We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa dos Guindais
Nearby Hotels
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$396
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$349
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
239
62
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
62
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecommend casasimple mealelegant designmodern kitchenettegreat restaurants and cafescommunal gardenstone wallsthe riverhelpful ownermain bridgecomplimentary portcharming buildingtrain journeywalking routesuseful tipsdom luiswarm hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 3 nights in this charming old house, which is well-equipped, including a nice garden. The location is very good, all the interesting things in Porto are in a short walking distance. The price is fair and the host is welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

As other reviews mention, Alvaro's effusive welcome is one of many great personal touches staying in Case dos Guindais. We stayed in the Douro room for 3 nights in late October, with a small balcony overlooking the well-kept garden below and the Ponta Luiz. The room was clean and well-appointed, with a fantastic wet room shower overlooking the bridge.

The location of the Casa is good, only 5–10 mins walk to the Ribeira waterfront (down a fairly steep set of steps)...although we didn't get a chance to see half of the sights, or try half of the restaurants, Alvaro recommended! We can thoroughly recommend a trip on the metro to Matasinhos if you want good, fresh fish though.

We can thoroughly recommend Case dos Guindais (and Porto in general) and look forward to a return visit soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Álvaro first welcomed is upon arrival and I knew right away we had chosen the right place to stay! Álvaro offers great advice about Porto. The rooms are very well it and perfect! We stayed in Cristal room which had a little balcony and the amazing shower! The free Port upon arrival was also appreciated! Would highly recommend! .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobWill50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for a week with two other couples and it was the perfect place as we each had our separate spaces. Our room which faced the street and had the most space. We enjoyed the garden area and the modern design. Alvero was very helpful
And the glasses of Port was a nice touch. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Alvero welcomes you warmly and offers great advice about Porto. The architecture is interesting and the rooms delightful. We stayed in the Douro which has lovely balcony ..could do with a chest of drawers but does not take away from the great location. We did not use the kitchen but having the Port and coffee is a nice touch. Alveros recommendations for restaurants were very helpful ,however it is fun to wander around and discover special places. We liked the restaurant at the bottom of the steps by the bridge for a light meal and drinks...the chorizo is excellent . Casa dos Guinais is a special place and Alvero answers questions promptly by email..he is rightly proud of this gem in Porto.

Room Tip: I like Duoro but all the rooms are unique.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews