We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Crowne Plaza Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Porto
Ranked #10 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed at this fantastic hotel from 17th September with my wife who bought me a 2 night break for my 50th Birthday.
We flew from Stansted to Porto and then transferred on the purple line metro straight to Casa de Musica . This costs only 2 euros10 each and travels overland and takes about 20/25 minutes. We then had a 10 minute walk to the hotel.
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us a glass of Burmester port. We were allocate an Executive double room on the 15th floor which was fabulous. We had everything we could have wanted including a cd player and a huge mini bar with an extensive range of drinks and snacks. The bathroon was very nice and you get a good selection of toiletries. You also get hairdryer and a free room safe. There is no tea/coffee room tray.
There is a small supermarket called Pingo Doce just across the road from the hotel where we bought alcohol and bottled water.
Our package included breakfast each morning and a meal on one evening. It also included a tour of Graham's Port Lodge.
The choice at breakfast was very good and staff were very attentive. We had our included meal on the first evening and the quality and presentation of the food was excellent. Again the service was very good.
The tour of Graham's Port Lodgewas absolutely brilliant ! We had a taxi there from the hotel for 8 Euros. We had a tour with another couple and our guide was fantastic. Not only was she very knowledgable and enthusiastic, but gave us plenty of extra glasses of port to sample !
The hotel is situated about 20 minutes out of the City centre but you can get into the City on the number 201 bus which runs very efficiently abour 4 times an hour and stops outside the hotel. It costs only 1 Euro 80 cents for a single trip. The 502 bus will take you to the beach in the opposite direction and is about the same duration and stops outside the hotel.
On checking out we were able to leave our bags in reception.
The staff we found were very kind and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janeandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    476
    70
    14
    9
See reviews for
236
612
45
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Tiara Park Atlantico Porto for 3 nights this past week and found it to be a wonderful hotel. The service is impeccable – I almost never even had to wait to speak to a member of the desk staff, and they were all gracious, informative, and helpful, and spoke English very well (a great boon, as my Portuguese is almost nonexistent). The lobby is attractive and a pleasant place to sit, the entire hotel is in excellent condition and very clean, and our room was a treat. We were on the 14th floor, with a view of the Atlantic Ocean and daily sunsets. A few hours after we checked in, a tray of fresh fruit, bottled water, and a small bottle of Port arrived, compliments of the manager. The bathroom had a tub, which we hadn’t seen in the several weeks we’d been in Spain, even though we’d stayed in some nice places. And perhaps the nicest element of all was the bed pillows, which were extra big and extremely comfortable. (Contrary to another reviewer, we did not find the sheets rough.) The wifi connection worked perfectly, and the safe in the room was large enough to accommodate our laptop. Yes, the hotel is off the beaten track, a good half-hour walk (if not more) to the old town. But it’s also away from the fray and is an easy 10-minute walk from the Casa da Música metro stop (Porto has an extensive, clean, and efficient subway system) and is a 5-Euro taxi ride from the town square/Hotel Intercontinental or, going west, the beach. If you can, eat lunch at Chuasqueira Rotunda Boavista, located on Avenida Boavista, at the circle with the statue of the lion (the grilled chicken-- i.e., franga -- is delicious) and dinner at Restaurante Sao Valentim, a good seafood restaurant near the container port (north of the beach and actually in Matosinhos) where they grill the extremely seafood outside on the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluenoser1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Overall the hotel is very nice and I had no problem staying here...given their current special for paying for 2 nights and getting the 3rd for free (however, if I was paying their normal rack rate, it may be a different story). Breakfast was included and was very good....everything you could want and friendly service. Actually, overall, the entire staff was great. Location is a little off from, what I would call center, but a very manageable 35min walk. Only real complaints were with the bedding - as the sheets were fairly rough and stiff...not what you like to feel when getting in bed after walking all day. Also, the A/C was essentially non-existent. The wifi is painfully slow for someone who is a heavy user and it will log you off when you leave your device dormant for more than 1 minute...fairly annoying to have to log-in over and over again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A great hotel in Boavista , Porto . Although not in a walking distance from the centre of the city , you can use the bus or take a taxi. Decent breakfast , good service and for a five-star hotel a fair price. The distant area it is located in makes it a very good choice , instead of an excellent one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pEakPeaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The Tiara Park Atlantic is a lovely 5* hotel. Its location on the outskirts of Porto isn’t that convenient for the city, but tourist buses stop just outside and there is also a taxi rank close by. We were able to walk down to the river through the city. It’s quite a long walk but interesting. The hotel’s location is great when arriving/leaving Porto by car as it is very easy to find and drive to the motorway, avoiding the narrow streets of Porto.

All the staff we had contact with were very helpful and friendly. Our suite was lovely and although overlooking the main road we weren’t disturbed by traffic noise. We had ample room for 2 adults and our daughter.

We ate breakfast at the hotel which was lovely and varied. We found a great Brazilian type of restaurant right next door to the hotel – just turn left and left again down a little side street. Unfortunately I can’t remember its name but we had a lovely meal and it was very good value. There is also a good supermarket on the other side of the road to the hotel where you can stock up on water and snacks etc. We also ate lunch at the hotel restaurant which was also very good.

If I ever re-visit Porto I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Very good five star hotel in a new area of Oporto. The rooms are very comfortable and the brekffast is excellent. We also got a very reasonable price by pre-paying for the room in advance. We got a fare of 89 euros including breakfast, which is surprising considering the quality of the establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carmdimauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

A good, sound 5* in the Boavista area of Oporto. Service, breakfast, rooms and facilities are what you would expect from a five star hotel. Staff is friendly and receptionists are very helpful. They offered a super discount rate when we visited, which made it equivalent, in price, to a pension or BB !!! I pointed out some minor improvements, and I got a reply almost immediately from the GM, which is a good sign.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 109 in Porto
1,024 reviews
0.3 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 109 in Porto
907 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Porto

Property: Crowne Plaza Porto
Address: Avenida da Boavista 1466, Porto 4100-114, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Porto)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Porto Hotel Porto
Tiara Park Atlantic Hotel Porto
Porto Tiara Park Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing