We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa dos Guindais
Nearby Hotels
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
239
62
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
62
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend casasimple mealelegant designmodern kitchenettegreat restaurants and cafescommunal gardenstone wallsthe riverhelpful ownermain bridgecomplimentary portcharming buildingtrain journeywalking routesuseful tipsdom luiswarm hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

An old family home beautifully remodeled into guest rooms with high style, and all the conveniences, including a kitchenette. We stayed in the Douro room, under the eaves and with a lovely balcony with view over the bridge. It was a wonderful place to stay in Porto. The Casa is located near the Sé and the Dom Luis I bridge over the Douro and so is a short walk to most of the major sights in Porto. (Plus, it is right at the top of the elevador up from the Ribeiro!) Our stay was enhanced greatly by Alvaro's warm welcome and his excellent advice on places to see and which restaurants to try. We had wonderful meals at all those we tried.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wonderful room really close to everything. The kitchen has all stuff you need to cook. Alvaro was a welcoming host and, although not always on site, this was in the beginning a little bit a language problem, but was doable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxin_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A wonderful guesthouse, in a prime location, in a beautiful city! We loved our visit to Porto and it was only enhanced by the charm of Casa dos Guindais. Alvaro was a welcoming host and, although not always on site, was highly responsive to any inquiry sent by text during our stay. We stayed in the Douro room which had a balcony with a view across the the river. The room was cozy and modern with the beautiful old stone work adding character to the decor. A delicious decanter of port waiting for us in the room was a welcomed treat! The location was perfect. We walked in all directions and were pleasantly surprised by what we discovered each day as we explored this amazingly beautiful city. The Sao Beneto train station was an easy 5 minute walk which made catching the train to the Douro Valley for the 2nd part of our holiday incredibly easy. We were most impressed by the warmth and hospitality of the people of Porto...genuinely lovely. We were lucky to be there during the Sao Joao festival which was a ton of fun and a cultural delight...an experience we will not soon forget! The Hot Five Jazz Club is steps away from the guest house and well worth a visit for a night of great music and drinks. Alvaro's suggestion to dine at Ode was spot on...so good we went twice and would enthusiastically recommend! All in all it was a wonderful holiday with many special moments! We look forward to returning to Porto and Casa dos Guindas.

Room Tip: The Escadas Room is the most spacious with a lovey view from the windows to the bridge. The Douros Room has a balcony overlooking the gardens and partial view across the river. We'd stay in the Escadas room if we were to return for the extra space & comfort.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The images on their website are accurate—no funny angles or cutting out of lesser corners. It is an impeccable space remodeled with great class. We stayed in the Estrada room and were more than happy. It was terrifically spacious, airy and bright. There was a little carafe of port wine to welcome us. Although there is a great little kitchenette in the studio, we didn't use it much, preferring to check out the dining scene. The location is great—very close to many hot spots on the classic tourist list, and yet on a quieter little street. You feel like you are more part of the city of Porto than just visiting. There is a wonderful balance between new and modern and the classic and historical elements. The owners clearly love this space very much, and are very connected to its history.


Álvaro was a great host. He took time and care to speak about the house and the city of Porto. He is clearly very fond of both. He gave us some great restaurant recommendations and walked us through the must-sees in the city (this is basically the whole city, so bring good walking shoes). He is very responsive via email, so, although there is no one on site to address questions or concerns, you feel that he is there nonetheless. We ended up arriving much later than anticipated, surely putting a dent in his day, but he was welcoming and friendly and understanding, seeming just excited to get us settled in and show us around.

there is no question—if you have the opportunity to stay here, do it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a completely unique building in a wonderful location. The restoration has been carried out so beautifully, with exposed stone walls set against cool clean cotton and elegant furnishings. The little kitchen has everything you could need, even though we spent most of our time checking out the warren of streets around the area, and dining out on delicious seafood. We only stayed here for a few days, but it very quickly started to feel like home. Alvaro, the convivial and warm host, spent quite a bit of time with us on our arrival, showing us the best places to eat and highlighting little trips in the area we may like to include during our visit. We loved the location, minutes from the more commercial shopping streets in one direction, a stones throw from the funicular to take you down the hill to the extraordinary Dom Luis bridge and farther on to Gaia in the other direction. There is a delicious bakery a couple of minutes away which became our regular breakfast spot.
This is a fascinating city which really surpassed all our expectations. We would absolutely stay at Casa dos Guindais again if we are lucky enough to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Escadas. It has to have one of the best views from any window in the world! If you have even the mildest interest in bridges, you really should stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews