We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!”
Review of Casa dos Guindais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa dos Guindais
Ranked #10 of 168 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A wonderful guesthouse, in a prime location, in a beautiful city! We loved our visit to Porto and it was only enhanced by the charm of Casa dos Guindais. Alvaro was a welcoming host and, although not always on site, was highly responsive to any inquiry sent by text during our stay. We stayed in the Douro room which had a balcony with a view across the the river. The room was cozy and modern with the beautiful old stone work adding character to the decor. A delicious decanter of port waiting for us in the room was a welcomed treat! The location was perfect. We walked in all directions and were pleasantly surprised by what we discovered each day as we explored this amazingly beautiful city. The Sao Beneto train station was an easy 5 minute walk which made catching the train to the Douro Valley for the 2nd part of our holiday incredibly easy. We were most impressed by the warmth and hospitality of the people of Porto...genuinely lovely. We were lucky to be there during the Sao Joao festival which was a ton of fun and a cultural delight...an experience we will not soon forget! The Hot Five Jazz Club is steps away from the guest house and well worth a visit for a night of great music and drinks. Alvaro's suggestion to dine at Ode was spot on...so good we went twice and would enthusiastically recommend! All in all it was a wonderful holiday with many special moments! We look forward to returning to Porto and Casa dos Guindas.

Room Tip: The Escadas Room is the most spacious with a lovey view from the windows to the bridge. The Douros R...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Casa dos Guindais
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

The images on their website are accurate—no funny angles or cutting out of lesser corners. It is an impeccable space remodeled with great class. We stayed in the Estrada room and were more than happy. It was terrifically spacious, airy and bright. There was a little carafe of port wine to welcome us. Although there is a great little kitchenette in the studio, we didn't use it much, preferring to check out the dining scene. The location is great—very close to many hot spots on the classic tourist list, and yet on a quieter little street. You feel like you are more part of the city of Porto than just visiting. There is a wonderful balance between new and modern and the classic and historical elements. The owners clearly love this space very much, and are very connected to its history.


Álvaro was a great host. He took time and care to speak about the house and the city of Porto. He is clearly very fond of both. He gave us some great restaurant recommendations and walked us through the must-sees in the city (this is basically the whole city, so bring good walking shoes). He is very responsive via email, so, although there is no one on site to address questions or concerns, you feel that he is there nonetheless. We ended up arriving much later than anticipated, surely putting a dent in his day, but he was welcoming and friendly and understanding, seeming just excited to get us settled in and show us around.

there is no question—if you have the opportunity to stay here, do it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a completely unique building in a wonderful location. The restoration has been carried out so beautifully, with exposed stone walls set against cool clean cotton and elegant furnishings. The little kitchen has everything you could need, even though we spent most of our time checking out the warren of streets around the area, and dining out on delicious seafood. We only stayed here for a few days, but it very quickly started to feel like home. Alvaro, the convivial and warm host, spent quite a bit of time with us on our arrival, showing us the best places to eat and highlighting little trips in the area we may like to include during our visit. We loved the location, minutes from the more commercial shopping streets in one direction, a stones throw from the funicular to take you down the hill to the extraordinary Dom Luis bridge and farther on to Gaia in the other direction. There is a delicious bakery a couple of minutes away which became our regular breakfast spot.
This is a fascinating city which really surpassed all our expectations. We would absolutely stay at Casa dos Guindais again if we are lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Escadas. It has to have one of the best views from any window in the world! If you have...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed two nights in this beautiful apartment which is located centrally in Porto very close to the Cathedral. The warm welcome we received from Alvaro on arrival particularly made this trip to Porto very memorable. The room was warm, clean and spacious and the port taster was particularly welcomed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairef087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We located this property by Internet & TripAdvsor for our 6 night stay & were not disappointed. The descriptions & photographs on line are accurate, the location could not be better. Host Alvaro is delightful, helpful & discrete. His restaurant & activity suggestions were excellent, especially BLUE bus not yellow, Ramos Pinto for the port tasting (take your own bread & cheese), the gardens @ Palacio de Cristal, & dinner at 17 bar & restaurant, Hotel Dom Henrique (see my review on Trip Advisor). And the Hot Five Jazz & Blues Club is 50m away - fab. We selected the Duoro apartment on the upper level, which is fabulous but the balcony is small - perhaps a ground floor unit with private courtyard & direct garden access would have been better. The twin king singles are spacious, but perhaps a little firm. A little extra shelf & hanging space would be good for a 6 night stay. 53 euros per night was great value. I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony or courtyard as above
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

we stayed for 2 nights at this apartment and it was excellent. The location was very central - near the funicular and 10 minutes walk from the Ribeira district, and not much more to Gaia. on a quiet side street in an old renovated building but with very stylish modern details. Room was very clean and comfortable with a welcome glass of port. We were welcomed by Alvaro the owner who was very welcoming and gave us great tips on where to go and what to see.
We could not have asked for a better base from which to explore Oporto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landcruiser_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We've been staying in Casa dos Guindais for two nights in Mid March. Right at the beginning Alvaro welcomed us very warm & he showed us his world behind the blue door, which amazed us a lot. We were very surprised to see, how an old house like this can be put in value again, combining the old stone structure with a stylish & cozy design. It was a pleasure to experience this. The garden is simple, but elegant landscaped with an old Camellia tree which excited us with its beautiful rosa flowers.
The information given by Alvaro at the beginning were very useful & helped us to plan our Porto visit even better.
The location of the house is very good. You can easily reach Douro or the center by foot within only a few minutes.
Our room, "The Tunel" was next to a quite & narrow street. The nights were very quiet. The interior looks like being brand new. Everything is very very clean - bed, towels, bathroom, kitchen. The kitchen is equipped with everything that somebody might need for cooking a small dinner & for breakfast anyways. You also have water, coffee, tea & even some tasty port wine ;-)

Thank you Alvaro for the nice stay! It will remain for us a very nice memory & we will definitely recommend it to our friends. In case/When we will come back to Porto - we already know where to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank O_und_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Guindais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Guindais

Address: Rua Arnaldo Gama 72, Porto 4000-094, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £64 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa dos Guindais is a XVIII century house, located in the historic center of Oporto, world heritage protected by Unesco near by the Ferdinand Wall, the Cathedral and funicular elevator. The materials used are noble and respect the rules of conservation of historic buildings in the city - Wood, Glass, Iron and Granite. It is composed of 5 independent studio apartments equipped with everything that is essential to make guests feel at home. Details like extra thick doors and windows guarantee both comfort and safety. The rooms have two twin beds, bathroom, kitchenette and access to a romantic garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing