We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too quirky!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
Ranked #13 of 159 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Too quirky!”
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This place was noted in Fodor's and Michellin so I thought it was a safe bet. Wrong! It was in a very run down area and walking outside the gate was downright scary. The bathroom was so dark, dated and poorly arranged, it made for difficult grooming. Couldn't wait to check out after one night! I felt like I was in an old B grade horror movie.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsrTampa_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    212
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
80
375
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This hotel is perfectly postioned in the middle of Porto on the main shopping street, Rua Santa Catarina. Although, once you step through the gates and enter the hotel grounds you could be in another place as it has amazing lush green gardens and the ornate main hotel building and its beautiful tiles typical of this area, which make this the perfect place to stay. We felt immediately relaxed. We stayed in one of the garden rooms which meant we didnt have to go into the main hotel. The rooms were cool and of a good size with a TV and air con. They were very clean and nicely decorated and I had a nice big bathroom. I had a REALLY good nites sleep as was so quiet! Breakfast was continental but a good variety of local pastries or cheese and meat or you could have a hot breakfast for a few more euros. When you fist come for breakfast you will marvel in the opulence of the breakfast room and adjoining living room. We found all staff very helpful and friendly. We walked into town most nights and then took a taxi back for approx. 5-6 euros. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would recommend you try crofts port lodge over the river as they have an outside area you can enjoy the sunshine. Taylors do a great meal in the evening. We had amazing meal at Abadia (try and get the attention of the manager and get him to write your name down otherwise you end up waiting for ages for a table) this was a VERY popular retaurant on sat night! We also enjoyed dinner at Don Tonho, sat outside over looking the river. Also take a drive to Vila de Conde up the coast, great beach! NB when driving to this hotel it took us hours as one way streets were not marked on our map! You need to access Santa Catarina from the bottom.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa-Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

we stayed at the Castelo in mid-March with my fiance, my mum and my brother.
First, I have to say that we didn't hear any building site noises, so it must have been finished by then.
Second, this place is really charming, lovely garden, amazing breakfast room.
we had a room on the 2nd floor, 55 euros, which hada lovely "azulejos" bathroom. I have to say though that it is an old building and it is showing - the room although really nice needs TLC, so does the bathroom, and we could hear the neighbours's water running.
However, my mum stayed in the garden rooms, as she didn't want to climb too many stairs, and those rooms were very modern, yet still had an old feel to them, which was very nice. If I went back, I might stay in one of those, especially as a single cost 35 euros! and that's including breakfast!!
We walked almost everywhere, it takes roughly 20mn by foot, or 10mn in the tram, or 5 mn by taxi to reach the old part.
And the hotel receptionist even got a us free tasting at Graham's !
highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Entente-cordiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The hotel is very interesting and full of charm. However, if we were paying full price (110 €) we would have been slightly annoyed as the place was a building site. I am sure they were trying to get it ready for the summer but the builders starting at 9 am was not what I would call relaxing! also, there were piles or brick everywhere. When it is finished, I am sure it will be amazing, especially in the sunny weather!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juratewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I read many of the reveiws on trip advisor before choosing this hotel. It did not disappoint. It is an older gem in the middle of the city. Truly unique in it's architecture, furnishings and ambiance. It's a little tired in places (windowsills starting to crumble) however, the rooms were clean, the bathrooms clean and everything was functional.
The breakfast is very basic. Cold cuts, cheeses, toast, one kind of cereal and breads, orange juice and VERY strong coffee.
The manager is very professional and nice.

We did not walk from the hotel but instead took taxis to the main parts of town. Very inexpensive for 4 people, typically around €5. We stayed in January and I would imagine during lovely weather it would be very pleasant to sit in their beautiful grounds and enjoy a nice bottle of wine.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattletolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

My brother and I stayed here in Nov 09 when we took a 10 day trip of Spain and Portugal. We were trying to find relatively cheap accommodations, and this fit the bill at under $90 / night. The place looks and feels like an old castle. We got one of the rooms on the upper floor of the tower. It had a nice size queen bed, although it was pretty hard and looked like it hadn't been updated in some time. The best part of the room was the small balcony off the side, which gave us a view over a good part of Porto. Was a real nice treat to steal a cigar smoke up there around sundown.

By far the best part of this hotel is the staff. They went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. The breakfast in the morning has lots of options with complimentary coffee and a variety of pastries and cereals. The internet in the lobby was free, although their computer looks to be about as old as the castle.

The hotel is situated up quite a hill, so walking to and from could be a bit much. But for those concerned there is a subway stop up the hill so you never have to walk up if you don't want.

If you have the cash look for a better place, but if you wanna stay somewhere under $100 i couldn't think of a better spot.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wstcstwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We were lucky to spend one night at the Castelo. It is a very charming set of buildings and the decorations are fitting and beautiful. Location is good--about 10-15 minute walk from the main sights. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and gave us good recommendations and instructions. The breakfast was very good--not just the usual fare. The rooms are nicely appointed and were spacious. Our reservation was last minute and we had a room to one side of the lobby and I was concerned it would be very noisy, but was actually fine. Parking inside was very helpful and we were allowed to leave our car there for the whole day even though we had already checked out. Great place. Would definitely stay again. Great price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaritab710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.7 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#27 of 106 in Porto
1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 106 in Porto
1,006 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Property: Castelo de Santa Catarina
Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing