 6 night stay. 53 euros per night was great value. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony or courtyard as above
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

we stayed for 2 nights at this apartment and it was excellent. The location was very central - near the funicular and 10 minutes walk from the Ribeira district, and not much more to Gaia. on a quiet side street in an old renovated building but with very stylish modern details. Room was very clean and comfortable with a welcome glass of port. We were welcomed by Alvaro the owner who was very welcoming and gave us great tips on where to go and what to see.
We could not have asked for a better base from which to explore Oporto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landcruiser_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We've been staying in Casa dos Guindais for two nights in Mid March. Right at the beginning Alvaro welcomed us very warm & he showed us his world behind the blue door, which amazed us a lot. We were very surprised to see, how an old house like this can be put in value again, combining the old stone structure with a stylish & cozy design. It was a pleasure to experience this. The garden is simple, but elegant landscaped with an old Camellia tree which excited us with its beautiful rosa flowers.
The information given by Alvaro at the beginning were very useful & helped us to plan our Porto visit even better.
The location of the house is very good. You can easily reach Douro or the center by foot within only a few minutes.
Our room, "The Tunel" was next to a quite & narrow street. The nights were very quiet. The interior looks like being brand new. Everything is very very clean - bed, towels, bathroom, kitchen. The kitchen is equipped with everything that somebody might need for cooking a small dinner & for breakfast anyways. You also have water, coffee, tea & even some tasty port wine ;-)

Thank you Alvaro for the nice stay! It will remain for us a very nice memory & we will definitely recommend it to our friends. In case/When we will come back to Porto - we already know where to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O_und_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Casa dos Guindais and we LOVED it. We saw pictures of what the house looked like before Alvaro and his wife renovated it a couple of years ago and i can only say: it must take an enormous enthusiasm and a real vision (and lots of money) to change the face of a house from what it looked like back then to today. If i could afford it, i would love to live my whole life in a hose like Casa dos Guindais and that is why we did not feel as guests but instantly at home. Alvaro is a great host and gave us not only a warm welcome but also a very nice tour around the house and the beautiful garden. After that he gave us a quick insight into where to go, where to eat and what to see in Porto and I can only say every single recommendation was perfect.
We loved Porto but even more we loved the time in Casa dos Guindais so that we stayed in several times instead of going out for dinner or a walk just to enjoy the quiet and relaxing athmosphere of the house.
Thank you Alvaro for the gorgeous 4 days in your house. If we come back to Porto we will not hesitate one single second to come back to your house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R-Prager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews