We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel rooms are super large and everything you need for a very good nights sleep. The bed is huge and I could lie horizontally as well as vertically. My room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
The bar on the roof has quite a nice view and food tasted ok but I think it would have been better if the menu had had more of a Portugese flavor to it as you can get a burger anywhere.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Particularly the lady at breakfast who remembered my English tea with milk on the second day. The breakfast is sadly in the basement which is a shame on a nice day but the selection is very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redredrose666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great comments about your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

We are very pleased to know that you realy enjoyed your time with us and that our service, as well as our staff, overrided your expectations.

We hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Porto Palácio.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed four nights as part of a Conference held at the hotel. Rooms are way larger than average, continental breakfast. Did not use fitness and Spa - but rather went out for sightseeing and to appreciate Portuguese seafood options by the river. A little far from the metro, but still at a walking distance. Recommended for business trips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo_EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review on Tripadvisor and for enhancing the qualities of Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA as a conference and business hotel.

We hope to welcome you again pretty soon at our Hotel and at the lovely city of Porto.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

The Hotel, as soon as you enter, let's you know at the first moment, that you will enjoy your stay. The staff is very nice and well trained and the lobby is very welcoming.

I stayed in an executive room, and it was a very pleasant experience. The beds are comfortable, the TV has many channels, and it's clean and very friendly to alregic people.

The food was excellent, having eaten both in the buffet and the Portuguese restaurant, which had an amazing quality of both service and taste.

All in all, this hotel is very good for business stays, and provides excellent quality.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank Rafael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Hóspede,
Muito obrigada pelo seu review no Tripadvisor relativamente à estadia no Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
Ficamos muito satisfeitos de saber que os nossos serviços estiveram à altura das suas melhores expectativas, em especial a nossa equipa, quartos e restaurantes.
Esperamos poder voltar a recebê-los muito em breve.
Com os melhores cumprimentos e votos de um bom ano novo,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were part of a group tour so feared the usual 'worst block of rooms in the house and limited housekeeping service' that seems to occur with the bare-bones rates negotiated by coach tour companies. We were pleasantly surprised - glass of port on check-in (to be fair, it's pretty cheap in Porto!), evening turndown with choccies, great buffet breakfast selection in the 'Madruga' restaurant with pleasant staff. Even the included group dinner, often a dire affair, was great except for a slightly tough beef dish.

The other in-house restaurants, Portobeer Cervejaria, Salsa & Loureiro, and Gosho covered a la carte 'regular' local food, fancy modern local food, and Japanese respectively. We dined in Portobeer on the first night and it did just what it said on the tin - simple food, reasonably priced, well-prepared.

Room Tip: The views aren't of anything spectacular, so unless you're doing an Exec room ask for a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Porto!
We are very pleased to know that all guests feel welcomed at our hotel, being part of a group or coming individually, either for work or for leisure.
Your review on Tripadvisor is extremelly valuable for us and gives us a very nice feedback about the groups guests experience at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.
We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed our offer of restaurants and quality of the food presented.
Hope to welcome you again in very near future!
Sincerely,
Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed in an executive room, which was comfortable but bland. Had excellent breakfasts in the top floor lounge, with pleasant views over the City. Nothing really very wrong with the Hotel, but then nothing really exciting to talk about either. Next time in this City full of character and charm, I will make a more imaginative choice of Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciatte you giving your time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA.

Thank you for your kind comments redarging our breakfast at the VIP Lounge.

We hope you have the chance to enjoy of our high quality service and variety of outlets during your next visit to Porto city, so that you can be then suprised with our unique hotel.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a great experience. We stayed at this hotel in July 2013 and I have to say, I would defintely return. The hotel is about a 5 minute cab ride from the main area of town and the river. We found their prices to be so much more affordable than what is offered down by the river and the room was so much better than those offered closer to town; spacious, clean and very modern; not your typical Eurpoean hotel.
Everyone who works here is very attentive and kind. We arrived at 9:00 am after a long flight from Newark and we were greeted with a class of Port (can't go wrong with Port at 9:00 in the morning) and we were able to check into our room without any additional charges. What a great way to start our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear Guests,

We are very pleased to receive your review about your stay at Porto Palácio Congress Hotel & SPA during this last summer.

Thank you for your comments regarding our friendly staff, the confort of our rooms and nice location inside the city.

We are also glad to know that you recognized our effort of serving you the best way possible and by giving you a complementary early checkin when available.

Hope to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This five star hotel has the best hydrotherapy pool and swimming complex I have ever met. Definitely one for thorough relaxation after a long journey.
Hotel is very much geared to elite residents with VIP floors,and suites. Not as welcoming to occasional tourist particularly front desk. Business traveller fine.However rooms, beds,linen totally five star. Service patchy,turn down only with visiting US tour in and minimal basic soaps and bathgel.No bathrobe for 3 nights.Room maintenance a problem and some poor rooms had no airconditioning, or working safe.(Essential)Cafe type restaurant was superb and we ate there every night, beautifully cooked,informal atmosphere and very friendly. Very easy taxi service,Lovely doormen.Porto is a lovely old city and very inexpensive. Iwould not go out alone at night, and was warned not to do this. Hotel close to a very poor area. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Check room has working aircon and safe before unpacking! Two rooms had no aircon and it was not fixe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPHOTEL, Gerente geral at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & SPA.

We appreciate your recognition of our Wellness & Beauty Lab facilities that we are sure, together with the Solinca Health & Fitness Club provide all our guests a unique relaxation and/or exercise experience in Porto city!

We are also very glad to know that you enjoyed our rooms and restaurants and would like to apologize for any inconvenience that may have occured with the in room air conditioning and safe deposit box.

Hoping to welcome you back soon at Hotel Porto Palácio.

Best Regards,

Eugénia Queirós

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Porto
Crowne Plaza Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
946 reviews
0.7 mi away
HF Ipanema Park
HF Ipanema Park
#43 of 108 in Porto
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Boavista 1269, Porto 4100-130, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Porto
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#14 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#25 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £91 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High-rise Hotel in city center; 5 minutes from Palacio de Cristal Exhibition Center; 10 minutes from Exponor Exhibition Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Prestigia, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Porto Palacio Congress Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel Porto
Porto Palacio Congress Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing