We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“40 th Anniversary Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Ranked #12 of 172 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel was one the high lights of our 40th anniversary trip. We booked in advance after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We reserved a room in the tower and it was excellent. This hotel has loads of ambiance, the floors, wood work, furnishings take you back to the nineteenth century but with all the luxury of the 21st century. Our room in the tower had only a full size bed but it had a new mattress and box spring. The bathroom was all new and in excellent condition. We had a beautiful view from our 3 floor window. The only word of caution we have is - as this a very old building they do not have a lift or elevator and if you don't like stairs staying in the tower could be a challenge. The stairs did not bother us even with our large luggage.

The staff at Castelo de Santa Catarina was excellent. They provided us with excellent directions for touring and seeing the sights in Porto. We purchased our tickets for the "Red Tour Bus" at the hotel and we highly recommend the tour. The hotel is located at the top of the hill and street Santa Catarina. If you like to walk, and we do, you can easily access the Old City, main shopping area from this hotel. Note the continental breakfast was excellent. Again the staff was excellent. Stay in the tower if you can. We will stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spencer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

a quirky and charming 'folly' with great gardens. Only problem is the fornt stairs are difficult to navigate with heavy bags. We had help inside to carry the bags to the third floor, but not to get into the garden in the first place. Staff were helpful and breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: ask for fisrt floor in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 801Julia365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Castelo mid-february. We had a great time, even if the off-season might of helped, we had, for 140 euros breakfast included, a great n massive room in the middle of the gardens, so no neighbors ! The context, style and nature of the place made us forget we were in a city(and a little bit in a museum), beautiful pictures came out of it along with beautiful memories. We walked 15min to the center and the staff were really hepfull with directions and with everything else. All in all, we felt very welcomed and had a great time. Highly recomended !

Room Tip: Try to get these unique rooms in the middle of the gardens, they are huge n have no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max-Dur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

the hotel is located inthe center of Portp, very close tp the place of interest.in a very regular road you open the gate and enter paradize! a beautiful garden , some of the rooms are in the garden and some around - all are well equiped and well decorate, bathrooms are exellent, the staff is always there for you - whatever you want and need , they are willing to help, the only thingg that can disturb is the fact they do not have ellevator - but staff help you!
there breakfast is the best! SERVED IN A BEAUTIFUL hall', P E R F A C T!

Room Tip: reserve through booking- they are relyable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Definitely not for the mobility impaired but such a little jewel. If you love antiques and to be spoiled by the attentive young men at the desk and a great included breakfast this is the place to be.
This was a last minute reservation for us in Porto, our first room was very nice and the all marble bathroom was outstanding. On the second night we moved to the Royal suite and here the furniture was amazing! I felt like a Duchess in my suite!
A bit of a walk to where the action is on this pedestrian shopping street but make sure you take a 5 euro taxi ride back up the hill. Do stop by the Majestic Café for drinks or English tea, it is a Porto institution not to be missed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filomene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What an amazing place to stay!

This hotel has quite a history, and some of the rooms in the main house are decorated with some amazing furniture, some of which was acquired as the established families left Portugal after the revolution in 1974-5. The ornate decor makes you feel like you are staying in a small palazzo, and the balconies and windows overlook the town from above.

We chose a room in the main house off season. The price was very reasonable, the breakfast and service were excellent - the front of house day and night staff were particularly helpful, jolly and well-prepared.

Don't worry about staying slightly above / out of town. The main city and Douro river is a lovely walk down the hill, and the metro station is nearby. Places like this are a rarity.

Room Tip: I'm sure the garden rooms are nice, but stay in the main house if at all possible, and I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clemente B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We booked the day of and like the hotel so much that we decided to extend our trip by 2 more nights. Room is very clean and comfortable. Hotel staff is wonderfully nice (tho I find this to be the case in almost every hotels in Portugal). Very strong wifi signal. You can park in the driveway. Easier to get to by car than many of the hotels that are smacked in the middle of the center if you are driving. However it is still very close. I can walk to the river (district) in about 10 to 15 minutes. Breakfast does includes egg, bacon, sausage as well as the standard cold food (fruit, cereals, rolls, yogurts and sweats).

When you drive in, walk up the stairs. The reception is there. That confused us a bit. There is no elevator so you will need to walk a bit with your luggage or I am sure the staff will be happy to help.

The place has a wonderful castle-like décor. The garden is very nice too and would be great to hang out at night with a bottle of wine and some fruits/snacks if it is not rainy and wet. Anyway, overall, highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is no elevator. Very good wifi service. Reception is up stair (garden level). Parking is fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.3 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.8 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#33 of 111 in Porto
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#7 of 111 in Porto
1,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £50 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing