We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel near Sao Bento Train Station”
Review of Quality Inn Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Porto
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic hotel near Sao Bento Train Station”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

A basic, clean and comfortable hotel with helpful staff. Located in walking distance of Sao Bento train and metro stations plus it's on the tram 22 line. The hotel is situated in a quiet but slightly run down area of Porto. However, it's in a prime location if you want to be near the Cathedral, the Majestic cafe or the main shopping street known as Santa Catarina. It is also near the Rede Express coach station if you want to go on day trips to places such as Coimbra.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BonBon_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    519
    231
    44
    17
See reviews for
271
425
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is fairly conveniently located in downtown Porto. It is within walking distance to the river, restaurants and shops. Some of the staff spoke English and were helpful, but this hotel seems to accommodate a lot of large tour groups. Not only were these large groups noisy, they filled up the small lobby and consumed the attention of the front desk. The room was not large, but clean. My greatest complaint was that the bed had a very hard mattress - not a good for your back firm, but a feels like your sleeping on the floor with covers on it hard. Breakfast was included and offered a variety of different foods.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
689 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Totally satisfied with the Hotel. Friendly helpful and attentive service. Room was spacious, spotless, TV, coffee/tea, good WIFI, excellent water pressure in the shower, even had a settee. The buffet breakfast was good, plus good location for the old Town. Free apples downstairs. What else can one say. We booked online, not direct and had a really great price as well. Could not recommend it more highly. It would seem the Portuguese system is to record full passport details. Expect a little time for that to happen at check in.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Have just returned from a few days in Porto and would agree with many, this hotel is a good base to explore the city from with the city tour buses stopping right outside in the square, the square is however very run down with closed business and street sleepers gathering there at night, these people gather on the other side of the square from the hotel so do not directly affect it.

The Hotel is a basic business style hotel with excellent staff on the front desk, happy to help and advise, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped my single room was small but had all I needed for a few days away

Breakfast is served until fairly late - so there is no mad rush to the buffet in the mornings - the food was fairly good and the selection ample

Over all the hotel more the does the job for a short visit to Porto.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omega65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Location very good with easy access to old town & city centre. Finding way to get there was a challenge due to the one-way streets which frequently change direction.
Staff at the front desk were helpful but MARIA, Duty Manager, was OUTSTANDING - she was VERY helpful to us and we noted she was the same with other guests. She even carried my suitcase to the car park the hotel has an agreement with which is about 2 blocks away so we didn't have to struggle with the one way streets a second time to get back to the hotel.
The breakfast offerings were good and varied - yogurt, buns, sweet breads, scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, etc. Only issue we had was when items run out , replenishment was slow and only after item was totally depleted and guests made repeated requests did items get somewhat refilled.
Our room was very small and the bathroom the smallest we have encountered in Portugal. The sink counter top, which was too large for the room, over hung the toilet so only option was to sit sideways on the toilet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located in Porto, close to all forms of transportation. Facility is very clean, up-to-date, pleasant, and provides fine breakfasts. Seems to be a higher level hotel than typical Quality Inns in the U.S.

Room Tip: Nice to get a room overlooking the Praca Batalha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marigold60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#41 of 109 in Porto
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Bolsa
Hotel da Bolsa
#24 of 109 in Porto
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 109 in Porto
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel de Paris
Grande Hotel de Paris
#42 of 109 in Porto
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#32 of 109 in Porto
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Porto

Property: Quality Inn Porto
Address: Praca da Batalha 127 130, Porto 4000-102, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Porto Hotel Porto
Porto Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing