We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and shabby” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tired and shabby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

This hotel has outlived its pretentions and become a shabby place for the price. Chipped black lacquer in the bathroom, dirty carpet, tiny room... it just isn't worth the price. You must pay for WiFi access or use of the business center, all quite pricey. On the plus side, the concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingProf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    372
    142
    39
    22
See reviews for
142
468
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
179 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

Whoever was the designer of this hotel did a great job. The lobby and other public area's of the hotel are first rate. The modern look of the hotel works well with the older structure.
Location: The location is very central and makes visiting Porto easy. The hotel has an arrangement with a parking lot. I think we paid 13e/night for parking.
Rooms: Small but very nice.
Staff: Efficient but "cold". A few smiles would help.
Breakfast: The dining room was beautiful and the breakfast buffet was adequate.
Overall: A great choice, excellent location make for a first class stay in Porto
Negative: Internet was 9e/day no free WIFI even in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days in February during a congress in the city of Porto. Very beautifully decorated, historical place, yet cozy and very welcoming. The staff was very helpful with smiling faces. They even provided us with an electrical adapter, free of charge, which we returned at the end of our stay. The personnel did not "move around our feet" as they cleaned and tidied our room. The breakfast included a lot of choices and was very neatly served and generous, too! We enjoyed a very tasty lunch and desert on the last day of our stay. We did not hear any noise during the night, but maybe it was wintertime. The only thing we could not find was free internet service in the rooms, but we were able to check in to our flight using the computer at the main desk! The staff was so helpful! We hope to come back whenever we can!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Narkozcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

the location of the hotel is good and this is hardly a five star hotel. the common areas are beautiful. the rooms are just adequate, glad the air conditioning works. the carpet looks dirty, the room is dusty and the bathroom is tidy. my main concern is that the hotel is very noisy. i requested a quiet room and they gave me a first floor room facing the street. i asked to change to a more quiet room which they reluctantly did and put me again on the first floor facing the courtyard which is almost as noisy as that's where breakfast is served. the start dragging the chairs and tables around at around six a.m. the service is efficient but the staff is extremely unfriendly. i felt i was imposing when i asked for an adaptor and a stronger blowdryer. the concierge except for one (forgot the name) are unfriendly and ignorant. even sent me to a restaurant that is closed! internet is charged by the minute and very slow. overall a horrible experience in an otherwise fabulous town.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

I arrived in Porto from the airport by air conditioned Metro, it is brand new and very clean, spacious and efficient. It also goes straight into the city and 15 stops was €1.50, unbeatable. I walked the last part of the journey from Trinidade Metro station, it was downhill and took 5 minutes. I suspect most of the guests that stay at the Infante Sagres arrive by car. On arrival I was offered a cool glass of lemonade which was nice because it was a hot day. The hotel is quite glamorous and has nice outdoor areas for drinks or sun worshiping. Then I was taken to my room which was air conditioned and was quite spacious with ample storage and a great shower/bathroom, cable tv. There were no tea or coffee facilities but there was a mini bar, a small bottle of mineral water was €5, that is taking liberties. I needed an iron to iron a shirt but was told they didn't have one (too posh) and I should send it to the laundry (at a price). The staff were efficient but not very friendly, it appeared that I was not their greatest customer, which apparently has included royalty and Bob Dylan (entertainment royalty). The location was excellent, the rooms were quiet and the bed was extremely comfortable. There is wireless internet but it is €9 for 24 hours, even if you only need it for 30 minutes, and it is slow, better to go the the cafe next door to the hotel where it is free and fast. I couldn't rate this hotel in the same league as the Dorchester or the Lanesborough, they really are 5 star with magnificent service, it's more like 3.75. Porto is a lovely place and on the last day I went on a sightseeing tour (Yellow Bus) which was €12 and included 3 different tours and use of the normal buses for 24 hours which was handy because I used the ticket the next day to get to the Metro Station (uphill). September is a good time to go because the weather is still good (25°C) and it feels very safe at night wandering around the narrow streets.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canturgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Very good hotel, old-styled in the best sense of the term. The staff is simply second to none, very courteous and always friendly. It's not a mere coincidence that Mr. Paulo de Carvalho, the very attentive Hotel Director, is an ubiquitous presence at the front desk. The location is perfect: right in dowtown, one block from Aliados Avenue and a metro station, at walking distance from Clerigos, Sé, Rua Santa Catarina, even the famous Cais da Ribeira and its restaurants. I've stayed there for 3 nights, on my way to Santiago de Compostela, at a standard room: large and very comfortable. On my way back, I got the "Suite Infante", at the 1st. floor. SImply breathtaking: one of the more luxurious hotel room (actually an entire apartment) I have ever stayed at. On the flip side, there's a kind of rock show in the opposite side of Dona Filippa de Lancastre square every week-end. Noisy, indeed. But that's life: nothing's flawless.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

The hotel is old but very elegant. I did not find it to be worn-out, in fact, I enjoyed the environment that the hotel created with their decor. The room was beautifuly decoracted and well appointed. The elevator has a couch in it! The service was very good and they took the time to make sure that I was well served. For example, when I asked about a Fado house, they made a reservation and made sure I had a table at the front to see the show.
Breakfast is very good and the hotel location is fantastic. However, DO NOT park in front of the hotel without telling them (you car will be towed for sure within hours) I saw it happen everyday! They will park the car for you which is worth it (there is a cost of some euros). Porto is a bad place to drive if you don't know the city very well.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boottraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#19 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Property: Hotel Infante Sagres
Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing