We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Ranked #13 of 172 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This will rate as One of the best hotels that we have stayed in. The hotel has restored its original features including an amazing breakfast room. It is set in its own gardens with plenty of shaded areas with stunning views of the city of Porto. Even in early July we always found plenty of private space to relax outside in the deckchairs. All the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was really good and there was always a good choice of fresh fruit available. We stayed in the top floor suite which had original furniture but with a very modern bathroom. As stated in other reviews there are a lot of steps, in a confined space, to walk up and down to this room but we had no problem. Marques metro is about a 3 mins uphill walk from the hotel and the centre of the City is about a 15 mins walk downhill. Also from outside Marques Metro you can catch bus 203 to Castelo de Queijo and the start of the boardwalk alongside the Atlantic Ocean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sideburnsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

Everything was great at this location; starting with the staff (young, very helpful and friendly) and continuing with the free parking, amazing breakfast room, location of the hotel (really close to the center and situated not exactly close to the traffic) and the breathtaking design of the hotel. The building is in fact a small castle, 130 years old. The owners preserved it as it was in the past. My only comment: our room was really small but we observed that the others were ok.Maybe this is why we payed less..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

An interesting hotel with plenty of history and character, the young men on reception when we arrived were very helpful.. A little bit of a walk down to the river but taxis are cheap.The rooms in the actual old part are nicer with amazing views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshteadCandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We liked this place. Had the top floor room with chandeliers, and 84 stairs to reach it.
The gardens and furniture and decorations are a constant enjoyment, and the views excellent.

Staff are great, and the walk to town enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed four nights of May 2013 in Castelo Santa Catarina, Porto. To my mind this is the excellent hotel with the parking and nice garden with palms and other trees and flowers. There are two types of the rooms. We stayed three nights in the room situated at the castle or tower and one night in the room situated in the garden. Room in the tower definitely was reconstructed and renovated recently. Everything there is the brand new. In the best American traditions there was electric tea kettle with instant coffee, tea bags and sugar sets. Room in the castle was equipped with the central heating system. There was no air conditioner and since I stayed there in May I cannot tell you how it will be during the hot months of July and August. In May I felt quite comfortable. The shower cabin is pretty big and has enough space for the tall and big (fat) people.
Room in the garden was equipped with air conditioner and portable electric heater. That portable heater can be very useful because it would be cold during the night. Bath room was equipped with the big bathtub.
Interiors of the castle are really luxurious, breakfasts are delicious and plentiful and served and the splendid hall. The buildings walls are decorated buy the traditional Portuguese azilejos or decorative tiles.
It takes from fifteen up to twenty minutes to get historical center of Porto by walk from the hotel. Hotel itself situated between two stations of metro “Bolhao” and “Marques”.
Personal is very friendly and speak English fluently. I can recommend that hotel to stay in Porto.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This castle was so interesting. The grounds were quite large with tile embellishment and even a chapel. They had seating scattered around the grounds and lovely roses and other flowering plants. The main building had the breakfast room in what must have been a dining room and sitting room at one time with wonderful old furniture, lighting and woodwork. The breakfast was very plentiful with everything you could want. We stayed in the garden rooms which was a separate building and altho it was clean it had a very distinct musty smell and the grout in the bathroom has some mold. It was too bad because the rest of the property was great and we would stay there again. The people were very friendly and accommodating. Our three night stay was very enjoyable and getting a taxi was no problem.

Room Tip: This would be a great place for a wedding. I would choose one of the rooms in the castle proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerlinSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was a really nice experience! Very nice rooms, with all comfort we need after a long flight. Well located, walking distance to city cemtre, friendly staff, safe, absolutely quiet and beautiful. No restaurant on site (good breakfast though), but near by. Stayed there two times. It's definitely our choice there! And the price is absolutely reasonable!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a really beautiful and large room, go for the upper floor, the only issue...
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Anatereza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 108 in Porto
1,416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
1.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,099 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £56 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing