We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem, Pamper yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A little gem, Pamper yourself”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Great location to hop around the town, my parents and I were staying for 1 night. Direction instruction to the place was clear, make easier by recognising the torre. It is a boutique hotel, unique, friendly staff, and we were given the family suite beside the reception. Clean, spacious, timely decorated and retained the old design. The garden is a gem, get immersed in its beauty and well-kept items. It probably functioned as a mansion for once-rich patron and owner. Breakfast room is in the main dining hall of the old mansion, a pleasure to dine in, buffet style. Wifi only worked properly during the daytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    202
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
78
362
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

I understand when I go to Europe that I have to put up with cigarette smoke. But what was unbearable about my room was it was on the ground floor right next to reception. Everyone smoked at that exact spot and since there is no ac you have to have the windows open. I am very sensitive to it and had to constantly close and reopen the windows all night long. The room besides that was great. Furniture was cool and the tiles unique. Great service. Good location for me as it had parking and was north Porto so I didn't have to drive into Porto very far. Parked the car the whole time we were in Porto. I would highly recommend this hotel. By if you are sensitive or allergic to cigarette smoke make sure you have a room away from the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGeek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had stayed in the Carris Hotel 2 weeks before in the heart of the Ribeira district and been surprised by how touristy Porto had become by the river. It was a huge relief to find that the real Porto still exists in an oasis of peace and tranquility just 15-20 walk from the shops and sights. The Castelo de Santa Catarina is a real oddity but a nice one. The main house is delightful. We were too late to secure one of the bedrooms in the main house and found ourselves in the garden extension. These rooms are very old and basic and we not recommend them. Its worth paying a little more to stay in the main house if rooms are available. The staff were welcoming and helpful and breakfast excellent. Try it before its too late!

Room Tip: Don't accept the garden rooms unless money is tight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AveyronNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

A strange and enchanting hotel set back from the road in a commercial main street about 25 minutes walk outside the old town of Oporto. The hotel started life as a 1930s mansion house, each room individually furnished in a different baroque or rococo style... an echo of a bygone age of tall ceilings, chandeliers, murals and painted ceilings. The staff are charming, the owner friendly and approachable. A truly romantic place to stay if you appreciate the odd and the quirky.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house. They have garden rooms which looked large and well furnished, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveySheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed in the castle section and had a lovely view of Oporto which I'm not sure the garden rooms would have. No complaints at all about the narrow stairs or distance from the car park area to reception. The decorative walls are a joy to see and we haven't come across anything like it at this price level. The young man on reception could not have been more helpful and the breakfast perfectly adequate. Yes its uphill back from the town centre but we enjoyed the walk after an evening meal. To us the town is even better at night with many of the public buildings lit up and naturally the climb gives you great views. An excellent value hotel. For a Port visit we enjoyed the Taylors tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wad6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

very close to the centre,unique,quirky,clean and tidy,good value and has parking.
10 min walk to the centre,5 euro taxi to town, 300 metres to marques metro station.
all options we did also staff are friendly,helpful.
this hotel will not dissapoint

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

It's a castle so it'll be out in the country on a hill perhaps ? Yes ? No. No more than 7 minutes on the flash Oporto subway will bring you to Marques station, and from there it's a 150m walk down the slope. By taxi from the centre, it'll be around 8 EUR. It exudes style, and frankly you'll want to spend as much time as you can taking it all in. Breakfast is a series of oohs and aahs and camera clicks. In this cookie cutter world this is another planet ! Get a room in the main building if you can - they're all decorated differently - but there's nothing wrong with the wing outside. Either way, you'll explore the grounds. A chapel's right there. A toilet you will want to photograph. 'Deck chairs' which the use of a number of guests the following morning. And for a decent price !

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but you might want to stay in the main building to be right in amongst it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedi1gree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#29 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.2 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Property: Castelo de Santa Catarina
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing