We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very 'luxury' and rooms badly isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #32 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The hotel was nicer on the inside than the outside would let you believe.
The staff was over all friendly and helpful. However having stayed at other "small luxury hotel" properties I was not that impressed with the luxury part. The room was nice but unfortunately only heated from 8pm on. The lighting in the bathroom was very bad and the walls so thin I had to listen to somebody being sick in the bathroom next door all night. When I went down at 2.30am to notify the reception about this, he said I could move the next day. I had hoped for a room not anywhere another neighbouring bathroom but apparently that was not possible. I still moved even though the room I received was a slight downgrade. I do not believe I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (996)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Infante Sagres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 997 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had a ‘superior room’ here, which was a very large room, with pleasant décor in red, white and black. It also had a very good sized bathroom. The wardrobe was a small room in itself!

The hotel seemed quite busy with people coming and going, although there was little in the way of ‘public rooms’ (at least that we found): just a bar, off the reception area, and the dining room where breakfast was served. The lift is splendidly old-fashioned and even has a seat inside! The hotel’s location is good for exploring the city. The reception staff, particularly one lady, spoke excellent English and were very efficient and helpful.

Breakfast was a reasonable selection and good quality, but the breakfast room was possibly a bit too small for the size of hotel – we had to wait for a table to be found and re-set on both mornings of our stay.

The Book! Restaurant next door (which is part of the hotel but has a separate entrance) provided an excellent value set lunch. (I think it was a 10 Euro set two-course lunch) We also ate a dinner there on one occasion, which was nice, but less good value than the lunch. They make good use of old books to present the menus and bills!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsABear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel facade does not do its interior decor justice, but I suppose this is a common trait of buildings in Portugal. I personally felt that its rooms could be better refurbished. My twin room was basic without the "luxury element" which I was expecting from a hotel which is part of the "small luxury hotels" group. That said, I have nothing but praises for its lovely breakfast hall and lobby. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to Sao Bento station and most tourist attractions. Objectively better than most hotels in the vicinity, but may not be the best value-for-money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queridabonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel right in the centre of Porto. Big, clean rooms and very comfy beds. Our room had a nice view over the city. From the hotel you can walk all around the city centre. Good breakfast! I would definitely stay here again when I go back to Porto. Recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryforbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

By conventional measures of convenience, comfort, cleanliness, economy and, especially and importantly, customer care, the Hotel Infante Sagres is among the best we've experienced in 30+ years of travel. We arrived hot and flustered after driving through peak hour Oporto traffic - having taken a few wrong turns along the way, to be greeted by charming, calming front of house staff who made us feel we were the most important people in the world and who settled us into our large, comfortable room (with excellent bathroom) with a minimum of fuss. Sure, the fittings and furniture are eclectic, but they only add another layer of charm to an overall experience of the highest satisfaction. Our only improvement suggestion would be to increase the number of breakfast service staff: the courtly gentleman who provided table coffee service was, at times, run off his feet - but still managed to carry out his duties with the grace and charm that typify this excellent establishment.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very grand other era design and interesting. A little dark perhaps for current taste, but decor has been updated to help with this. The head on clash with the palace style with contemporary white leather in reception, the wall hung chairs, and the feature lime green chairs in the dining room are certainly a talking point but probably better than gutting it all and making it look like just another chain hotel. I love the crocodile seat in the lift!

So, this is an individual hotel in a great location for exploring the city. It can be a little noisy, but there are lovely sunny courtyards and fabulous views. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was fine and the room was spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirandaLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel decorations are very interesting (old palace style) and the location is perfect for exploring the city on foot. Public transport is very close as well. Rooms are ok, maybe a bit dusty and with an odd smell, but overall the quality is good. Breakfast had plenty of choices. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bebelutel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £158 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing