We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed there as LHW member (Access level). The quality of the service has been excellent, upgraded to suite, welcome gift and fruits + water in the room. Excellent. Breakfast in the top floor restaurant is a real experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having selected Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa for your last stay in the wonderful Porto city and for having taken the time to give us your feed-back, a most valuable contribution to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We were delighted to read of your last stay here with us.
Our goal is to make sure that all guests feel as though they belong during their time with us and that each visit is a special one.
Your valuable comments only assist us in ensuring that others too can continue to benefit from our service.

Looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again soon at our property.


Best regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

A very relaxing hotel with excellent guest rooms. Not the most central location, but there are lots of transport options nearby. Very friendly and informative staff. Guest rooms are very comfortable with plenty of room and storage for a longer stay. Although staying here on business I would return for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank balbithan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest,

It is indeed very rewarding to receive Customers like yourself, who take the time to convey their thanks to us.
Such comments certainly help in motivating our staff and more importantly assist us to provide a more personal service.
Looking forward to be welcoming you back at the Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa in a not too distant future.

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

From the welcome on arrival to the greeting on departure the staff are polite and helpful. The rooms could be cleaned daily a bit earlier, particularly during holiday periods as we were coming in and out frequently. The location is very convenient if you have a car.

Room Tip: As high as possible and facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lambda75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for just one night during a trip by car through Portugal and Spain. When I visited O Porto there were many closed streets due to some festivities organized by graduating students from the local main university. It was a beautiful and huge party but unfortunately the city became really crowded because of that. The staff was helpful and advised me not to leave the hotel by car as the city was a little messy. The room was not huge but had everything one needs : comfortable beds,modern furniture, small but well equipped bathroom and free wi fi internet access. There were not many items at breakfast but everything seemed fresh. The worse ting about the hotel is the elevator. It took eras to get an empty and working lift to my room as the hotel was holding a big conference during my stay. It's a nice business hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blondcybu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

There are 3, important caveats to this hotel getting an "excellent" rating. First, you must go in winter only, second you must ask for an upgrade to be on the top 3 floors, and third you must be okay with taking the subway a few stops to the city. let me explain.
1)Let me be clear; this place is fantastic. Let me also be clear, again, however, that it is only fantastic in the wintertime when the prices are less than half of their normal rate. That said, if you are travelling in Portugal to Porto in the winter, this place is super. It is very elegant, from the adjustable beds to the views to the flat screen TV to the mini-TV embedded in the bathroom mirror (a nice touch). If, like me, you normally do not stay in 5star hotels in the U.S. or in Western Europe, and want to do so for the price of a Hampton Inn in the U.S., do it here.
2)Make sure you ask for and arrange an upgrade to the top 3, executive floors. Insist on it. Ask for it. They will accomodate you as they will not be very bust in the winter around Christmas and, they want to please you (this is kind of an awesome, national psychology in Portugal).
3)This place is not really walking distance from the tourist center downtown. That said, there is a direct bus across the street or, better yet, there is a subway stop around 5 minutes away. I recommend the subway which is clean, efficient and kind of a nice way of easing into being around the Porto-ians.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank asruderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I can only agree with excellent reviews of this hotel. Again, I must emphasize very professional and kind service. Reception also provides high quality taxi transportation for just a bit higher price than ordinary taxi.
Wifi is fast and works everywhere but requires you to enter username & password every single time you connect. Why not just leave the network open at least in the guestrooms?
Oh, and if you don't feel like paying €5 for 1/2 liter of water provided in your room, there is a store just outside the hotel ;-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozmanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased to know that you have really enjoyed our hotel and we do appreciate your kind words about our service.

Regarding the wifi internet connection the hotel is undertaking some changings that will be applied during the next year so that this service can meet the guest's expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA in a near future.

Kind regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Excellent hotel with nice and clean rooms. Staff is extremely kind and thoughtful. Excellent breakfast and a lounge bar in the roof top with the best view in Oporto.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedropenalva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, General Manager at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Greetings from sunny Porto!

Thank you for having taken the time to post your review regarding your last stay at the Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

It is very rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay. Comments like the ones you left us make us believe that our daily accomplishments are worthwhile.

We hope it will not be long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again at our Hotel, and remain at your entire disposal.


Yours Sincerely,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,364 reviews
0.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
0.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
931 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Boavista 1269, Porto 4100-130, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Porto
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#25 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £89 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel in city center; 5 minutes from Palacio de Cristal Exhibition Center; 10 minutes from Exponor Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel Porto
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing