We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in nice city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have stayed here for two nights, recently. The hotel is really good looking, check-in staff courteous and fast.
I had room in 15th floor, nice view. Room was comfortable and modern, meets 5-star standards, however, I would expect coffee/tea maker in the room.
Internet connection ok. I was little bit disappointed from the breakfast. For this hotel class, the selection was very average, almost no fresh vegetables, only fruit. I have stayed in 3/4 star hotels with better selection for breakfast.
Hotel has a pool downstairs as well as gym. I was particularly interested in the pool so I went there before breakfast. You have to have SWIMMING CAP for the pool, which I find little bit odd and never encountered in any other hotel. If you do not have cap (who does), you can buy one for 3 EUR which is not so bad for item you will probably never use again. Make sure you visit restaurant at 19th floor which has also open deck. Very nice, although may be chilly late in the might.

In overall, this hotel is beautiful with big modern and comfortable rooms. Some things surprised me little bit but i overall I liked the stay very much.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for having chosen the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA for your recent stay in Porto.

We do thank you for your comments!

Your constructive opinions regarding the in-room coffee/tea maker and the hotel breakfast will be taken in consideration and are the most valuable contribution to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Looking forward to be welcoming you back in Hotel Porto Palacio in a not too distant future.

Best regards from Porto,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2011

Probably one one of the best hotels my wife and I have ever stayed at
Very modern , superb service and staff , very good restaurants on site
Rooms immaculate
Charge for parking but free internet
Definitely we would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newmarket18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Guest,

It is indeed very rewarding to receive at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA Customers like yourself, who take the time to convey their thanks to us.

Such comments certainly help in motivating our staff and more importantly assist us to provide a more personal service.

Looking forward to be welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Thank you so much!

Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I was there for 3 nights for a business meeting. Perfect service and a wonderful room. They all make you feel as a very welcome guest every minute! Loved the Taxi Service on Wednesday evening! He told us all places "to see". 100% - I will stay there again. The breakfast is TOP and the "Nautilus Bar" has a touch of a british. I liked it really :)

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urbanwolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Porto!

I would like to thank you for having selected Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & Spa for your last stay and business meeting in Porto.

Your feed-back is the most valuable contribution to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I was delighted to read of your last stay here with us especially your positive comments on taxi service, breakfast and Nautilus Bar.

Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again soon at our property.


Best regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Wonderful service, nice clean room,great amenities. Staff was outstanding:polite/courteous/very helpful. Deal-breaker was the pisspoor wireless internet. Terrible wireless internet marred what would have been an otherwise excellent stay.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank KingOfTheValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having selected Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA for your recent stay, and for having taken the time to give us your feed-back, a most valuable contribution to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I am sorry we haven’t been able to meet all your expectations because of internet connection however this was due to an external line breakdown.

We have already taken the measures we believe appropriate in order to improve our internet service delivery for your next stay.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Porto Palácio!

Best regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The welcome (and glass of port!) offered by the staff at this hotel was truly exceptional and the double upgrade to a suite was most welcome too. I don't think the exterior is the most attractive I have seen, but the interior decor does provide a luxurious backdrop. I would also say the location is not great, but Porto is a very accessible city and taxis are reasonable too. Good modern faciltities and extra touches make this worthy of its' Leading Hotels of the World affiliation.
The VIP lounge is slightly misleading; it is a most attractive bar area but does not offer "Club" facilities and the "exclusive access" simply means there is a separate lift! Breakfast in the normal restaurant was a very standard affair - this room is in need of renovation but, as served in the lounge, is truly First Class.
Porto is a charming city and this hotel has much to recommend it but travellers might want to be situated closer to the old town and Duoro RIver.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glindaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Greetings from Porto!

Thank you for having taken the time to post your comments and to enhance the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA services.

It is indeed very rewarding to receive Guests like yourself, who take the time to convey their opinion to us. Such comments certainly assist us to provide a better service.

We do thank you also for your constructive comments as far as the VIP Lounge and breakfast room is concerned, these will be certainly taken in consideration.

Looking forward to be welcoming you again soon at Hotel Porto Palacio,

Best Regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Already the reservation was easy - by email. Furthermore, we were perfectly supported by the guest service (thanx SOFIA) for reservations for Golf, Dinner and a daily trip.
We arrived at midnight by taxi and we were perfectly organized and friendly welcomed. With a glas of portwine. A feeling of COMING HOME.
The room in the 16th floor was great. Clean, comfortable and big. The view is wonderful.
The Service in the hotel was really perfect- Reception, Cleaning, Guestservice, Portier - everyone was friendly and professional.
The Restaurant on the top floor offers a GREAT VIEW! WOW Spectacular! The prices are too high- for a Cafe Latte 8 Euro - that is too much!
Bus station is in front and due to that it is easy to get to the city and to the sea, furthermore the metro is close and taxis are constantly available.
In the basement is a swimmingpool fitness center etc. but not so nice... The restaurants seemed ok - we did not try them.
We recommend BUHLE if you like good food, a stylisch restaurant and maybe the best sushi in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EveandWallE99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having selected Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA for your last stay in Porto and for having taken the time to give us your feed-back, a most valuable contribution to continuously improve the quality of our services.

I was delighted to read of your last stay here with us. Our goal is to make sure that all guests feel at home during their time with us and that each visit is a special one.

Your valuable comments only assist us in ensuring that others too can continue to benefit from our service.

Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again soon at our property.

Best regards,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I'v been in a convention at Porto Palacio Hotel and it has been a great stay. The room was excellent with all the amenities of a 5*, great gym, convention rooms were good, inspite of not having natural ligth, and meals had good quality.

Room Tip: Above the 14th floor: great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor regarding your experience at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & SPA.

It is very rewarding to know that you’ve enjoyed your stay.

We appreciatte your coments regarding our rooms, amenities, gym, food and convention rooms.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the quality of service is our most important goal.

We hope it will not be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again, if not for business maybe also in vacations.

We remain at your entire disposal.

Please accept our best regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Boavista 1269, Porto 4100-130, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Porto
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#25 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £91 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel in city center; 5 minutes from Palacio de Cristal Exhibition Center; 10 minutes from Exponor Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TravelUp, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel Porto
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing