We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Porto
Nearby Hotels
Eurostars Oporto(Porto)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$206
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$247
US$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$287
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$303
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$123
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$196
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
HotelsClick
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,426)
Filter reviews
1,426 results
Traveller rating
813
515
74
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
515
74
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstiara parkgreat hoteljunior suiteavenida da boavistabusiness areafive star hotelrestaurants within walking distancecity centretaxi ridetourist areataxi ranktour busescomplimentary glass of portbuffet stylecomfortable bedenjoyable stayhotel is located
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 1,426 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is quite modern, provides beautiful views, and my room was quite large with very comfortable furnishings.
The only negative items I would comment on is that they do not have a swimming pool, although one is available about a five minute walk away for €10 per three hours. The facial tissue in the room were small size like you would obtain in a hospital setting. The location is not in the inner city, but is surrounded by other hotels and public transportation is available at your front door as well as taxis. It is not far from the ocean as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

extremely friendly helpful staff- started with a welcome drink of port- the breakfast is very worth the 15 euros.. the air conditioning in the public bar was the only thing I would question. the rooms were lovely. I really can not praise this hotel enough. unfortunately the only thing that I felt this hotel could benefit from is a pool - even a small one !. The hotel is not easy access to shops etc but the taxis are very reasonable. In fact the only taxis we found expensive were the ones from the airport ! funny how the journey is always cheaper returning ?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel on two occasions in late May. It is your standard 4-5 star hotel that is frequented by up-market tour groups (there were a number of these there during my stays). The rooms are more than adequate and were clean and the beds were comfortable. The whole place is looking a bit tired though and will probably be due for a renovation soon. The check-in staff were very good and the staff were helpful overall. The breakfast room was crowded and breakfast was fairly ordinary. The hotel has no outstanding good points but was more than adequate for my purposes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I expected much more of this hotel...
After reading plenty of very positive reviews about this hotel, my expectations were high. Unfortunately I must say that in my opinion this hotel is not more than average, and people who give 5* to this property are not very demanding, and for sure not used to REAL 5* standards. Otherwise they wouldn't rate this hotel so positively!
I am staying in hotels for around 100 nights per year, always opting for places in the very top segment and the best available. The photos and text on the hotel's website promise you much more than you will get! The area on Avenida da Boavista is said to be a very good and posh area. In reality if you look around or out of the window, it's just an ordinary and very built up area with mostly not very nice If not neglected buildings around! The hotel from the outside is old (30 years old) and for sure needs a face lift, it has seen much better days when it used to be the"Le Méridien". The lobby is okay, but if you look into details you can see very well that there should be made improvements as its glamour faded away more than just a little bit. The elevators (Otis) are very slow as an elevator was 30 years ago, and if you are staying on a floor high up it takes a long time to arrive up there...
The rooms (I have booked an Executive room on the 15th floor) are okay but for sure nothing more than okay. They are very small for being a 5* hotel. The windows are quite small and the room towards its inside is quite dark. The furniture is ok, but my bed was not very comfortable. Nothing of the rest of the furniture inspired me, just normal first class hotel standard, with a touch of being worn out wherever you look. Carpets are not very nice anymore, and the curtains have seen better days as well. The bathroom has the bathroom size of a mediocre 3* hotel. Much too small to enjoy it, and a 5* hotel in 2013 definitely must have more spacious bathrooms in its Executive rooms! If you have to spend more than 15 seconds on the toilet you start getting claustrophobic. It's very narrow and really tiny. The isolation throughout the hotel is VERY bad, you can hear every single detail from the floor. No way to have a quiet and nice sleep. Doors of returning guests are smashing until late at night, and again from early in the morning the other day, and nevertheless there are two doors, you can hear the noise very well. Cleaning ladies start making noise early, and also the isolation of the windows is really bad. There is a lot of noise from the Avenida downstairs, there is perpetuous traffic...
The front desk staff is correct and ok, but far away from being personal, smiling or very helpful (2 exceptions). What they offer you is just normal standard like in every other big and unpersonal first class hotel.
For sure a stay here is disappointing if you keep in mind what their website and comments on tripadvisor promise. Noooo, this is for sure not a superb 5* hotel. It's average! If you compare it to a Myriad by Sana in Lisbon or a Lapa Palace, or a Vilalara in the Algarve or a Reid's Palace in Funchal, there are WORLDS between the two, although all of them are rated 5*. The others mentioned are TRUE 5* hotels. This one here is not...
There are some details which I liked, for example there was a HERMÈS soap and other such amenities in the bathroom. Very nice! There was a nice fruit platter, "vinho do porto" and water upon arrival. But prices for extras at breakfast are ridiculously high. They charge you 6€ for a juice (!!), 4€ for corn flakes, 5€ for eggs - much overpriced if you think that employees here get salaries of around 500€ per month. Also their room rate policy is not sympathetic. On booking.com the rate was 119€, the day after 200€ and on the Qantas stopover website they charge you 420 Australian Dollars. On 21.6. I told them that I want to extend my stay (not because I liked the hotel, but because the weather was not nice and therefore I decided not to travel to Braga and Guimarães, preferring to stay in Oporto). I checked the rate for 2 more nights and for the SAME EXECUTIVE ROOM it showed 920€ which is 460€ per night. It's almost400% more than 119€... They told me that they were fully booked, and therefore the rates climbed high up as in a world class hotel in a ritzy place on Côte d'Azur. I have comprehension for that, but not for the policy of their room rates. In my opinion it's exaggerated and not sympathetic if guests realize such extremes.
If I would come back to Porto for sure I would opt for another solution. There was nothing that I really liked in this hotel. Also the restaurant is absolutely not nice, it's dark and quite worn out. No charm, no atmosphere, just big and made for a 4* hotel clientèle. There are big windows and behind is just passing one noisy car after the other. If you read my other comments on tripadvisor you will see that I mostly could give positive comments. Here in Porto I was in a very good mood, but really just found that this hotel is far below of what I expected it to be.
I had a look at many other hotels in Oporto. In my opinion the PESTANA has much more charm and its location is far more pretty, although it's only a 4* hotel. The POUSADA DO PORTO is a real gem! Wonderful manicured gardens, peace, a direct river location, a breathtakingly beautiful palace, lovely restaurant and bar etc. In my opi ion the best and poshest option for a stay in Oporto is the YEATMAN! That is a real 5*, the Rolls Royce of Oporto's hotels! Magnificent location, very elegant hotel, extremely well kept and glamourous, with the nicest garden and pool architecture that one can imagine!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a group tour. The room was nice and the food was good. However, the location was bad for seeing things in Porto. We did spot the hop on hop off bus going up the boulevard outside the hotel, so I suppose it is possible to see the city that way. We found it very disappointing only because of the location. The service at the hotel was quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgettraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews