We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not everyday that you get to stay in a castle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Ranked #13 of 172 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The atmosphere, service & value are exceptional. The location is outside of the tourist hub. If you like to go for casual strolls to take in local sites, this would not be optimal. If you are arriving by car they have parking available at no extra charge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was the first hotel I can ever remember leaving because it was so poor. We booked for five nights and stayed for two. Unfortunately, we were put in a garden room and as someone else said, they were like a mobile homes. Plywood walls. Cold. Ugly. The bathroom was so small I could touch both walls with my elbows. No TV.

The main building might be great and it is certainly lovely from the outside. The gardens are beautiful and the tile walls lovely. Service was excellent and staff friendly.

But DO NOT stay here if you are in the garden rooms.

Room Tip: Only stay in the main building, never the garden rooms out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewDownieBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We really did enjoy the building, it's fantastic, beautiful inside and out. I'm so glad that we stayed in the actual Castelo as the garden rooms reminded me of a mobile home. The receptionists are really nice, but the service available is extraordinary - you can order certain drinks they will bring to you, but definitely bring your own food as nothing is available and it's a fair old march to town. They obviously recommend the same restaurant, Abadia and perhaps it's us, but we thought the food was awful. To be honest the food in Portugal is pretty poor. The breakfast was not very good, served in an exquisite room, 2 ladies fanny about preparing the most awful 'tropical' juice - left over fruit I think, stale cakes, but it's so pretty here and there's so much to do and see in Porto we just let it slide.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one in the main building for the architecture, the garden one seemed the prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadeleineGifkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night after flying into Porto before a week in Galicia. Castelo Santa Catarina is quirky and full of character. We liked it so much, we returned to stay for four nights to see the city. The service is excellent and the staff are very helpful. The rooms are very pleasant and very reasonably priced. It's a walk up hill from the centre but this and the lovely surrounding gardens make it a very quiet place to stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hepzibar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were visiting Portugal - a group of 6 - 4 seniors and my younger daughter and husband.
We all had different rooms - myself and my friend had a ground floor room in the castle - wonderful - my daughter and husband were higher up in the castle - lots of steps but well worth the climb. My other two friends had a garden room which was air conditioned. All were very happy and loved their rooms. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is surrounded by lovely gardens and flowers. Lots of photo opportunities and we all happily snapped pictures everywhere. Staff was every friendly and recommended two excellent restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateC555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel is very beautiful both inside and outside in the garden. The location was a little out of the centre of the city, but absolutely within walking distance. The room was very beautiful and looked like we were in the 18th century. The service was excellent and so was the breakfast. The staff was very helpful with guiding us to an excellent restaurant for dinner in the evening, and it was really cheap to take a taxi back to the hotel from down town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torhild115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we booked overnight for one night. The price was very good and the hotel really great!
the staff was super helpful and nice. we had a double room on the 3rd floor of the castle... what a view!!! the room was amazing! like a trip back in time. the bathroom was super charming.
everything was super clean and in excellent state.
the neighborhood is ok. not super nice, but we came back from dinner around 1am and no problem at all, the only thing is that is a bit of a walk coming from the port as it is all they way uphill hahaha but it is all worth it to be welcomed by the beautiful garden and then super cool room
I hope we go back to Porto soon and stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palirocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 108 in Porto
1,416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
1.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 108 in Porto
1,099 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £56 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing