We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of Crowne Plaza Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Porto
Ranked #9 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in the Tiara Park atlantic for in late September. We got an excellent deal in the Hotel for four nights B&B and one evening meal.. When we arrived the reception staff were very nice and friendly we were immediately offered a room upgrade but as we requested a smoking room we stayed on the 7th Floor (7th&8th floors are designated smoking). The room was large and very clean, with two lovely large loungers, the bedlinen and pillows are so comfy. The highlight of the hotel for me was the breakfast, it caters for every taste, fresh fruit, breads, pastries, eggs, ham, cheeses and the fresh pancakes are really good. The eveing meal in the resturant was good and the staff are very attentive. There is an Indian and argentian restaurant just at the back of the hotel and a small little bar that is very pleaseant if you like sixties & seventies music. We did eat in the BB gourmet restaurant whih is about a five minute walk from the hotel and it was really very good food and lovely atmosphere, the waitress has excellent english. As said by other travellers reviews, the hotel is far from the centre and the old town of Porto. A taxi costs us €7 from hotel to the centre, we also used the buses and the metro which are inexpensive. Parts of the city are very delapadated and not clean, I got the feeling one side of the river Douro is much more affluent than the other.I would stay in this hotel again as it is in a nice area of the city (though not much to see around the hotel) the breakfast would bring me back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmonaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,351)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Porto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 404 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

If you like your hotels to be world class standard, the Tiara Park Atlantic Porto will fill the bill, from the large, well-appointed rooms to the very attentive staff, restaurant, bar and underground parking. My only minor complaints were that the room air conditioning could have been better and the wifi is metered. If I recall correctly, the first 250MB/day are free then you have to pay, except I ran into the pay wall much sooner than that every day.

Hotels in this class tend to be somewhat generic. That's perfect if you're a business person but if you're on vacation and looking for something with local color, you might want to go with a boutique hotel or B&B closer to the sights because the neighborhood is also rather generic. It's more like Manhattan's upper east side than Porto's Ribeira. That said, there are plenty of conveniences within walking distance including banks, a large grocery (the ubiquitous Pingo Doce), cash machines and a few good restaurants. But if you're on vacation you'll probably be spending most of your time a couple of miles away in Gaia and Barredo. Tour buses and cabs are plentiful right outside the front door though and the staff will help get what you need, from a Yellow Line tour bus to a river cruise to the vineyard region. Just don't expect to step outside and be immediately immersed in local culture.

We didn't try the hotel's restaurant as it was way expensive, even for breakfast. It looked great though however we found an excellent and more reasonably priced restaurant about five blocks away called BB Gourmet which seemed to be popular with more affluent Tripeiros. Just stay away from the pizza up the block on Avenida da Boavista. I can eat just about anything but it was inedible.

Be aware that parking is limited so you need to make a reservation. Parking costs around E18/day.

Be aware that parking is limited so you need to make a reservation. Parking costs around E18/day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkTheDoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed at hotel for four nights during September.Had slight problem with room at first, given twin instead of double but when error brought to attention staff acted immediatly to rectify situation. Buffet breakfst excellent both in quality and variety of food on offer. We ate one night in hotel restaurant and although prices were a little on high side the food and service were excellent..A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Our room was large and comfy. The bed was nice with different kind of the pillows that you can choose as you prefer. Very nice and large bathroom. The hotel is very clean and elegant and is located on one of the main roads of the new Porto (Avda Boavista). So it is quite far away from the old town centre. Anyway, public transportation in Oporto works fine.
The windows of the room were not really soundproof, so if you get a room in front of the road this can be a problem on lower floors. We stayed at the 10th floor so the noise was very low, but at lower floors this can be a little disconforting, and it seems strange for such a nice hotel. The breakfast was very expensive (21 €/person per night), so we decided not to have it in the hotel. The hotel, instead, was very cheap for the offer we got. In addition, there were some small and nice bottles of Porto wine in the room not very expensive (about 4 euros each).
Staff very nice and internationally speaking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biagio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

It is I believe a 5 star hotel, so no questions on the amenities, room's luxury or the service levels as well as the good rate we got. Only gripe is we were given a room in a smoking level, we should have asked for a change, but something to keep in mind. Internet access is limited, which we weren't aware of, hence were locked out through pretty much most of our stay!

The hotel has bus stops located right outside which takes you to the old part of the town which is pretty convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandrachood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Stayed at this fantastic hotel from 17th September with my wife who bought me a 2 night break for my 50th Birthday.
We flew from Stansted to Porto and then transferred on the purple line metro straight to Casa de Musica . This costs only 2 euros10 each and travels overland and takes about 20/25 minutes. We then had a 10 minute walk to the hotel.
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who gave us a glass of Burmester port. We were allocate an Executive double room on the 15th floor which was fabulous. We had everything we could have wanted including a cd player and a huge mini bar with an extensive range of drinks and snacks. The bathroon was very nice and you get a good selection of toiletries. You also get hairdryer and a free room safe. There is no tea/coffee room tray.
There is a small supermarket called Pingo Doce just across the road from the hotel where we bought alcohol and bottled water.
Our package included breakfast each morning and a meal on one evening. It also included a tour of Graham's Port Lodge.
The choice at breakfast was very good and staff were very attentive. We had our included meal on the first evening and the quality and presentation of the food was excellent. Again the service was very good.
The tour of Graham's Port Lodgewas absolutely brilliant ! We had a taxi there from the hotel for 8 Euros. We had a tour with another couple and our guide was fantastic. Not only was she very knowledgable and enthusiastic, but gave us plenty of extra glasses of port to sample !
The hotel is situated about 20 minutes out of the City centre but you can get into the City on the number 201 bus which runs very efficiently abour 4 times an hour and stops outside the hotel. It costs only 1 Euro 80 cents for a single trip. The 502 bus will take you to the beach in the opposite direction and is about the same duration and stops outside the hotel.
On checking out we were able to leave our bags in reception.
The staff we found were very kind and helpful and nothing seemed too much trouble.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Tiara Park Atlantico Porto for 3 nights this past week and found it to be a wonderful hotel. The service is impeccable – I almost never even had to wait to speak to a member of the desk staff, and they were all gracious, informative, and helpful, and spoke English very well (a great boon, as my Portuguese is almost nonexistent). The lobby is attractive and a pleasant place to sit, the entire hotel is in excellent condition and very clean, and our room was a treat. We were on the 14th floor, with a view of the Atlantic Ocean and daily sunsets. A few hours after we checked in, a tray of fresh fruit, bottled water, and a small bottle of Port arrived, compliments of the manager. The bathroom had a tub, which we hadn’t seen in the several weeks we’d been in Spain, even though we’d stayed in some nice places. And perhaps the nicest element of all was the bed pillows, which were extra big and extremely comfortable. (Contrary to another reviewer, we did not find the sheets rough.) The wifi connection worked perfectly, and the safe in the room was large enough to accommodate our laptop. Yes, the hotel is off the beaten track, a good half-hour walk (if not more) to the old town. But it’s also away from the fray and is an easy 10-minute walk from the Casa da Música metro stop (Porto has an extensive, clean, and efficient subway system) and is a 5-Euro taxi ride from the town square/Hotel Intercontinental or, going west, the beach. If you can, eat lunch at Chuasqueira Rotunda Boavista, located on Avenida Boavista, at the circle with the statue of the lion (the grilled chicken-- i.e., franga -- is delicious) and dinner at Restaurante Sao Valentim, a good seafood restaurant near the container port (north of the beach and actually in Matosinhos) where they grill the extremely seafood outside on the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluenoser1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.3 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#14 of 108 in Porto
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Porto

Address: Avenida da Boavista 1466, Porto 4100-114, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Porto)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#9 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £104 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Porto Hotel Porto
Tiara Park Atlantic Hotel Porto
Porto Tiara Park Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing