We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and "historical" place in Porto.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Good location in Porto downtown, kind and professional staff. Good rooms. In case I'll be back. During the football world-cup in a nice boudoir, we have seen many football games.
The old, perfectly working elevator, with leather upholstery, is something to be carefully observed.

Room Tip: Just asking at the reception, they will do their best to give you what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr_Ben_TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

a couple of blocks from the central square, and walking distance from everything you would want to see in Porto. the lobby, hallway decorations, and rooms suggest it would be $250 a night, but we paid half that. great breakfast. unfortunately no pool or airport pickup.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank albinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I were on a walking holiday and only had 2 nights in Porto before going to the wine country on the Douro. We were a little disappointed by the outside but the inside was gorgeous. Even though our room was on the fifth floor, we enjoyed walking down the palatial staircase with the beautiful windows and chandeliers, feeling like royalty. The room was spacious and comfortable; it faced the square and although it was noisy, closing the window shut out the sound. I actually enjoyed hanging out of the window and watching all the activity going on into the early hours. A great plus point of the hotel is the location right in the centre of everything and just a short walk from the river banks. Nice breakfasts which we took in the pretty courtyard. Too short a stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GiaLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Perhaps we were spoilt having just stayed at the glorious Vidago Palace an hour out of town in the rolling northern Portuguese countryside, but in any event, our stay at the Infante Sagres was a generally underwhelming experience. We'd been expecting something special, and booked a suite through the Small Luxury Hotels website.

Anyway, gripes as follows:

- on arrival, a porter took our car off to the car park, and we were advised we'd have to wait for him to come back if we needed helping taking our bags up to the fifth floor room. So we sat and waited...

- breakfast was pretty abysmal, poor quality buffet on offer - I stuck with the fruit.

- our package included a "secret offer" which never materialised.

- our rate, paid for for two nights, included in-room VIP package. This materialised as a bottle of sparkling wine on the first night, but was not repeated for the second night - instead the dregs of the first bottle were left in the wine cooler in our room for the second night.

- no turn down on our second night, or refreshment of toiletries.

- very loud on the square outside our room, even though we were on the fifth floor, until 3am on the Tuesday, making it hard to sleep.

- on requesting the car be brought round for 7am on the morning of our check-out we were told the night porter is by himself and so we'd have to make the walk to the car park ourselves, get the car and drive back to load our own bags.

To be fair, the reception staff were helpful with arranging supper reservations, and the barman was pleasant. But overall this was very much not what I would expect from a hotel claiming to be top-end. I will certainly make sure I take "Small Luxury Hotel" badges with a healthy pinch of salt next time I'm looking for somewhere to stay. Mr and Mrs Smith a much better mark of quality I reckon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tomalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the outside, this hotel looks like a run-down government building from a totalitarian period. Inside, it’s a palace. Since the hotel is a five star, expectations are highly set, and for the price tag, some more efforts could be given to the wifi and the breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spent 7 nights in this hotel and loved it! Ordinary exterior belies the splendour of the interior lobby, bar, stairs and public areas. We had a superior room on the 3rd floor and it was delightful - high ceiling, efficient aircon, plenty of space, good bathroom and a nice view over the courtyard, where we took our breakfast rather than the ornate breakfast room. Staff were pleasant, helpful and became more friendly as the week passed. The buffet breakfast was fine, service a little slow when they were busy but this is Porto, where everything moves at a snail's pace! Good range of meats, cheese and fruit and the best coffee I have tasted outside the US. Location just couldn't be beaten - right in the heart of the bar/restaurant quarter and close to many of the interesting buildings. Tour buses and trams stop outside, metro a few minutes walk away giving the easiest airport transfer you could want. Taxis from the riverside around 6 euros. OK, not as 5-star as the nearby InterContinental, but about half the price. Will definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main road would probably be noisy. Only one ancient lift, so rooms on lower floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank ChelseaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Reception staff were not friendly on arrival. The room was reasonably comfortable but not sound proofed. For the money paid it is not value for money and would choose a different hotel for the same price next time. The best thing about this hotel is the central location. Unfortunately the staff look miserable especially at breakfast to the point that one of them was very rude when asked for service. The breakfast was the same selection every morning with no variety, slow service, and sullen serving staff. We had to ask that our be cleaned before we returned after a day of sight seeing. I expect we will not be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £140 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing