We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice old Grand Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice old Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Located in the city centre (more or less), old Grand Hotel style, bit of a fading beauty but still nice with charm. wireless did not work.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    371
    142
    39
    22
See reviews for
141
467
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

We chose this hotel because of it's position in the centre of Porto. Well, arriving in the middle of the night we found on the opposite side the cafse were all open, people drunken outside and yelling. We were dropped of at the door of the hotel (car had been ordered by the hotel!). We had to carry our bags inside and after checking in, bring our luggage to our room ourselves. Well, ok. Nice room, noisy airco. Open window: noise from airco's outside. Good, but old fashioned bathroom (no seperate shower and slippery bathtub). Enormous mirror in on the door in front of the toilet: do you want to see yourself sitting down????
Good service, kind people. Don't eat in the restaurant: we did this because a former 1 star chef is supposed to cook there. Food was bad quality, dark dining room, not expensive though. Better find yourself a nice place outside the hotel.

The best thing about this hotel is the lobby and bar, you should go and see this when in Porto. The designer can have 3 stars as far as we were concerned, but we experienced this hotel not 5*.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was a phenomenal find in Porto. Paolo (the manager) and his staff were true professionals and bent over backwards to make us comfortable. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of all the major sites, including the Port warehouse districts. The room was FANTASTIC - many antiques in the room and it truly was spectacular. Paolo himself even left the hotel with us to select some port to ship home from a local store - We will definitely return and only will stay here at the Infante. Thanks Paolo!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manu4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

This hotel is just gorgeous - comfortable and beautifully decorated/renovated with an eclectic mix of old and new. The wonderful curved staircase with lead light windows is just stunning as are many details all over the hotel and rooms. The bedrooms are great with extremely comfortable beds - the bathrooms are just a little bit old fashioned and maybe they could have updated them a bit when renovations were carried out to the hotel. Make sure you get a room at the back as I believe it can be very noisy if you have a room on the street during the weekends. We were there midweek and there were no noise problems at all but have been warned about the weekends.
The front desk staff were marvellous and I really have to give a special mention to Laura who went out of her way to help us every time we needed some advice on Porto - thanks Laura for treating us like old friends rather than guests passing through. You made a lot of difference!
When we first arrived we were tired and hungry so ordered some sandwiches in the courtyard and I have to say they were the worst, overpriced sandwiches any of us have ever eaten. Do NOT have lunch there! They were tasteless, with hardly any filling and on the worst kind of white bread you can imagine.
Breakfast was good, though and I can't comment on dinner as we ate out each night we were there (3).
Overall it was a most enjoyable hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Great classic boutique hotel and part of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Service is excellent and my Superior room was spacious and modern. Cost is 180 Euros/day which is a little on the high side but provides great value. Hotel is gorgeous and exudes the atmosphere of the early 1900's. Location is ideal and quiet and there is reduced valet parking nearby. Sumptuous complimentary breakfast buffet which was the best I experienced during my 2 week trip in Portugal. The selection is enormous and includes, hams, cheeses, eggs, bacon, sausage, juices and more than I can possibly describe.

Room Tip: Internet reservations make it very simple to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

Nothing else matters when you are subjected to racist behavior. I came back from a restaurant one evening to find out that the hotel door was locked. It was a holiday and young people were partying in the streets. I had to wait for almost 10 minutes outside until an apparently drank doormen came to open the door. A few minutes later, when I attempted to go back outside for a cigarette, the doormen told me I should make up my mind and decide whether I wanted to be inside or out, since he could not be bothered to open the door for me anymore!! He went on to say that the streets were filled with such filthy people that it made the city look like Brazil!!! I asked him whether he understood how offensive it was for him to imply that Brazilians were a filthy people and he said it was nothing but the truth. He went on to say that Brazil was merely a former Portuguese colony and should be treated as such. When I told him I would report this horrific behavior to hotel management, her shrugged and said he was sure it would be useless since he had been working there for a long time and therefore doubted he would be reprehended for whatever he said. Unfortunately, he was right. The next day, the hotel manager was nowhere to be found. I talked to the staff at the front desk and even though they were apologetic about it they did offer to take any concrete measures.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank MarceloSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

It is not easy to find a central 5* hotel's double room for 105 euros/night. This hotel is one of the important spots of the city. We loved the wooden elevator. I have to admit that when compared with classical 5* hotels, its standards are a little bit low. However we enjoyed a lot, both the hotel and the city. Breakfast is really stylish. Champagne in the early morning was interesting :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulent1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#20 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Fastbooking, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing