We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid, comfortable older hotel in an advantageous location was worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
Ranked #34 of 110 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The Infante de (sic) Sagres is in a fine-looking building from 1950, a good year for Portuguese architecture. On the inside, however, in a fit of madness, the hotel let a decorator loose on its characterful neo-baronial lobby with aggressively trendy (and dated) colours and fabrics. The 60-year-old wood panelling is covered in white paint, as are the elaborately carved armchairs, recovered in white plastic. Only the remarkable surround to the fireplace was spared. The coffered ceiling is painted black. The effect has to be seen to be believed. It will cost a fortune to restore.

Upstairs, the room we had was not large or especially luxurious, but it was clean and quiet though it faced the Praça. The closet (with a safe) was fine but the room lacks furniture to put folded clothes in. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom has a period feel to it but had a good bathtub (you need a degree in engineering to figure how to switch the water flow from the tap to the shower) and nice fluffy towels. We got the television to display cyrillic script but little else.

In a really outdated approach to hotel amenities, the hotel charges for Internet access. The desk staff told us a café across the street had free wi-fi so we went there and checked our email. The concierge was quite helpful and pleasant in other ways, perhaps because one of us speaks Portuguese.

The central location of the hotel allowed us to explore the UNESCO World Heritage Site of old Porto as well as the commercial heart of the city around Rua Santa Catarina. Just around the corner is a stop on the new and extensive tram system (somewhat misleadingly called a metro).

The buffet breakfast (included) was excellent. It's much as one finds in many European hotels but just that much better. If you drink tea, ask for a teapot since the tea poured by the waitress is not hot.

We got a good room rate by calling and asking for their best price. Despite some criticisms, we recommend this hotel for the location, clean and quiet comfort, and good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VRGFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

We really did love this hotel. It has such an Old World feel, and the location is perfect. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. Their recommendations of local restaurants that were "echt" without being out of control expensive were brilliant. The breakfast was so-so. Eggs were really watery and the steamed vegetables were a crime against botany. Surprising for a hotel with a restaurant that is well esteemed. Our room was on the street, and it must be said that though the week was fine, the weekend was rather boisterous and difficult to get to sleep. The fact that we had the air-conditioner unit outside our window was also a bit problematic. Thankfully, it wasn't hot, so it was on only for a while, but the noise was rather bothersome. Would recommend the hotel, but would like a different room. Don't take room 209

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed in Porto for three nights in mid September. Good points with this hotel: located in historic city center and within walking distance of many sights/restaurants/etc, has a great reputation as one of the "fanciest" hotels in the city, room decor, lobby decor, very good breakfast buffet, helpful bell staff.

Room for improvement: front desk staff could be a bit more friendly - a smile is free, get with the 21st century and provide complimentary wireless internet, invest in some irons and ironing boards for your clients in case they need to iron some clothes last minute - the option given to us by the front desk was to send our clothes to the laundry for ironing.

Rooms facing the street might get a bit noisy - we were on an upper floor facing their inner courtyard so noise levels were OK.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbes1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

This is a 5 star hotel quite centrical in Oporto.The building itself is not very nice, but the interior is very well decorated and rooms have been stylishly renovated. Breakfast is served either in the restaurant -very nice- or in the cozy inner patio. Also, prices are not that high as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. All over, it could have been the perfect place to stay in Oporto, but 2 things spoleid a little bit our stay:

- As other travellers have commented, the surroundings of the hotel are quite noisy at night. There are several bars and in the summer people drink outside in the street. Although at our arrival we asked for a quiet, inner room, we ended in a exterior room, in the 2nd floor, just in front of a cafeteria. We had noise until very late in the night. On top of that, we were given a room (executive room) smaller than usual, with a 1.40 metres bed (really small) and a door communicating with the room next to. So we could not only hear the street's noise, but also the neighbour's TV.

- Also, we had a second problem. When driving to the hotel, there is a small temporary parking area at the very front of the hotel, just to download luggage and do the check-in. That parking area is controlled by 2 men who are not employed by the hotel. They act as "parking controllers" of a free and public area that does not need any parking controller... So when arriving at the hotel, they tell you where to park your car and the you have to give them some money. Of course, it is possible to refuse to give them money, but then no one knows what would happen to the car. I think that a 5 star hotel should not permit this situation and should hire a person to help customers at their arrival and protect them from those false parking controllers.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bcn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Hotel is located right in the city centre so it easy to start exploring the city (I would recommend to try one of the hop on hop off tours which depart from the square next to the hotel). Hotel does not have its own parking, but they can arrange you a spot from the public garage and take your car there (some 12-14 €/ day).

Our standard room was pretty small, but it served us for the two nights. Room decoration was rather heavy (lots of black) for such a small room. The hotel is historical, but the lobby has some funky new decoration going on which I found strange.

Breakfast was very tasty and service was good. We also got some great tips from the staff to travel to the other small cities north of Porto. Thanks to them we end up visiting two very interesting cities: Braga and Guimarães.

I could visit the hotel again since the price was good (but I might take a look of some other options too).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerKesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Location is a few steps from central place Liberdade. Quiet surroundings at night. We had weighed to go to Pestana Hotel on Douro riverside quai otherwise. When we walked to see the alternative we were happy to have selected Infante do Sagres. Surroundings of Pestana hotel is a very noisy area of limited cleanliness.
The hotel is completely renovated in a well-succeeded combination of preserving the old-fashioned with tasty modern touch. Beautiful colours: red, white, black all over.
Comfortable room and bed, clean, marble bathroom a bit small, but everything you needed was provided.
Very beautiful dining room, good and reasonably priced menu. Good wines available.
Dining in style. Excellenjt breakfast selection of good quality items .
Only drawback was the receptioni Very restricted friendliness- very short answers to questions and quite inflexible.
Otherwise very good hotel with very good taste and good price-quality ratio.
The city of Porto has same attractive sights- but the old quarters are in decay and depressing. Not a place to stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

This hotel has outlived its pretentions and become a shabby place for the price. Chipped black lacquer in the bathroom, dirty carpet, tiny room... it just isn't worth the price. You must pay for WiFi access or use of the business center, all quite pricey. On the plus side, the concierge was very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingProf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 110 in Porto
2,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.4 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 110 in Porto
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.5 mi away
Torel Avantgarde
Torel Avantgarde
#3 of 110 in Porto
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca Dona Filipa de Lencastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £175 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing