We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in Porto.”
Review of Quality Inn Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Porto
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Westcoast of Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in Porto.”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights in April 2011 and have only got positive memories about the place. The hotel is located right in the centre of Porto. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The Room was fine. Breakfast was good and plenty. Looking forward to come back some day.

Small word of warning about driving in Porto: Don’t if you can avoid it. Porto is a one-way labyrinth. The train station is only a couple of hundred yards from this Hotel. Use public transport if possible.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    508
    225
    42
    16
See reviews for
257
419
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location, near a pedestrian walking street. It is best to access it by easy walking of 1500 feet from Bolhao subway station (please don't ask for bolhao, better ask for "Bulyo'n"). In case that you are resuming your trip from Porto airport, may I suggest to pick the rental car only AFTER touring the city. Public transportation from the airport and throughout Porto is relatively convenient, reliable, secured and cheap. Parking place in this neighborhood (city center) is tough.

The front desk attitude varied. They definitely tried, some did not understand plain English. The room was rather packed. Somehow, the water in the bath was dripping, maybe it was our fault. Elevator was very tiny. Breakfast offered abundance of food.
Since the traveler below me experienced reservation inconvenience, may I suggest that if you would like to reserve this place, use "choicehotels" directly and get better terms and more freedom.

WiFi in the hotel is for a fee only. One block from the hotel, there is a small Internet cafe on the 2nd floor (1 Euro per hour). Near the hotel you may find another choice - Mercure hotel, which may cost more. You may check Mercure terms directly at "Accorhotels".

The location is good also since by a short walking you may reach SE, the old cathedral. Its square is overlooking the Duoro river. You may walk down many stair to the river front (Ribeira). After having a coffee or a beer and meet many other international visitors like you, you may walk back slowly along nice streets or you may ride back the Funicular (a short cable car drive, station is adjacent to D. Luis impressing bridge).

If you have noticed before, local prices for a cup of coffee or a glass of beer are very affordable (0.60-2 Euros), anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marathon308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Me encantó Oporto y sus alrededores...el hotel buenísimo....excelente ubicación (en la plaza batalla), cerca de la catedral, torre clérigos, estación Sao Bento, Bolhao,Café majestic, funicular das guindais que baja al río duoro......La atención del personal muy buena, desayuno sencillo pero bueno, la habitación limpia y cuenta con servicio decafetera-tetera ....en fin buena relación calidad-precio....si repetiría!!! hasta la prox Aap!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amelvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
531 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 698 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We selected this hotel due to its central location and after spending a couple of months checking our rates on Eurobookings.com. We paid, in advance, to secure a good rate, but I think that worked against us at check in.

The directions I have for finding our hotel in Porto is worthless once we reach the city. Porto is horrible to get around in a car. New meets old streets; one way streets and no signs. We ask several times and finally see a sign for our hotel. Only it stops short of getting us there. What should have taken 20 minutes takes us over an hour before we finally pull up to our hotel (Quality Inn Praça de Batalha Porto), which has NO PLACE TO PARK in order to check in. It's on a one way, single street with trolly lines. So we park in the plaza. Totally illegal, but what’s a girl to do?

Parking is just across the plaza, but again, convoluded streets it's a pain to get to plus it costs $7e/day. Anyway, back to the hotel. Our rate was $65e a night which was good for this hotel and good for Porto, but they gave us a small room, in the corner, with no real view. What made it worse was how small it was. No room to walk around the two twin beds which almost touched each other. It was very, very cramped and the room needed updating. This was our worst hotel during our entire trip. I'm sure other rooms are a lot more accommodating.

Our hotel looks out on “Batalha Square” with the baroque Church of Santo Ildofonso (built between 1724 and 1730) which is covered in blue and white tiles…and the impressive São João National Theater which you walk by to get down to Praca de Ribeira and all the restaurant options. Across the Ponte D. Lois bridge is Vila Nova de Gaia and all the port caves or lodges. All within walking distance, but very hilly, so be prepared. Porto was a fun city for walking, shopping, eating and drinking.

Our favorite dinner spot was Shis. At the point where the Douro River meets the Atlantic. We rated it our #1 restaurant in all of Portugal. Don't miss it if possible. Your mouth will thank you and your eyes will appreciate the beauty.

Room Tip: Don't book through a discount site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The bed was rubbish. Small and hard. Don't get me started on the pillow. After five nights my back was killing me. Also the room was small and extremely warm. The interior of the hotel looks truly outdated and the furniture feels like it's been there forever.

Tour bus after tour bus unload their tour groups here and at the horrible buffet it looked like a homeless shelter. We eat here several times, but after a view times with nothing tasteful to eat we decided to eat breakfast at a different place.

Reception staff was really friendly and helpful, I must give them that, but that was absolutely the only positive thing I can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Duckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Absolutely cannot fault this hotel, From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was a 3 bedroom with a room made up for our daughter and it fit us grand, room for everything, flatscreen, toilets were spotless with well enough towels and toiletries. Perfect Location, around the corner from Sao bento train/metro station and surrounded buy bars/Cafe's. Couldnt do without the Lady that cleaned our room all week, i wished i could take her home with me. room was cleaned everyday, our pj's folded on our beds and shoes lined up. Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishoc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Nice little hotel, close to the train station, main shopping streets and historic centre. Basic but good, perfectly suitable for a long weekend stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OmarBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#39 of 106 in Porto
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#28 of 106 in Porto
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#38 of 106 in Porto
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#26 of 106 in Porto
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 106 in Porto
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Porto

Property: Quality Inn Porto
Address: Praca da Batalha 127 130, Porto 4000-102, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Porto Hotel Porto
Porto Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing