We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best care around”
Review of Crowne Plaza Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Porto
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. The staff are fantastic! I had a medical emergency upon arrival to Porto. The care and assistance that was received by my mother and me was above and beyond anything I ever expected. They were genuine and helpful with all details we needed to sort out -they made a very traumatic experience feel like we were staying at a friends home.
The place is very clean and beautiful and the breakfast buffet great.
It is worth every penny to stay here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LadyDharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 368 of 1,383 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My friends and I decided to explore Porto for a birthday weekend and stayed at the Tiara Park Atlantic for 3 nights. We had a warm welcome from the staff and on reaching my room was greeted by a lovely birthday cake and complimentary bottle of fizz! What a lovely start to the trip. The room was spacious and very comfortable with all the amenities you'd expect of a 5 star hotel. My only slight qualm was that the lighting was a bit too low although the weather was quite gloomy outside which probably made it seem darker. Great bathroom/ shower (I must have a decent shower!) The staff were friendly and efficient and our concierge, Mr Gomez, was particularly helpful when we needed to change local restaurant dinner reservation times, etc. Nothing was too much trouble and he even made sure we were looked after once we reached the restaurants. He also gave some great suggestions of other places to visit, including the Churchill port house over the river in Gaia, where we had a complimentary tour and tasting. I'm not really a port drinker but was very pleasantly surprised by the flavours. Unfortunately I'd left my iPod behind on leaving the hotel, but again, this was dealt with very efficiently and sent on to me in London. Seamless service. Porto itself is great, a UNESCO heritage site with stacks of history. I can recommend the red bus hop on/off tour of the City, a good way to get around and ticket lasts for a couple of days. We also bought a ticket for the Metro system from the Tourist Office at the airport - quite good value at about £15 for 3 days and we made good use of it on the easy/efficient tube system. Fantastic restaurants, this place is a foodie heaven - can highly recommend the 7 course tasting menu (with wines to match each course) at Palco at the Hotel Teatro, the flavours were stunning. We had a beautiful meal and were well looked after by the staff at Terra (near the sea in Foz area). On my actual birthday we dined at the Ode Wine House in Ribeira, down on the banks of the Duoro, whose speciality is "slow food" - very good it was too, dishes individually prepared to perfection. Lovely ambience with a traditional stone & wood interior and an interested owner who was very chatty on arrival! If you're an Art Deco fan, a visit to the Serra.Ves Villa in the nearby contemporary art park is a must. This is one of the largest complete houses I've seen, set in beautiful grounds where you feel transported back to another era. Stunning. The Contemporary Art gallery is adjacent and hosts different exhibitions, very much worth a visit. All in all, a perfect birthday trip!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan_adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Plush, quiet, staffed by helpful polyglots, the Tiara Park Atlantic is everything you can expect from a five-star hotel catering to the needs of the modern globe-trotter. And thanks to Expedia, it also offers reasonably priced rooms to tourists like us. Ours was ample, spotless, tastefully decorated and impressively equipped. The toilet even had a phone at sitting height for those who hate wasting time! British travellers will particularly appreciate the electric kettle that will be brought to you for free, if you ask the front desk.

But what this establishment offers in comfort and convenience, it lacks in both individuality and location. Admittedly, international hotels don't do quirky: the whole point is that the expected is guaranteed. But the Tiara is also located in a nondescript area a fair distance from the city centre. The metro is a good 10-minute walk away, and it takes half an hour to get to the city's wonderful sights and restaurants. We ended up wishing we'd spent our three nights in Porto at a less luxurious hotel that was more characterful and central.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sardanapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We arrived in Porto by car and the Tiara was easy to find close to the highway, though still in close proximity to the centre. We were glad we didn't book any of the other hotels downtown as we could see that in some hotels, parking and accessibility would have been an issue (parking in a close location and carrying luggage on the cobbled streets, especially since it was raining).

The hotel staff were extremely nice, we were allocated a room on the 14th floor, and being hoteliers and frequent travelers, I must admit that the room exceeded our expectations, the decor was warm, modern and inviting, with all 5 star commodities.

We had a lovely Valentine's day dinner in the main restaurant, sommelier was great and gave us some good tips on wine and port in the Duoro. The Manager on duty, Mario Carvalho, went out of his way to help us when we asked if we can hire a push chair for our daughter as we had forgotten it in our other car in Lisbon- he gave us his personal one.

Breakfast was nice and varied, with healthy options, and the waiters were very prompt and efficient.

Thank you Tiara team for making our stay so unforgettable. We really look forward to return back since two days were too short to visit Porto.

For anyone visiting Porto for touristic purposes, I strongly suggest a visit to the W&J Graham's port lodge and cellars, they have tours and port tasting during weekdays (weekends by appointment), as well as a restaurant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank flowerMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We came here for a special weekend, loved the room, amazing pillows! Typical Brits, we could've done with a kettle in the room and now realise we should've just asked! Dinner in the restaurant was a superb experience, treated like royalty and a very comfortable bar if you just want a light meal in there. Breakfast good but 15 euros probably a bit over the top, also be aware the car park is an extra 20 euros on top of the room charge. We were glad to be shot of the car so we felt it was worth the charge. Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shirleyb759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is 20 minutes walk from the Casa do Musica metro station, but buses 201 from Boavista, and 503 from metro take you to stop at A.Carduso outside the hotel. If you buy a 3 day Adante Tour card (cost 15 euros) this can be used on most transport -metro, buses and some trains- not the trams, cablecar or funicular .You just need to do 3 return journeys and then you start to save, but don't forget to validate card for EACH journey. Beware the taxis from hotel- they claim to be cheap and are metered but make extra charges on top of metered fare for cases ? Taxi from hotel to Casa de Musica metro cost us 8 euros. So the hotel is not in central Porto, but the public transport system is excellent, and being out of the centre the hotel is quiet.
Reception at this hotel is quite simply SUPERB- friendly, very helpful and efficient. On arrival we were given a glass of port, and the staff carefully explained places to visit, bus routes, and gave us a map which gave us discount at the large department store El Corte Ingles - there was even a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the store. The store had a 2 for 1 deal on the Tourist menu- 3 course meal with beer and coffee for 17.50 euros for 2.
Our room at the hotel was lovely,with extras one would expect from a 5 star hotel, but had no tea/coffee making facilities. We asked at reception and an electric kettle was provided very promptly.
We regarded breakfast at the hotel at 15 euros pp as expensive (probably not for a 5 star hotel) so we took breakfast at cafes in the centre, and for the same reason used various restaurants outside the hotel.
There is a good and inexpensive supermarket opposite the hotel, and we went to an excellent concert at Casa de Musica(gives discount on concert tickets for Seniors/students)which is only a few minutes on the bus.
It is the staff that make this hotel 5 star from the excellent cleaning staff, cheerful and pleasant foyer staff and superb reception staff who made our stay very enjoyable despite the rain every day!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I didn't fancy navigating the old part of town as we arrived to Porto with our hire car. The Tiara Park Atlantic hotel is easy access off the motorway. A good modern hotel with all the amenities you would expect in a more commercial part of the city.
Easy access via bus from out front to the main part of Porto, but if you like a walk it takes about 30 minutes or so.
That's what we did and stopped along the way back for more chicken, some cold beers and rest stops in the parks and on one of the main squares.
A great alternative if your situation is similar.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeebooTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 109 in Porto
1,117 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Porto

Address: Avenida da Boavista 1466, Porto 4100-114, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Porto)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Family Hotel in Porto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £94 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Porto Hotel Porto
Tiara Park Atlantic Hotel Porto
Porto Tiara Park Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing