We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect host, Porto”
Review of Casa dos Guindais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa dos Guindais
Ranked #11 of 169 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Casa dos Guindais was really a fantastic find for our two-night stay in Porto, a city we really had no knowledge of. The approach to Casa dos Guindais is spectacular, with views of the Douro and the Dom Luis Bridge, even as it is tucked into a quiet little streetAlthough there is no reception or concierge here, the owner, Alvaro proved the perfect host, guiding us to great restaurants and places to visit. All the little touches to the room also made the welcome particularly special. You could certainly feel the love that had gone into the refurbishment of this old family home. A rare experience, like the city itself.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tunel, which is on the street itself, so you can actually hear passersby quite clearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

The accommodation is indescribably beautiful. When you open the door of the house, you'll be delighted by it. The location is excellent, the rooms are spacious, clean and decorated with a lot of style. In every detail you can feel the effort and the desire to preserve the traditions of the old town, which are well combined with modern details. A lot of natural light, stone, wood and glass. Simply natural. If you are located in Douro room you will have the view at the main bridge of Porto. Nearby accommodation is the funicular that descends to Ribufeira, center of Porto. Also you can park your car right in front of the house for free, and if you want there is car garage nearby. The owner is very pleasant. He will tell you what you need to see and where to eat. At the same time the owner is always available if you have any additional questions or concerns. When we come back in Porto we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ive_i_Snje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful city break in Porto last week. We stayed in the Pateo studio, with the room opening onto a private courtyard, and with immediate access to the garden. A great place to relax in-between enjoying the delights offered by Porto. Excellent jazz bar just around the corner too - a bonus! Many thanks to our host, Alvaro.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenMGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

An old family home beautifully remodeled into guest rooms with high style, and all the conveniences, including a kitchenette. We stayed in the Douro room, under the eaves and with a lovely balcony with view over the bridge. It was a wonderful place to stay in Porto. The Casa is located near the Sé and the Dom Luis I bridge over the Douro and so is a short walk to most of the major sights in Porto. (Plus, it is right at the top of the elevador up from the Ribeiro!) Our stay was enhanced greatly by Alvaro's warm welcome and his excellent advice on places to see and which restaurants to try. We had wonderful meals at all those we tried.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wonderful room really close to everything. The kitchen has all stuff you need to cook. Alvaro was a welcoming host and, although not always on site, this was in the beginning a little bit a language problem, but was doable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxin_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

A wonderful guesthouse, in a prime location, in a beautiful city! We loved our visit to Porto and it was only enhanced by the charm of Casa dos Guindais. Alvaro was a welcoming host and, although not always on site, was highly responsive to any inquiry sent by text during our stay. We stayed in the Douro room which had a balcony with a view across the the river. The room was cozy and modern with the beautiful old stone work adding character to the decor. A delicious decanter of port waiting for us in the room was a welcomed treat! The location was perfect. We walked in all directions and were pleasantly surprised by what we discovered each day as we explored this amazingly beautiful city. The Sao Beneto train station was an easy 5 minute walk which made catching the train to the Douro Valley for the 2nd part of our holiday incredibly easy. We were most impressed by the warmth and hospitality of the people of Porto...genuinely lovely. We were lucky to be there during the Sao Joao festival which was a ton of fun and a cultural delight...an experience we will not soon forget! The Hot Five Jazz Club is steps away from the guest house and well worth a visit for a night of great music and drinks. Alvaro's suggestion to dine at Ode was spot on...so good we went twice and would enthusiastically recommend! All in all it was a wonderful holiday with many special moments! We look forward to returning to Porto and Casa dos Guindas.

Room Tip: The Escadas Room is the most spacious with a lovey view from the windows to the bridge. The Douros R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The images on their website are accurate—no funny angles or cutting out of lesser corners. It is an impeccable space remodeled with great class. We stayed in the Estrada room and were more than happy. It was terrifically spacious, airy and bright. There was a little carafe of port wine to welcome us. Although there is a great little kitchenette in the studio, we didn't use it much, preferring to check out the dining scene. The location is great—very close to many hot spots on the classic tourist list, and yet on a quieter little street. You feel like you are more part of the city of Porto than just visiting. There is a wonderful balance between new and modern and the classic and historical elements. The owners clearly love this space very much, and are very connected to its history.


Álvaro was a great host. He took time and care to speak about the house and the city of Porto. He is clearly very fond of both. He gave us some great restaurant recommendations and walked us through the must-sees in the city (this is basically the whole city, so bring good walking shoes). He is very responsive via email, so, although there is no one on site to address questions or concerns, you feel that he is there nonetheless. We ended up arriving much later than anticipated, surely putting a dent in his day, but he was welcoming and friendly and understanding, seeming just excited to get us settled in and show us around.

there is no question—if you have the opportunity to stay here, do it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa dos Guindais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa dos Guindais

Address: Rua Arnaldo Gama 72, Porto 4000-094, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £65 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa dos Guindais is a XVIII century house, located in the historic center of Oporto, world heritage protected by Unesco near by the Ferdinand Wall, the Cathedral and funicular elevator. The materials used are noble and respect the rules of conservation of historic buildings in the city - Wood, Glass, Iron and Granite. It is composed of 5 independent studio apartments equipped with everything that is essential to make guests feel at home. Details like extra thick doors and windows guarantee both comfort and safety. The rooms have two twin beds, bathroom, kitchenette and access to a romantic garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing